We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night away.”
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent night away.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a overnight stay at Villa Rose Hotel and a fantastic spa day. food in the restaurant was delicious. Staff so friendly and helpful . fantastic value for money..highly recommend .first class will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    198
    56
    15
    10
See reviews for
235
556
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently had our wedding reception in the villa rose and couldn't fault anything! Nothing was too much trouble for Rhonda and her extremely professional team! We've heard nothing but praise for the food and service on the day...which is no mean feat considering we had 270 guests! We also stayed for two nights and all staff were so attentive, which was great as it was obviously a very special occasion for us! Can't recommend the Villa Rose enough!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainedooher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights when we attended Lindsayrobbos wedding on the 22/5/14 and we loved the place. A lovely buffet style breakfast, we had a nice meal in the restaurant one night and the food at the wedding was also excellent.. A very bespoke wedding service that was really lovely and due to its uniqueness very memorable, the wedding was expertly managed by the staff. It was also a great location for us to explore Donegal from. The room was a very good size, with a good size very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom facilities. As a wedding location it was superb,as a general hotel location it was also very good and overall definitely a place well worth staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumpysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for a one night stay this weekend. The hotel is in great condition with tasteful décor and notably excellently clean. I must say I was impressed and if you see my other reviews it takes a lot to impress me . First impressions were good with quick friendly receptionist - Cathy! The room was good with everything we could have wanted for in 4* and free WiFi throughout! We dined in the Restaurant at the front of the hotel but were disappointed in the starters which were surprisingly bland, in fairness they were quickly taken from the bill when settling up. Restaurant staff were very attentive and took time for a chat, Breakfast buffet had everything you could mention for a full fry including black and white pudding etc, here the staff were excellent and very attentive quickly resolving any minor issues with a quick chat and a smile

I must say we would recommend and stay here again as on this occasion we didn't try the spa which we certainly will the next time!

This is not a criticism but if I did have anything to note that would have increased the comfort of our stay I would ask the management consider installing wide screen LCD televisions and also consider bath robes for the rooms.

Otherwise this was one oft the best hotels I have stayed in for comfort, cleanliness, friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Many Thanks

Room Tip: ask for a widescreen TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank einwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We attended a wedding at the villa rose and were completely overwhelmed by the service of the wonderfull staff no wonder they are busy, would fully recommend. Also food and service in the wee bar excellent with choice for gluten free.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I got married here on May 22nd. Had such an amazing experience the staff couldn't of been more help so amazing. My sister booked family room and it was on other side of hotel a simple phone call to reception and she was moved to a closer room down the hall from me!! Some of my guests came from uk and couldn't rate the hotel staff and food any higher. I would defo recommended this hotel and I'm looking forward for a returning visit!!! special thanks to Rhonda for all that you done!!! Xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndseyrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Myself and my other half have just returned after a 2 night stay at the Villa Rose Hotel....We booked the Archway Suite which was beautiful with a large round bed and jacuzzi bath... Our room was spacious with a well stocked mini bar. We had a lovely relaxing experience, topped off by gorgeous food and friendly atmosphere.... Staff were helpful with Mr Gallen particularly ensuring we had a lovely stay..we most certainly will be back :-)

Room Tip: A Suite is highly recommended for that little extra treat ..... Beautiful !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandAGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
13.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,125 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Property: Villa Rose Hotel
Address: Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing