We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“exceptional staff”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have just returned from a lovely break at Jacksons and I can honestly say I have nothing at all to complain about. The Hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff are super friendly nothing was too much trouble. We had a fantastic room over looking the river Finn. Breakfast was lovely plenty off fresh local produce and a roaring fire with complimentary newspaper to while away the hours. Legend has it the Irish Coffee was first discovered by a member of the Jackson family, that may or may not be true but the Irish Coffee we had last night was undoubtedly the best I have ever had.
Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. Our staff members are absolutely thrilled with your comments, it is great for them to be acknowledged for their hard work.

Mr Joseph Jackson did indeed invented the first ever Irish Coffee right here in Jacksons Hotel. He served the Gaelic Coffee (as it was then called) to cold and weary travellers in a cup for 1/6p.

Hopefully we will be making you another one of our famous Irish Coffees very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    303
    240
    225
    260
See reviews for
424
612
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely entrance and lovely pool but everything else was awful. We were on a groupon deal and were treated very poorly. Our room was dirty, no pillow slips on one bed and dirty ones on the other, cracked sink, dirty bath, awful dinner, and much more. On checking out I spoke with the receptionist who was mortified. We said we would not be back but she gave us a voucher for one nights b+b which we will add on to our next trip to Keys Hotel. I had heard great reviews about this hotel over Christmas but we experienced none of this until checkout. Very very disappointing but will use our voucher to see if things have improved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donalddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologise for any issues that you experienced during your stay with us, this is certainly not the levels of standards that we adhere to. I would glad that you explained your issues with our receptionist upon checkout and that she gave you a complimentary voucher to return to us again.
It would be great if you could also contact me directly marketing@jacksons-hotel.ie when you are returning so I can personally ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and I am certain that you will see a vast improvement.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballybofey hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the weekend with lovely room of our anniversary with view of river Finn. Hotel has charm with old and new parts of hotel. Food is excellent best steak I've had in long manys a day, read some of reviews regarding busy breakfast, we did try to get down by 9am and the hotel cleverly has signs to state busiest times. We didn't have a problem, staff were pleasant and answered any queries. Reading some reviews you don't know what to expect the room was warm modern and small balcony opening doors. We got extra pillows on request fresh towels every day. Pool was large and good steam room and jacuzzi. We went to see the waterfall in next town and found interesting heritage and history in same area made our day. Also shopping in nearby Letterkenny worth visiting and McIlhennys store in Ballybofy also. Had such a lovely relaxing time and live entertainment also in hotel. Can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NthIrelandClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to receive such praise and I am delighted you had enjoyed your anniversary weekend stay with us. It is also wonderful that you got to experience some of our nearby attractions and shopping facilities.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked a quad room last weekend for four of us and it was lovely. Just under £75 for four of us with full breakfast, which was delicious. Don't know what all the bad reviews are about think some people just like to nit pick. Staff were lovely and we all had a great stay. Had a lovely meal in the Villa Rose just up the street, would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jacksons Hotel during you recent visit to Donegal. I am delighted that previous negative reviews didn’t deter you and that you had a great stay with us.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband, son and I stayed at Jacksons on a mini break deal and everything about it from start to finish was awful. My husband and I both travel a lot so have stayed in a lot of 3, 4 and 5 star hotels over the years and we don't know how this hotel has a 4 star rating. I don't have the energy to bother giving a list of all the things that we hated about this hotel as I would be here all day but the service was terrible, the facilities were tatty and the food was mediocre. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladougz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of our guest feedback as it is used to improve upon our services.

We have been awarded a 4 star accreditation by Failte Ireland. We had to meet all necessary guidelines and requirements in order to obtain this rating. This level of award is not easily granted and is constantly monitored by the governing body to ensure all requirements are fulfilled.

I am disappointed that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay but hopefully you will return to Jacksons Hotel again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We recently had our wedding reception in Jackson's hotel. We cannot thank this hotel enough for an excellent wedding venue for your big day. Our bridal party and myself and husband were very impressed with the rooms, food and the service you get from Jackson's hotel. It is one of the best hotels in donegal to enjoy a wedding at.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our upmost pleasure to host your special day and thank you for choosing to hold your wedding reception in Jacksons Hotel. Our experienced wedding team work very hard to provide a top class service and it is fantastic for them to be recognised for this.
I am delighted that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and we wish you all the future happiness in married life.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed two nights with my fiance and parents in deluxe rooms..fantastic views of river and woods..rooms were lovely n warm.n great shower..four of us had fillet steaks in the bistro and they were spectacular..breakfast was nice n simple..staff met us with smiles etc every morning..only negative would be the seating in bar needs upgrading but ovrall v enjoyable..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our deluxe rooms with river and woodland views are extremely popular, I am delighted that you experienced and enjoyed them. It is wonderful to receive such high praise for our food and staff and thank you for taking the time to share these on Trip Advisor.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,152 reviews
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Property: Jackson's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing