We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality personified”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I organised a weekend seminar at the hotel for 30 participants, including 18 young people.
The staff and owners were hopitality personified! tThey were welcoming, flexible (some of our party were delayed at Belfast Airport and didn't arrive until after midnight, but the Hotel provided much appreciated hot soup and sandwiches) and unfailingly friendly.
If you want to stay in a hotel where you will enjoy Ireland's famed hospitality, I recommend Jackson's in Ballybofey.

Liam Cairns
Director
Investing in Children

Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
Thank liam_cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, I extend our thanks and appreciation for your kind remarks. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves so much and that all staff were friendly and professional. We set high standards and are constantly looking to improve.

Hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,448 - 1,454 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2008

The accomodation was booked by a colleague in another organisation for a conference for young people. All aspects of the hotel service were excellent. Decor, cleanliness, plumbing, food and service were exceptional. As a result the conference went very well as all our needs were met very well. I am an academic and stay in hotel accomodation quite frequently - usually i do not relish the prospect - as far as Jackson's is concerned I hope we return!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank teacherLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed at Jacksons in mid August for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Mr. Jackson was around alot of the time and mingled with the guests, checking if everything was alright and if he could do anything. We had 2 adjoining rooms in the new part of the hotel, which were lovely, very comfortable beds etc. One.problem is the noise from all the function rooms. No matter where you stay in the hotel, if there is anything on in the hotel at all (which there invariably is of course) it is very difficult to get any sleep at all. You may as well be at the function, it is a pity they couldn't soundproof the rooms. Apart from this I couldn't fault the hotel. We had evening meals on two of the days and the food was superb. Our 11 and 15 year old girls are still going on about the great food. They didn;t leave a thing. This is our second visit to the hotel and we will return again, without a doubt. It is also great value for a family.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chattysmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Good all round hotel. Some of the rooms in the main building need refurbished, they look a bit dated but are clean. (there is a large new extension of modern bedrooms and function rooms) . There is a great atmosphere in the hotel, lovely big lobby with open fires, staff couldn't be more helpful and the owner is nearly always there mucking in, picking up glasses etc and also having the time to have a chat with his customers. The food is good and a great bar atmosphere. Great spot.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beegeeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, Thank you ever so much for your kind comments about your stay. We welcome you back again to us very soon.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Booked and got a good deal via the Stena Line website - the hotel has an old part and a newer part. with an adjoining bridge. We had two beautiful modern adjoining rooms one with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and the river. Staff all very friendly (apart from one slightly grumpy receptionist). The owners are extremely welcoming, even inviiting us to the staff barbeque in the gardens one evening. The hotel owners put themselves out to welcome families and one large comfy area with sofas and table football next to the garden is available for families all evening if staying at the hotel, even though there were children running round the hotel and being a bit of a pain (not ours!) - the owners made a conference room available and put a video on for them. Bar was a bit 'whiffy' - (maybe beer trays) and very dark - but there is a lovely outdoor area with lights to sit out in, and a pleasant reception area you can relax in. On the whole, would definitely return to Jackson's as it was a perfect central base for touring Donegal, and the adjacent river and woods a lovely spot for a wee walk. Only complaints would be restaurant food not fantastic bit overpriced, plus they have a huge function room which was underneath our room - on our last night there was a 'prom night; from the local high school - it ended up with police being called out and under age drinkers brawling outside. Staff did not do much about this.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Soulmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you very much for your kind words on your stay. We look forward to having you stay again with us soon.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Now to start off with £120 for a night in a hotel sounds a lot to me, but it turned out to be a bargain.

For my £120 we got a suite with a king size bed over looking a lovely river and woods, breakfast and dinner!

When we first got to the hotel it seemed like a biking club had just started booking in but the staff cleared the queue within mintues we where up in our room within 10 minutes.

The evening meal we had was top, 3 course and coffee.

The room was very clean, with a 40" TFT TV and a 'lazyboy' tpye massarge chair which felt great after a long days driving.

Its a shame we only had 1 night there as i really liked it, the town was ok to 3 bars in the same street within 2 minutes walk.

ohh, and free wi-fi in the bar and other public areas to!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank djk-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, we would like to show our thanks and appreciation for your kind remarks about your stay. We welcome you back with open arms and hope it's in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We held our wedding reception at Jackson's Hotel this year and stayed for the whole weekend. The day itself was fantastic and the food was first class. Ankush, the manager and his staff made the whole reception run smoothly. The room looked beautiful and the guests had a wonderful time. Everyone remarked on how good the food tasted. Nothing was too much bother for the staff to do.
The actual bedrooms in the hotel are very comfortable and have a wonderful view at the back of the hotel.
The following evening we dined in the resturant with our family and again the food and service was excellent.
The hotel has a great vibe about it and is always busy with guests.
I have read some disappointing reviews on trip advisor but we did not encounter any of these problems. We will definitely be returning and so will a lot of our guests.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonniKerrigan, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you for your kind review. We take great pride in offering the best Wedding experience possible for all our guests. It just pleases us dearly to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much. We welcome you back in the near future to re-live old Wedding memories. We would love to have you again!

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: $67 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing