We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”
Review of BallyBuffet Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BallyBuffet Bistro
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Ballybofey
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

staff working were very pleasant, but not enough staff working. My meal was not cooked, my mothers meal was a 'congealed mess'.
Desserts were good.
I noticed meals from 2 other tables also being returned.
Waitress dealt with my complaint very efficiently.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food went from great to crap in 1 year.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant used to be delicious.
The last few times we went we had a lovely meal.
(Have been a number of times, all over a year ago)

But they must have different kitchen staff now,
because this time it was awful.

We ordered the same starter we normally get.
It looked & tasted like a heated up frozen meal.

Then the actual dinner was awful.
Ate very little of it, which is unheard of for me,
and my wife thought hers wasn't nice either.

The staff were nice & gave us some money off because we didn't enjoy the meal.

Won't be going back unless I hear about some changes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Poor quality food. 10oz Fillet steak advertised, but actual steak size received was considerably smaller than that. Although chips were home-made, my portion were undercooked, so I was biting through, greasy, raw potato.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank odwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bistro heaven”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The food was good, inexpensive and plenty of it. The bistro is obviously new. im always happy when you can see the kitchen. The staff were very friendlyu and efficient and its good to have water brought to your table without being asked.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank happycamper453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county donegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“3 days with faboulous food.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had the sirloin on the 1st night, I wanted to have it again but I had seen the lamb being served and it looked amazing. So on the 2nd night I had the lamb and boy was it good. On the 3rd night I had the fish which was so tasty and there was plenty of it.
My 3 children loved the soup, chicken wings, kids steak, and the roast of the day. I cant comment on other items because the kids kept ordering what they knew they loved.
When you can take children out to a hotel and give them a starter, main course and dessert for under €10 and their plates are scrapped clean you know you have found a class place.
Also the kids menu has activities for the kids to keep them occupied.
For myself, I was never disappointed with anything and the wine selection is very good and well priced.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank irene293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BallyBuffet Bistro also viewed

Ballybofey, County Donegal
 
Ballybofey, County Donegal
Ballybofey, County Donegal
 

Been to BallyBuffet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing