We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a quiet few days at the end of June 13

All the reviews are correct !
Nice clean rooms
Friendly staff
Food all good

We arrived on a sat for two days where there was a wedding with about 400 guests the staff coped really well , bar staff obviously under pressure but didn't show it always curtious with a smile

We ate in the restaraunt our first night , thought possibly the menu was lacking a bit of creativity but what all we had was cook well and very tasty

As a treat we tried the v-spa and it was amazing well layed out with plenty of package options , and again the staff very pleasant and helpful, we came out feeling chilled and a few years younger
:-)

All in all a great few days we will defo be back and would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phille75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    193
    56
    15
    10
See reviews for
229
549
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in May and had a great night away, lively bar with live music and very friendly staff. Room was fantastic and spotlessly clean, however about 4.30am the alarm in the hotel went off a couple of times which woke us both up (Mr mc is very grumpy when his sleep is disturbed) ;). We went for a drive up the coast of Donegal and a walk along Rossnowlagh Beach breathtaking views from every angle. All in all we had a really good time here and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for two days while visit relations in the Ballybofey area. The staff was friendly, the room immaculate (wonderful shower; fantastically comfy bed) and the breakfast super! Perfect location. We enjoyed the pub as well! I am only sorry I didn't have a swimsuit to take advantage of the Spa. It looked amazing! The location is perfect for exploring Donegal. There is plenty of parking in the back but a little tricky to find at first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Rose at Easter for a short break with my partner. At check in the staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was immaculate, as was our room which had an extremely comfortable bed. As it was Good Friday a lot of places locally were closed but we had a lovely meal in the hotel and a few too many drinks in the residents bar which is gorgeous. Breakfast was also very good as well.

The Villa Rose is also ideally placed for discover Donegal with Donegal Town a 20 minute drive South and Glenveagh National Park a half hour North through Letterkenney. All in all I really enjoyed my stay at the Villa Rose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last weekend while attending a friends wedding in the area. We arrived on Sunday for one night with dinner. The room was nice with wooden floor and comfy bed. Dinner in the restaurant was average. Woman who served us was not very friendly at first but thawed a bit later. She was rushing home to pack for her holiday after her shift she told us. All in all a nice hotel in a nice area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieHanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I ended up staying here on Business (unplanned). The only reason I'm writing this review is to complement the staff/service, it was top class. The service was 5 star from the moment I checked in. You could find fault with small things... But over all the service was excellent and more then made up for any faults. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for our son's wedding reception, the staff were fantastic,nothing was too much trouble. the venue was superb and the meal served was perfect. Full marks to all concerned. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
13.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Property: Villa Rose Hotel
Address: Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing