We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Limavady
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 night stay with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at jacksons hotel we had a thoroughly fantastic time and the staff were exceptional from Marina on reception to Angela in the bistro they couldn't do enough for us. I also was thrilled as they had an Easter camp on for kids so my 7 year old son had a fantastic time on both days and it allowed a bit of retail therapy thank you to Eliza and the guys, would recommend anyone to visit my elderly and disabled mum and her sister had a fantastic time too x

Room Tip: I would recommend to book in the new part of the hotel and if possible get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    303
    240
    225
    260
See reviews for
425
612
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Re-visited since we had a good experience the last time. We were in a room with an air conditioning system,(or extractor) outside, quite close to the window, therefore you could hear it turning on and off 24 - 7. The window view was the inner yard of the hotel, this was supposed to be a luxury room. The TV was a real antique that had the picture size on the wrong ratio and the remote had no facility to change it. There was no toilet roll holder in the bathroom. Breakfast was at best average. Quite a few of the lockers in the changing room were unlockable although I did enjoy the swimming pool. Standards had slipped since the last time. The staff were OK , but only just.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has an outside view. Bring ear-plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dylan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

i stayed at this hotel twice in the last year and found the hotel really nice the atmosphere was warm and welcoming i stayed with my family and i son loved the swimming pool.I also stayed on a girls night out were i went to a concert in the balor . we enjoyed a beautiful meal in the hotel and enjoy a great night 'craic' in the bar afterwards the staff were very friendly and even remember we were up for the concert . I will be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have just returned from jacksons hotel today (24/3/13), stayed for 2 nites and have to say the staff here were really really friendly, our room was in the new building, beautiful view of the river, room was spotless clean, no complaints at all, we ate in the bistro on Friday nite, again all staff there were very friendly, service was great, didn't have to wait long for meal to arrive. We used swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room on fri and sat, very enjoyable and relaxing. Breakfast was really nice, lots of cereal, fruits, bread, croissants, and a variety of fried food, no complaints at all. All in all a very nice weekend, and must say we met the duty manager on about 3 occasions during our stay, and have to say he was very friendly, always stopped and had a chat.i read the previous review and I have to say I don't think its the same hotel she is talking about.

Room Tip: Would def stay here again, and wood recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186470Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

It started badly and got much worse !!.At check in the receptionist did not make eye contact or welcome us, so busy chatting to her colleagues she mumbled our room number and handed us the keys, I had to ask which floor. There was a vase of brown & long dead daffodils on top of the piano in reception and another even more disgusting vase of same on reception desk.
The room(230) which was at the front of the building was spacious but very dated and in need of a good clean particularly the bathroom floor. The mattress on the double bed dipped towards the middle and needs urgent replacement. The water temperature in the shower & taps was lukewarm. Sink taps were loose. The heating did not come on in our room on the 2nd night !!.
Dinner was served in the Bistro and we had to "wait" for a table although there were several empty tables with only five tables occupied by diners. We were finally seated by a very draughty window - so much so it was blowing my neck scarf to one side. Asked the very bored or tired Duty Manager if he could lower the blind to keep the draught out but he was totally perplex by how it was secured and said " no I don't think it closes" and walked away. He did however come back when he saw we were moving to another table and moved our drinks to this table - it obviously didnt occur to him to suggest this. The waitress finally came to take our order and did apologise for the delay. Little did we know what delay means in Jacksons - our started arrived at 8.10 and our main course arrived at 9.25 !!. During that time the bored/tired/disinterested/ looking duty manager wandered around the Bistro avoiding eye contact with us. Guests at a nearby table noticing our plight warned us not to complain as we might not get served at all - "these people don't like criticism". At this stage there were 5 other people in the Bistro so not exactly busy. When the food finally arrived it was just about ok but we were starving so we ate it. After that experience we decided to have a drink in the bar - no one serving behind the bar and the two men drinking there told us we would have to go and find the staff ourselves . Enquired at reception to be told "there's two of them floating about they will be back shortly" Ten minutes later we had to go back to receptionist and inform her " they " hadn't materialised. To give her credit she left her post and served us our drinks but as the bar staff did not make an appearance we could only have the one drink..
Breakfast next morning was a similar experience. The fruit juices & tinned fruit were passable but the cooked breakfast was over cooked, greasy and poorly presented. In fairness to the young girl serving the cooked breakfast she had the impossible task of juggling the lids on serving trays to rest the plates and then re juggle them when she needed to open the trays to serve what was in them.!!. The owner wandered around between breakfast tables making very bland comments but not waiting for answers to his "Is everything allright ?"
Next morning we left early iand spent the day in Derry returning late having had a lovely dinner elsewhere. Checkout was the same unfriendly couldn't be bothered attitude - no eye contact , no smile, no "did you enjoy your stay or do call again"
Why do people like this run a hotel - it gives such a bad impression of Irish hospitality. The Duty Manager has absolutely no interest in customers or maybe its that he does not know what his role is. The young dark haired receptionist looked exhausted and seemed to have given up trying. There seems to be no organisation whatsoever in the dining areas.
We had been warned by colleagues who had stayed there last summer that the service left a lot to be desired but we really did not believe that a hotel as shambolic as this could still be in business. As we were leaving a middle aged woman was tending to a plant on the front doorstep and did not raise her head or return our greeting. !!. That sums it up , they really cant be bothered with customers.

Room Tip: Just don't go there. There are some excellent Hotels in the area - the Villa Rose and a large on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnnGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moya C, Marketing Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Ann,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay Jackson’s Hotel. On behalf of the Jackson Family, may I please extend our most sincere apologies to you regarding the issues you experienced. For the past couple of weeks, we have been extremely busy and during your stay we had been fully booked out. Although this is no excuse for many of the issues you outlined, I still would like to reassure you that this is not the norm for our hotel and they will be taken very seriously

Regarding the heating, it is always turned on first thing in the morning, different times throughout the day and then again at night, I am shocked that it wasn't working until the second night. There may have been a problem at that stage however it needs to be investigated further.

Regarding the incident with the Bar, I apologise that you were kept waiting so long, and I am delighted that our receptionist was kind enough to leave her duties and attend to you. As it was extremely busy, our bar man was between both restaurants, which caused a delay in the service for you. I am very shocked to hear your comments regarding our Duty Manager, whom is always very polite, and professional. As you haven’t given a description of him, I would be under the impression that it was our restaurant supervisor; regardless this will be followed up with senior management.

We take your comments on board, and although you felt your stay at Jackson’s was not to your satisfaction, if you allow us the opportunity to put right this awful situation, we could ensure that you would experience the true welcome and comfort of our family run hotel.
I will be in touch so that we can hopefully discuss this more in private, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballybofey hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to Ballybofey on St Patricks Day and knew the hotel would be busy. Our room wasn't ready so we went off for a lovely scenic drive. On arrival back we were given our key and instructions on how to find the room in the new part of the hotel...we got hopelessly lost! Eventually we found a member of staff who took us to our room which was very stylish and modern with excellent views of the river. Only complaint is that the windows outside were very much in need of cleaning. We went to the bar where there was live Irish music and a super atmosphere. We ate in the reasonably priced bisto where there was a good selection on the menu. Breakfast the next morning was slightly shambolici...I just think it was busy and more staff were needed. The food was very plentiful and good.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new part are very good and some with river views....finding your room could prove c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent a weekend here with my mother and three sisters, got adjoining rooms which was lovely . Stayed in the newer part of the hotel and the rooms where very nice clean and comfortable. A family run hotel which has that homely feeling and it was pet friendly in the older/original building . The staff were welcoming, polite and friendly, the food in the grill and restaurant was beautiful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new hotel were more modern and very nice we had a balcony with views of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blast0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
12.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Property: Jackson's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing