We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Awful”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Arrived on Easter Saturday chair collapssed in room,reported and maintenance came and removed it but did not ask if anyone was hurt. Service in hotel bar was terrible, no one to clear tables, had to do that ourselves. Breakfast was awful, sat 20 minutes before i realised i had to help myself to my own tea and coffee, no one told me this, only 1 toaster for all residents so you can imagine they queue. Think staff at least could bring tea, coffee and toast down or .at least provide trays for this Service in bistro 40 min for 1 sandwich and seafood soup and if we hadnt asked if was ready we would propbably still be waiting for it. Got 1 night taken off bill for chair incident but still wasnt worth money for 3 nights. Jacksons does not live up to name they once had and this was confirmed by locals. Caroline and Joe

Room Tip: Check chair out before you sit on them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am extremely disappointed that you felt our service was ‘awful’. We were extremely busy over the Easter period and we had taken on additional staff to cater for this. We want all of our guests to experience our famous Jackson Hospitality and I do apologise if you didn’t experience this fully.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again in the future and if you could please contact me directly on marketing@jacksons-hotel.ie so I can personally ensure that you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Kindest Regards,
Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just back from a 2 night break- party of 5 (1 child). Had purchased a Treat ticket offer and to be honest would not be happy with rack rate for a hotel that is in a bit of a timewarp. Non wedding guests are located in the older part of the hotel- rooms are good size but decor outdated- over bath showers and very creaky beds. Breakfast is basic- not total self service and very tiny plates for a full Irish- for anyone with gluten allergy little choice. Had one meal in the Bistro and out of 5 people only one had a decent meal- a chicken sandwich. Burnt sausages for child and non crispy skin on fish- basic cooking esp when it wasnt overly busy. Leisure facilities need updated in terms of decor and pool is freezing. All in all - just ok but not 4 star..for full price I would visit Villa Rose instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsDW300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jacksons Hotel for your recent visit to Donegal. Guests not attending a wedding in the hotel are allocated rooms in the opposite wing of the hotel so they are not disturbed by noise. I am disappointed that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay with us and it is a pity that you didn’t mention your issues to a member of staff during your stay. I have passed your feedback onto the relevant department managers, as this is not the level of standards that we adhere to.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hi all stayed in Jackson hotel this wend and we so enjoyed our stay. After reading all the reviews I did not know what to expect, we stayed in the older wing of the hotel the room was a little dated but very clean, warm and comfortable what else can you ask for.We walked around the new wing and it was amazing. Some reviews used the words old and dated but I just loved it the bar was not all modem which you get in most hotels but nice and relaxing old style,do we all forget where we come from. The restaurant was lovely and tasty compliments to the chef. I loved the way I saw the family who owed the hotel all working and talking to the guests as they went from one department to another. Hope to go soon again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 102LKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jacksons Hotel on your recent visit to Ballybofey. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and got to experience the different themes and facilities that we offer.
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wife and I spent wonderful weekend over the Easter. Nothing too much trouble for friendly helpful staff. Excellent value and good food. Easy access to adjacent Drumboe Woods ideal for long leisurely walks. On this occasion fantastic weather added the final touch. Definitely plan to make this an annual event.

Room Tip: Pretty much any view of the river but if you can have river views from two outside walls you get a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PilotOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you & your wife had an enjoyable Easter weekend stay with us and thank you for choosing Jacksons Hotel. Our staff members will be delighted by your kind comments, thank you for sharing these on Trip Advisor.
The Drumboe Woods certainly is a beautiful walkway, we are so lucky to be situated beside it and the River Finn.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and hopefully we will be blessed with more fantastic weather.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Spent 2 days with my fiance in jacksons after the Easter holidays and went home disappointed. We went there very excited about going to a 4 star hotel (3 at best) hoping to get some spa treatments but after requesting a couple of times and leaving my number no one bothered to contact me. Wi-fi also doesn't work in new part of the hotel which was quite annoying and even more so when management dont want to help!! Sauna needs some attention, sheeting boards are jus about hanging on, be careful if your tall as some nails are hanging out of them and could lead to a very sore head. Food just ok. Also don't expect a sleep in as there is rooster at the side of the building makes sure you dont. Hotel staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Won't be returning any time soon.

This is my first time using trip advisor but so disappointed with the hotel I had to get my say in.
(Young couple)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am extremely disappointed that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us, had you notified a member of our reception team of any issues that you encountered during their stay they would have done their upmost to rectify these immediately.
Our staff members are renowned for their hospitality and service, I am disappointed that you didn't experience this. We take all guest feedback on board as we use it to constantly improve our offering. I have passed your comments onto the relevant department managers and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 3 friends and r familes stayed over Easter and unless some serious changes r made we will most definitely not be back. Check in was an ordeal, double rooms booked instead of family rooms despite there being 2 adults and 2 children booked in, not enough beds in 1 of the rooms, a cot that you wouldnt put a dog into never mind a baby and it took quite a few phonecalls and visits to reception to sort, we checked in on Easter Sunday but these issues werent resolved for a full 24hours altho we are still waiting for bedding for the cot despite numerous requests.the excuse was "we r very busy" which we totally understand but its just not good enough to have to spend the 1st nite without a bed and a broken cot and no bedding. Staffing issues were very evident during our 2 night stay. 1 barman only on easter sunday is a complete joke, and no one available to seat you for breakfast in the mornings despite the sign asking you to wait to be seated. As for getting a cup of tea or coffee with your breakfast, forget about it!!
Swimming pool water is so cold its uncomfortable and we couldnt stay longer than 10 minutes yet the jacuzzi is so hot they have to close it???? The mind boggles.
Our room whilst clean was very dated with an old leather massage chair in it that didnt even work and had leather peeling off it which if you sat on clung to your clothes. Our group had 4 seperate rooms throughout the hotel and each one had issues even 1 of them being in the new part of the hotel. This room did not even have a bath just a wet room and disabled toilet??? we attended the easter hunt on the Sunday........shambles to say the least!! All in all it was all very disappointing and unless there are some serious improvements we wont go back and would never recommend Jacksons to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank LMBRAD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate that you left our establishment feeling unsatisfied and didn’t notify a member of management about your issues, as we would have done our upmost to rectify these immediately.

Our staff members worked extremely hard on our Easter Egg hunt, unfortunately due to issues beyond our control all of our eggs were stolen from the woods just minutes before the hunt was due to take place. This was extremely disappointing but our staff members did a fantastic job to rectify this and made sure all the kids had an enjoyable day and got a full size egg.

I do hope you return to Jacksons Hotel again in the future and please contact me directly on marketing@jacksons-hotel.ie so I can personally ensure that you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Jackson for 1 night while we attended a wedding in another part of Ballybofey, overall Expeirience was horrible, we booked through a popular hotel website where we prepaid, and on arrival it took us over 15 minutes to be seen and then a further 20 min to get checked in as they tried to make us pay a second time, once we got our room I was disgusted, the room was straight out of 1980 and was nothing like the pictures on the website, wallpaper peeling off, paint chipping everywhere and the tv didn't work, but it was so old that was to be expected. Iv stayed in all types of hotels, from 5 star all the way down to a hostel, and our room was nothing like a 4 star, iv seen better 3 star hotels for a 3rd of the price, breakfast was just ok, can't be complained about much, checking out was another hassle, we apparently had still not paid and we had to wait until it was clarified yet again that we had. All over jacksons puts on a good show, lovely looking hotel in a good location, but they can't keep up with their 4 star rating!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor, we use all of our guests feedback to improve our offering. Had you booked directly through our own website you would have been able to choose the exact room category that you required, such as standard or deluxe rooms.

We are a 4 star accredited hotel awarded by the relevant governing bodies, we have had to meet all necessary guidelines and regulations to achieve such a high rating.

Should you return to Jacksons Hotel again in the future I would be happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms which I am certain you will enjoy.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,307 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: $68 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing