We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just spent 2 nights (14-16th September 2012) at the Villa Rose for my surprise 50th birthday. What can I say, hotel superb, all staff superb, bedroom really fantastic, food and food service superb, although it wasnt me who paid for it the price was very good, people of Ballybofey are really nice and friendly, all I can say is go and try it out for yourself, in my eyes you wont be dissapointed, me and my wife WILL be back again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Villa Rose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

i booked myself and 2 friends to the spa thermal suite, staff not helpful! thermal suite consists of Jacuzzi and steam room ONLY!! Jacuzzi wasn't working correctly and cost was 75 euro!!! crazy expensive for poor facilities! Could of got same if not better treatment at leisure center for 21euro!! not impressed!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaRoseHotel, Manager at Villa Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Hi Ciara,

I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent experience of the Thermal Suite here at the V Spa. It is true to say that the jets in the Jacuzzi would not come on automatically on the day that you were with us, however as soon as you notified one of our staff members, they immediately got the jets turned on manually and they remained on for the duration of your session. I can understand the inconvenience of having to notify a member of staff, however we did do our best to rectify the situation as soon as it came to our attention.

As well as the Jacuzzi and Crystal Steam Room the Spa Thermal Suite consists of: Tropical Showers; Foot Spa’s & Ice Fountain all of which were working on the day you attended together with access to our Refreshment room which has complimentary herbal tea’s, coffee, fruit & biscuits together with a dining area and couches for your relaxation.

I apologise that you were disappointed by your experience and hope you will accept my apology for any inconvenience caused by the initial disruption to the Jacuzzi.

Kind Regards
Mariana McIntyre
V Spa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Staff were wonderful. Rooms modern and tasteful. We were in the extension at the back.
Excellent value. If I ran a hotel I would strive for staff like those I met in the Villa Rose. Nothing seemed like too much trouble to them.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the extension at the back.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smark22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went for a wedding in The Villa Rose with my wife and decided to make it a short break away. We spent 3 nights and what an experience. From checking to departure I have never had such a good experience in a hotel. The main asset to this hotel is simple...the staff. Nothing was any trouble and everything was done with a smile and a quick chat. We asked to move from our original room due to an air conditioning unit outside the window and we were promptly moved with the help from the manager. Even though the staff were young they were so attentive and courteous in all they did for us. A special mention for Jackie for all her help. The wedding was run like clockwork with the only disappointment being the roast beef main course. All other food was excellent. Small touch's such as the spring water in the room to the free newspaper in the morning were great. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful as was the lunch we had on our first day. Well done Villa Rose. We'll be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShayFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

From checking in to checking out found the hotel just lovely have to say the staff are second to none so friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble. The town is a little limited for anything to do and range of other places to eat is also limited but all in all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojitolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A recent one night stay here was a pleasure, the staff here are so enthusiatic and motivated they would put others in bigger hotels to shame.

We had dinner in Faras restaurant and it was terrific, the starters followed by perfectly cooked and served steaks were a delight.

This hotel has two sections, one fronting onto the main street and the newer one reached via a covered walkway which is where we stayed, my room was spacious with modern furniture and fittings, both it and the bathroom were spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was from hot bins but surprisingly the elements were all fresh and appetising, despite my abhorrence of breakfast served in that manner this was very good so maybe this hotel has found the solution to hot food in bins becoming practically inedible, if so well done.

The location of the hotel is not terrific from an aesthetics point of view but if you can ignore the immediate surroundings and you want top quality, fantastic staff, terrific food and all at a very reasonable cost you won't beat this hotel in this area in my opinion.

Plenty of free car parking and being located right in the centre of Ballybofey are more plus points, make sure to ring in advance for directions to the car park as it will save hassle trying to locate it.

Mention of and well done to Niamh and her managerss in the restaurant along with Cathy on reception, all of whom were fantastic and a credit to the hotel.

No problem in giving the Villa Rose a top recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband last weekend. I was most impressed with the staff, from reception to waiting staff, to bar staff, I would have to give them 10 out of 10. They were friendly, helpful and cheerful at all times. We had dinner at the hotel both nights, and food was very good. Room was spotless, we had a king sized bed, which was lovely.
The only downside was the walls are quite thin, and we could hear most of our neighbour's conversation, luckily they weren't too noisy, so we had no problem sleeping.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 956Awall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,141 reviews
13.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,204 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Address: Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: $91 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing