We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple of days!”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed at Jacksons a couple of weeks ago from Sunday to Tuesday and had a lovely time. Hotel reception area is beautiful and homely - bar quaint with little booths andd the garden lovely to sit in. We were in the new accomodation block which was beautiful and well kitted out. Hotel was very busy on Sunday as there was an Irish dancing competition on so there was plenty of activity. We went on a groupon deal and it was well worth the money. Would definitely be back.

Room Tip: New block is beautiful if a little bit a way from main reception. Views from the rooms are breathtak...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for Jackson's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Long story short, felt every spring in the mattress, blind brocken, sink not attached, toilet seat not attached, wallpaper missing from where an old bracket used to be, fake curtains hanging off, headboard not attached to bed or wall, to tired to keep going as no sleep got due to back breaking mattress !!!!

4  Thank wkdgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I attended a fairy tale wedding in Jackson's Hotel on 28\07\12. Everything from the warm welcome on arrival to the prompt and courteous service received by our family during the day was greatly appreciated by the family as a whole. I think that's what Jackson's do best ....a warm welcome.
The function room itself was looking fantastic....having attended quite a few weddings here in the past for some reason it felt like a different room - it just twinkled!
Their staff are a credit to themselves - a great asset to the hotel - no request was too much bother.
I am aware that there were 2 other weddings in the hotel that afternoon- but this had no effect on the service or food we received.
The meal was well presented and quite tasty for function food and of course served with a smile.
Drinks were reasonably priced for a function.
Overall the hotel staff and management made our family's day ever so special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30077b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed in Jacksons in May this year. Got a deal with dinner and breakfast which we saw cheaper at the hotel reception! Main complaint was the bed. Matress so old and knackered that it was impossible to sleep. They obviously knew this, as they had put a mattress topper on top but no effect! We were so tired in the day that any sight seeing was ruined. Jacksons is a pet friendly hotel so doesnt smell great and room floors are laminate which is unpleasant after showering and a little dangerous! Judging by the big cobwebs in our room there were one or two little pets sharing with us. I went to hang my towel off the wardrobe and a huge cloud of dust covered me!! When we woke up the bathrom had no hot water!!, both mornings!! Breakfast is served by 1 woman to cater for all guests so you have to queue and the portion sizes are measley. We went down for breakfast with our 7 year old girl and 2 drunks were asleep from the night before, where guests were waiting to be seated!! Jacksons advertises Wifi but no signal in the room. Good points are that Balleybofey is a nice little town, the chinese restaurant was excellent,the hotel is set on a river which is lovely and the staff are really friendly. No way 4 star, have stayed in better 2 stars!!!

Room Tip: seems to be an old part and a new part...ask for the new part...it may be better.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrsboombastic3475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in Jacksons Hotel in July for three nights and enjoyed our stay.
The pool area was a little dated and changing rooms small.
Breakfast was selfservice, and I just cant stand waiting around making toast why cant it be make in the kitchen, you could spent all your morning waiting for slow moving toaster. Apart from that everything was fine. There is a lovely walk at the back of the hotel through the woods
a great way to walk off your dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabrielleCo_louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in Jacksons in Ballybofey a couple of months ago and it was such a wonderful stay. The first thing I noticed when I walked into the lobby was the warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff here really cannot do enough for you. I loved the fact the owner Margaret made a point of chatting to everyone and welcoming them to the hotel - this is something that other hotels could really improve on! The hotel was extremely busy and there was a fantastic buzz about the place. We ate in the bar - and the food was just delicious - I highly recommend the lasagne! The live music was brilliant - even the barman (forget his name) got up to sing 'Oh Danny Boy' and he was incredible!
I was delighted to receive an upgrade to a suite on check in - this was the icing on the cake for me - beautiful of the river, large kingsize bed, massage chair, jacuzzi bath - the list goes on.....

I really cannot recommend the hotel enough - just booked a room for my parents to enjoy a weekend away - cannot wait to hear what they have to say about it.

Keep up the great work !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenbabe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited the Jackson's hotel and had a very enjoyable holiday! the hotel itself was very clean and also the rooms! We found the staff very helpful, from the cleaners to the manager. Even on our arrival we were welcomed by the owner.The food was also delicious with great service, breakfast in the morning was very good and we also ate at the bistro, which was delicious, especially the home made deserts! There was an open fire in the main foyer which we enjoyed as it made the hotel very homely. There was always something to do as you could walk along the river, visit the local shops, listen to live music in the bar and one night there was even ballroom dancing while we were there. Our children (teenagers) even enjoyed visiting the pool. There is also a great gym which we visited which had modern equipment.
Overall we had a great experience and it was great value for money! We will return again! The long trip from Lurgan was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hm2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: $69 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing