We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent home and gift store and great walks”

Ballymaloe House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Shanagarry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $88
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Irish Country House ,
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent home and gift store and great walks”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great food, excellent home and gift store and great walks all year round. Near Shanagarry where you can visit Stephen Pearce Pottery, Ballymaloe House, The Shanagarry Design Centre, Ballycotton which has amazing cliff walks. There is a lovely beach at Garryvoe and the Garryvoe hotel has good value food, a nice pub and good trad music.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    77
    35
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Delectable local produce”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had the 5 course dinner and there were several choices for each course. Since there were 4 of us we each chose something different so we could all try each others food. All of the meals were tasty just as you would expect of an establishment owned by a family which includes both Darina and Rachel Allen. The local producers who supply the produce served here should be proud that their high quality is showcased so well by the chefs here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hxdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Brilliant the food was delicious and the staff was very kind! They have lovely food and I have to say that I would definetely go back there again

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Owner at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you , we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Ballyma;oe

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our Sunday lunch here”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to Ballymaloe for a family lunch and I really enjoyed my first visit there. The old house is really atmospheric, with the diners sitting in many different sized rooms.
Soup is served at the table and the next two courses are served at a biffet so keep an eye out for the queue starting.
There is a huge choice of meat, fish salad and veg and you can keep going back. I had the beef which was nice but not outstanding.
The desserts trolley is sinful and again you can mix and match from the selection. The staff were helpful.
As wasn't paying I shouldn't comment on the value of the meal!

To work off your food can walk the lovely grounds or choose to visit the shop to buy cookbooks or a whole dinner service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iduap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Owner at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feed back , Corned Beef which is popular in this area may not be what your were expecting , we are glad you enjoyed the other dishes & deserts .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife had really been looking forward to visiting this restaurant, but after eating a lukewarm chicken and rice lunch, followed by coffee served on mis-matched cup and saucer at a rediculous price, we will not be repeating the experience! It was the sort of meal one would have at home for a snack.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman190791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Owner at Ballymaloe House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are sorry your visit to The Grainstore was not what you expected , the restaurant in Ballymaloe is open most days for lunch

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballymaloe House Restaurant also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Midleton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Been to Ballymaloe House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing