We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomdation a little tired and dated - dinner menu a disaster”

Ballymaloe House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Shanagarry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $93
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Irish Country House ,
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in the "Pink Room" and the décor for the price was jaded tired and exhausted much like ourselves after the cookery course. The dinner menu - well let me be frank - we went for the 2 course option because the menu was below par. The in season fare was done a disservice with the treatment. We ended up requesting a starter as a main course in order to justify the cost ! The starters were below par and lets face it with all the best buter in the world and the freshest shrimp which moron of a chef could spoil a simple beautiful potted shrimp by drowning it in thyme !!!!!!! Abhorrent treatment of ingredients shame on you Chef. There was 5 tables in the dining room tat night, the Spanish left their steak the Americans ate "lite" the Irish couple were happy and the main table and lets be straight about it Myrtle, D, T the Brother, Johnny wife and kids ate and never complained because they weren't paying for their dinner. So glad we didn't pay for the soup and salad that would of brought our meal up to €70 quid. Really folks - great ingredients but bad heavy handed treatment of the final dishes.

2  Thank NinaByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your report , you might prefer some of our courtyard rooms , next time consider N0 5, although the Pink Room and the rooms with Doors to the garden are the most popular.

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 365 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were given a voucher to eat in this restaurant for our 30th wedding anniversary and it was indeed a memorable occasion. The starters are a buffet style and the food is so fresh and beautifully presented. The service is outstanding without being intrusive, the waitresses are pleasant and knowledgeable about the food. One needs to ensure you do not over indulge on any course as it truly is a veritable feast. I'm not sure we would have been able to afford it ourselves but it was a wonderful gift.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank presby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you , we are delighted you enjoyed your gift and visit to Ballymaloe.

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was at the Buffet on Sunday evening with a friend, very nice soup, Various bits of pate, tiny shrimps, seafood, salads etc. for starters, ham, beef and turkey for main course with some potato salad and a few other side salads. Four different desserts from a dessert trolley for afters. With 2 glasses of wine bill came to €159. What an enormous price to pay for a slightly upmarket salad. I expected a fantastic selection of seafood and meats etc. which I could help myself to and not having someone slicing a tiny piece of pate and repeatedly telling me how fantastic it was. This was a once off treat and I was sorely disappointed.
Mary B
Tipperary

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Maryb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your comments , we are sorry you were so disappointed with our Traditional Sunday night dinner, we do our best to make our guests feel welcome to have as much as they wish , from the large selection.

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

For many years I had wanted to go to Balllymaloe. So when we recently had the fortune to go to Ireland, our friends as a surprise took us there....It was a beautiful day, and the ride was wonderful from Kinsale. The buildings and property were beautiful. EVerything was as had expected except for the horrid food. We were seated in a very nice room with other tables, and served a simple soup which was tasteless. A small amount of bread for our party of five, and even
less butter arrived. Then we were asked to get up and go to the buffet lunch. A church potluck
would have been more attractive, and tasted better. The first thing was a pizza which we all thought strange as a starter on a buffet table, then a quiche, then some baked plaice with a white sauce. Two carvers were carving up a selection of very overdone meats. There was a bacon roast which was very good,. Then following that were about 12 dishes of various vegetables, they
saved the day. All these were served an odd array of mismatched bowls and kept having to be replenished as they were so small.

The dessert cart was even more disappointing. Although, I guess I had built up what I thought
it was going to be, I certainly did not expect Waterside Inn or Quatre Saisons level of cuisine.
WE had just eaten in several of the small restaurants of Kinsale which were WONDERFUL.
I feel so bad writing this bad review, but for a place which has the reputation it does, one would think that people who go there are expecting more than they get, as it s a special occasion
place--it makes me very sad that it was so bad AND COST SO MUCH

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We are really so sorry our Sunday lunch did not live up to your expectations ,and thank you for your constructive comments

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our party, a group of seven, visited Ballymaloe House on a Friday night. One of the features at the restaurant on this particular evening was the appetizer buffet. The selection of appetizers was diverse with vegetables, meats, seafood, and cheeses available, including locally grown and harvested items. The main courses were expertly prepared and enhanced by a solid and varied selection of wine. Service was attentive and the staff anticipated our large group's needs extremely well. The cheese and dessert cart was the perfect way to complete a great meal with a delicious local blue cheese that we will not forget. Overall, the atmosphere of this beautiful Irish country estate combined with the excellent service and the quality of the food makes for a memorable experience. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rob1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you , every Friday , our shellfish arrives and the starter on our menu is a Selection from our Hors d'Oeuvres table

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballymaloe House Restaurant also viewed

 
Midleton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Been to Ballymaloe House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing