We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K. more a basic 3 star !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The famous Jacksons Hotel of Ballybofey, I don't think so, I don't know who rated this a 4 star but there idea of quality must come pretty low?
The older original part of the hotel is quite nice like the foyer,the dining area and the bar area but that's where it ends.
I certainly would'nt say the staff are overly friendly or attentive apart from Jeet the barman who was very good, the ladies serving breakfast were not interested in serving with a smile and were not very helpful in explaining what hot breakfast was available and even when they did serve the usual "Irish Breakfast" it was on a plate so small the food was falling off the sides before you could even eat it, when I asked for scrambled eggs it had to made to order apparently ?? this was then plonked down quite rudely by lady who seemed to have forgotten all sense of polite customer service.
The decor throughout the older part of the hotel is quite dated and is a hotch-potch of old bits and new bits all stuck together, our shower had bits of chipped dirty grouted old tiles, tap not working, stains on the carpets, doors scuffed etc, etc.
The new rooms in the new build of the hotel are smart and new but don't take the room unless it's overlooking the scenic river area because the view on the otherside is a hideous mixture of dirty carparks and scruffy old outbuidings and the walk through many doors and corridors to get to the main dining/bar area is long walk...Would I stay in Jacksons again....NO !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny5Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, I am glad that you chose our Hotel and I thank you for your comments and I will make sure that your views are duly noted and appropriate action taken immediately if necessary.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,403 - 1,409 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed here in september in the new part of the hotel and it was just beautiful. the staff were excellent and i had heard it was famous for food, now i know why it was simply delicious. i would advise anyone to stay here as it is in a great wee town with stuff to do and close to all things. murphy the dog is just delightful, i will definetly be booking my wedding in jacksons. xx

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you for your kind comments about your stay with the Hotel. We gratefully appreciate your positive feedback. We also look forward to having your wedding here with us. We will make sure that you have the most wonderful wedding experience that Jackson's is so famous for.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We booked this hotel for a short weekend away for pure relaxation. A few signs on the way into town would be a good idea as we drove through the town and had to double back before finding it. The hotel charges for the stay on check-in which was something new and a smile from the receptionist wouldn't have gone astray, also the sight of a large dog wandering around could be off putting to some.
The room was ok, however the furniture was old fashioned and quite dusty and floorboards liked to complain loudly when we moved around, also if people were walking in the corridors the vibrations literally bounced me around the room. The bathroom is in desperate need of refurbishment, chipped tiles, filthy fans, sandpaper toilet roll, and a bath/shower that had seen better days.
There is no fridge in the room and as this was a budget break we wanted to have a drink in the room in the evenings, however I was extremely surprised and disappointed to be told in the bar that we weren't allowed to take ice to the room. Had to run up to the local off licence to get some even though we ate in the hotel.
On the plus side their bistro has good food and the leisure centre was grand. Breakfast is set up well and has a decent spread, the staff being very attentive.
All in all the hotel was a bit disappointing but the town is nice for a quiet break with plenty of riverbank/forest walks and the people of the town were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthajaneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, we thank you for your comments and we will investigate your claims and take appropriate action if necessary. Glad you enjoyed most of what the Hotel has to offer.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We booked into Jacksons for one night to see the group Bagetelle, check in was excellent, the suite we had was well proportioned with a sauna, jacuzzi and massage chairc, however we where appalled to see thedisaray in the bar which had several of the tables covered in empty glasses and bottles, thus resulting in a stentch of stale beer.
The restaurant opened 45minutes late and the quality of food was very poor but not as poor as the service. This was very disappointing as I said the room was excellent and the reception staff were exceptionally friendly yet professional.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murfydurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Picturesque setting overlooking river. Excellent restaurant serving good hot food all day. Comfortable and well- appointed rooms. A great value and convenient to walk to shops and hiking trails. There is a very warm vibe here; offers music in the bar too, I live this place!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do offer a great friendly environment for all our guests and have a fine selection of food on offer.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night break in Ballybofey staying in Jackson's Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance of the town and the McElhinneys department store. Although check in was not until 4pm we were allowed to leave our bags behind reception.
The room decor does need to be freshened up and some of the floor joists strenghtened. However the room and other facilities in the hotel were very clean and tidy.

Our 10 year old son had the freedom of the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, pool table and Murphy the dog. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful if we required extras!
Although the hotel was very busy with weddings and birthday parties the atmosphere was very relaxed and casual.
My thanks in particular to Brendan who entertained us into the small hours and was like a jukebox, just call out a song and he would sing it!!
Looking forward to my next weekend break in Jackson's Ballybofey

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buildlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you very much for your kind words on your stay with us. We are very pleased that you had a terrific time and we welcome you back again with open arms very soon!

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed here midweek for €50 b&b. Commercial rate. Good value but the rooms in serious need of refurb!! Carpet looks Like it's been here since hotel opened back many years ago. Stains in carpet which I hate to think what they are!! Room in need of painting & decorating. Bathroom totally out dated cold and shabby. Good location but I would go the extra few miles and stay in Letterkenny. Overall a very grotty hotel. Bar food was ok. It will be my first and last time to stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_kelly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, we have taken on board your comments and we will look into investigating your claims. If appropriate action is needed then this will be addressed. We do however have a traditional section of the Hotel and more modern facilities what with our new extension. I am sorry that you didn't mention this to reception and you could have been moved without hesitation.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 13 in Letterkenny
1,174 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 13 in Letterkenny
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: $72 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel Conference and Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Conference And Leisure Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing