We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence but for one severe downfall !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence but for one severe downfall !”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break recently with my wife. Greeted with such beautiful weather and a very welcoming and friendly receptionist we were excited for our stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were swiftly checked in and upon arrival to our room found it outdated but yet still gave a vintage feel.

That evening we ate in the dining room which is near the reception area. Although the dining room appeared full , we were greeted and brought to our table very swiftly. Throughout, we were served by an array of waiters and waitress all of whom were extremely friendly and appeared to even enjoy our silly chit chat! No request or dietary requirement went unnoticed and we observed how the four waiting staff that were working that night got on exceptionally well with each other , making our dinner that bit more pleasant! However, an elderly lady (appeared to be senior management) made an appearance just before our dessert and completely disrupted the waiting staff, giving them orders in a sharp, condescending and completely unnecessary tone. We found that this placed extra stress on the staff; who were already running of their feet for the customers. It's safe to say that it was not only myself and my wife who noticed this, as other tables appeared uncomfortable at the situation. However credit to the staff who continued to serve at a very high standard although clearly stressed. The food was outstanding; the steak done excellently and the brownie to die for!

We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar and went to bed content. Although we were awoken by rowdy night club goers and drunken guests in the hall-way, this was understandable as the hotel was busy.

Breakfast the next morning didn't run quite as smoothly as dinner. As we arrived down late at 9 45, all the tables were being used already. However after being directed to another room which was quiet we enjoyed breakfast although we had expected a wider choice as was advertised. It was a big let down that there was no mushrooms, tomatoes or potato bread to be served and the slow and cheap toaster was not working properly; a joke for a hotel! Once again the staff were running of their feet , constantly being shouted at by management. We were very impressed when a younger member of staff remembered us from the night before at dinner and asked us about our evening. The only qualm we have with the staff was that too many staff appeared untrained and needed instructions from other staff.

Checking out was slow as we noticed the same elderly woman at reception shouting once again at a young member of staff who was working at the desk. We were completely shocked by this bullying type behavior and I can only dread what happens behind closed doors !!

We left the hotel extremely happy with our choice to choose jacksons hotel and definitely will be back !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had a wonderful wedding anniversary at Jacksons Hotel and congratulations to you both.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff were so efficient and welcoming during your stay. We do take on additional staff during the summer months and aim to undertake constant training programmes.

Our management team are highly trained and experienced hoteliers, we aim to motivate and guide every member of staff. We have a zero tolerance policy for any type of ‘bullying’ behaviour and under no circumstances is this our management style. I am very sorry if you thought this to be the case.

It was a pleasure to read your review and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back to Jacksons in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    303
    240
    225
    260
See reviews for
424
612
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Jackson's Hotel is not located in a metropolitan area so one should not expect to compare it to the same. However, the rooms are very large and ours was approximately twice the size of those in Belfast and Dublin. The hardwood floors did "creak" abit and some re-furbishing would help. But, remember, countryside hotels are just that. They have an ambiance all of there own and one needs to overlook the minor and major on the major. The quaintness of this family inn is quite remarkable.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor and you will not hear anyone "creak" the hardwood floors above you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. It was really a pleasure to read and I am delighted that you enjoyed our country hotel.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

On arrival the receptionist did not seem to have any record of our booking , she checked the system for what seemed like ages. she then gave us a very old and dated family room, the tv in the room matched the decor old and faded with very little colour and sat on a plywood shelf, toilet was clean but had bad lime scale under rim . we also were overcharged on arrival, corrected when i complained . . this hotel is supposed to be 4 star i have stayed in better 2 star hotels will not be returning, and will not recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronsidreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am greatly disappointed to read about your recent stay at Jacksons Hotel. I do sincerely apologise for any issues that you encountered. If at any stage you were dissatisfied with your room, had reception been notified they would of being able to offer you an alternative.

We are a 4 star approved hotel and have had to meet all necessary guidelines and regulations in order to obtain such accreditation.

I do apologise and hope you do return to Jacksons Hotel again.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I cannot understand how this hotel is still keeping its 4 stars - it is not up to the standard of any of the other 4 star hotels I have stayed in. It is a nice enough hotel but extremely dated and very disorganised. When we arrived to check in our room wasn't ready, we were told to take a seat until it was. Over an hour later we were still sitting there, I went up to the desk (which there was constantly a queue for as only one member of staff checking people in very slowly) to be told yes my room was ready - got the feeling it had been, god knows how long we would have sat there before someone had the decency to tell us.
We were in a deluxe room which was nice (far better than the old part of the hotel which my parents were staying in - i've seen better b&bs than those rooms), but very bare. None of the usual things you would expect a 4* to have like conditioner, mosituriser, face cloths, and a very small bed, which was comfortable though. The main letdown of the weekend was the lack of staff and complete disorganisation which seemed to reign. There only ever seemed to be one man behind the bar, and sometimes no-one. We were spoken to very rudely by a member of staff at the leisure centre when we inquired about the elusive spa, which there is no brochure for (asked at reception) and doesn't seem to exist.....Breakfast in the morning was chaos. Waiting ages for a table, one toaster, no glasses, butter, or milk. We had a good value weekend as we were on a grabone deal, however, if i'd paid the going rate as my parents had, i'd be extremely dissapointed and I wouldn't be in a rush to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read your review and I must state that we have worked hard to achieve our four star accreditation where we have had to meet all necessary rules and regulations.

Our check in time is from 4.00pm. We do try our best to provide guests with an early check-in subject to their rooms being ready. We have been extremely busy this summer season and have taken on additional staff. I do apologise if you found things to be disorganised and if a staff member was rude to you, this will definitely be investigated further as it is not the level of standards that we adhere to.

The spa at Jacksons Hotel has recently opened and is operated independently. We are waiting to receive brochures back from the printers and apologise for these not being available to you.
I do hope you return to Jacksons Hotel in the future

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a mistake from arriving to see 2 dogs in the reception ,the room(144) was 70's early 80's decor with a stench to match there was no hot water no reception on the tv and the kettle sat on the floor as the cord didn't reach the socket which came out of the wall when removing plug ,left at 6 am due to the fact that we had a generator outside our window so we never slept .The spa was a major letdown with the jacuzzi at boiling point and paint falling from the poorly maintained ceiling , Overall the worst place we have stayed ever .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgecorinna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed to read your review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor and that I didn’t get the chance to meet with you to rectify the situation.

Room 144 is one of our standard rooms, if at any stage you were unhappy with your room and had reception been notified they would have been happy to offer an alternative or an upgrade to one of our Deluxe rooms.

It is a pity you left our hotel feeling dissatisfied and that we didn’t get the chance to meet in person.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballybofey hotels

Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back from Jacksons hotel me and my family had a great time the staff was so friendly lovely food and accomadation was really nice. My two kids also had a really nice time in the kids club will definitely be back soon..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonnemartin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your two kids had a great time in our kids club. Our kids club is extremely popular with families and it is great to hear that your family enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently. We had booked a family room and I had contacted hotel a few days before arrival to make sure they had a room to suit 2 adults & 3 kids, however when we arrived our room only had a double & 2 singles with no room for a pull out bed. The reception staff were very helpful and found us another room with 2 doubles and a single. While this wasn't ideal, it was fine for the 2 nights, I got the feeling that the better family rooms had been given to people who had checked in earlier that day - we were a bit late arriving!
Aside form this, hotel had lovely atmosphere, nice lobby and bar, food in Bally bistro was good. Breakfast was a help yourself affair, but very nice - but I did find the 2 burco boilers perched on a table in the restaurant a bit dangerous - we had to get hot water ourselves for tea/coffee.
Swimming pool was good, and all staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is a delight to hear that you experienced our lovely atmosphere, great facilities and helpful staff. I do apologise for any mix up with your room, our family rooms are extremely popular and are allocated upon booking not checkin.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,152 reviews
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Property: Jackson's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing