We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped into the hotel travelling from Co Sligo to Belfast. No particular reason just close to where car was parked. We were seated and ordered a steak and chicken dish with caramelised onions and mash and sauce. OMG it was delicious and we totally cleaned both plates. The lady in charge was very friendly and was very happy to hear we enjoyed the food. The amounts were just right and with the sun shining the day was perfect. Next time in Donegal I will make it my business to call again and sample more of the menu but it be hard not to pick the same dish again.

Paul and Jack (Belfast)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulferrinbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

On Friday morning we looked on line for a great deal. The Villa Rose hotel had been recommended so we went to the website - €99 for 2 people, bed, breakfast & evening meal. Only draw back was that we were in an older room but still very clean & quaint. Food in the restaurant was lovely - great choice & as it was busy a good atmosphere. Headed to the bar where there was entertainment. will definately be back, even to the same room, at that price it is hard to beat and we still have to try the V Spa! Was very impressed with the double set of double glazed windows - as we were in front of the hotel on the main road, we didn't hear anything. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a overnight stay at Villa Rose Hotel and a fantastic spa day. food in the restaurant was delicious. Staff so friendly and helpful . fantastic value for money..highly recommend .first class will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently had our wedding reception in the villa rose and couldn't fault anything! Nothing was too much trouble for Rhonda and her extremely professional team! We've heard nothing but praise for the food and service on the day...which is no mean feat considering we had 270 guests! We also stayed for two nights and all staff were so attentive, which was great as it was obviously a very special occasion for us! Can't recommend the Villa Rose enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainedooher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights when we attended Lindsayrobbos wedding on the 22/5/14 and we loved the place. A lovely buffet style breakfast, we had a nice meal in the restaurant one night and the food at the wedding was also excellent.. A very bespoke wedding service that was really lovely and due to its uniqueness very memorable, the wedding was expertly managed by the staff. It was also a great location for us to explore Donegal from. The room was a very good size, with a good size very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom facilities. As a wedding location it was superb,as a general hotel location it was also very good and overall definitely a place well worth staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumpysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for a one night stay this weekend. The hotel is in great condition with tasteful décor and notably excellently clean. I must say I was impressed and if you see my other reviews it takes a lot to impress me . First impressions were good with quick friendly receptionist - Cathy! The room was good with everything we could have wanted for in 4* and free WiFi throughout! We dined in the Restaurant at the front of the hotel but were disappointed in the starters which were surprisingly bland, in fairness they were quickly taken from the bill when settling up. Restaurant staff were very attentive and took time for a chat, Breakfast buffet had everything you could mention for a full fry including black and white pudding etc, here the staff were excellent and very attentive quickly resolving any minor issues with a quick chat and a smile

I must say we would recommend and stay here again as on this occasion we didn't try the spa which we certainly will the next time!

This is not a criticism but if I did have anything to note that would have increased the comfort of our stay I would ask the management consider installing wide screen LCD televisions and also consider bath robes for the rooms.

Otherwise this was one oft the best hotels I have stayed in for comfort, cleanliness, friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Many Thanks

Room Tip: ask for a widescreen TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank einwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We attended a wedding at the villa rose and were completely overwhelmed by the service of the wonderfull staff no wonder they are busy, would fully recommend. Also food and service in the wee bar excellent with choice for gluten free.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,367 reviews
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,167 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Address: Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: $86 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing