We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an Update”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
londonderry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs an Update”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night for 105 Euro. We booked a smoking room but disappointed that we were allocated to a loft room, old dated furniture, tv, old matress, stained carpet and bathroom floor i wouldnt walk on with my bare feet and the trouser press that didn't work either. The Hall Way leading to reception had a rotten smell of damp and Pool/Spa was sooo out dated. This seemed to be the Old side to Jacksons as the function room seems to have modern newly built bedrooms around it. We could have stayed in 5* Lough Eske for an extra 15Euro which was disappointing. One positive was that the Staff and Food were fantastic, no complaints there.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the New Build side of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Suzie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    308
    241
    228
    260
See reviews for
429
620
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
londonderry uk
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed there recently for a 2 night break.The Receptionist was pleasant and check in was quick


The room was spacious and we were content with it. We ate in the Bally Buffet Restaurant, the menu was limited but the food was fine.We enjoyed the hotel but we found the town of Ballybofey quite dour.
I would recommend Jacksons Hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel but the food...
I dont have the words to describe how bad it was..
Sorry but i wont be back again!!!!!
The same thing in the morning at breakfast, was verry poor and didnt taste good!!
Awfull!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bia82travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ballybofey hotels

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived on 23rd august 12 for a wedding , checked in and was told we had a suite courtesy of jacksons as it was our anniversary,we thought great but when we got to our room we realised it was the other bridal suite.Amazing so thrilled not realising that people can be so kind .Absolutley nothing but praise for the staff.But as the saying goes you cant please all the people all the time so you are still going to get complainers , which i really was saying too good to be true it really was soo good,
good luck to jacksons they desrve all the luck as they really are soo nice xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great hotel. Good service. Friendly staff. Stayed two nights as past of our trip to Donegal (we keep coming back here). I disagree with some of the comments on trip advisor.. staff were more than helpful, and the room was spotless. We will be returning next year ! Hopefully the weather will be a bit better however ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cararose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for two nights, in the new end of the hotel. Room was very comfortable and the owners were very friendly. Offered advice on what to visit locally and were very welcoming. Had a lovely dinner in the garden restaurant and enjoyed using the leisure centre. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legals81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilrea, Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have just come home from a lovely break in Jackson's hotel with my husband, daughter and son. We have to disagree with a lot of these comments reception staff were very helpful, housekeeping very prompted, food and waiting staff very good morning, noon and night, we had a small dog with us which would not settle in the room by himself so understandably he was not allowed in the eating areas so the staff accommodated us by serving us food in the bar area so he could stay with us. We enjoyed using the leisure facilities which were bright, clean and up-to-date.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmaR345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,196 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Property: Jackson's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing