We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Kilmahon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmahon House
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We loved Mary and Jeremy - gracious and generous. Comfortable beds, amazing breakfast and beautiful house. We don't always say this, but we would love to return and would specifically search out this B&B

Room Tip: Very close to the wonderful Ballymaloe
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Kilmahon House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 135 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed four nights during the Ballymaloe Lit/Food Fest last week. Mary and Jeremy made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was astonishing and all cooked and baked by Mary. At the mention of the word porridge, Mary produced the best bowl of porridge ever - with, of course, a jug of delicious Irish cream.... oh dear.... Jeremy videoed Master Chef so that when we came in v late we were able to watch the finals.... we were sent out with sandwiches and cake and apples (as we were volunteers at the festival Mary was concerned that we might be hungry!) Jeremy offered to fetch and carry us from Ballymaloe... but we took the car... nothing was too much trouble. They are a very special couple who have spent five years turning Kilmahon House into a beautiful, happy home which they love to share.
Sue and Edwin

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed one night at the lovely Kilmahon House with Jeremy and Mary after a wedding in Ballymaloe. I arrived in a tizz with only 40 minutes to shower and change and Jeremy very kindly showed me to my room and drove me to the church in Ballycotton. Breakfast the next morning was amazing: fresh orange juice in a little bottle, lovely homemade brown bread, good coffee, newspapers, good fruit and cereals, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon! Delicious! This is a very very nice place to stay and I will definitely be back for a non-wedding visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I am so glad to see so many excellent reviews about Kilmahon House. We stayed there last Sunday night and I was embarrassed at the service and the amount of gorgous food ! On arrrival we were served Coffee and cakes (x 4 types !) in the drawing room. Jeremy drove us to our Restaurant later (Pier 26 - fab) and Mary collected us. When we got home there was port and chocolate in the drawing room. Jeremy lit the fire for us. Mary had turned down our room. The breakfast the next day was HUGE and gorgous, I can't name everything but there was way too much and everything was lovely and homemade. Mary and Jeremy are lovely and so deserve to do well. VISIT them if you want to relax and be pampered !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Probably one of the best short stays I have ever had. I am not sure why anyone would go to Ballymaloe when they can stay here and enjoy Mary's cooking and Jeremy's hospitality. I hope others manage to do better justice to tea and breakfast than we did but everything was just right: food, service, the room, the welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I would say Kilmahon house is still a work in progress, do not let that put you off at all! It's a wonderful house Mary & Jeremy make you feel very welcome, you can see their passion for the house is transforming it into a beautiful Georgian home. Mary is the most fab host, from the first phone call to seeing us off, her baking & breakfast outrageously good. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We recently stayed at Kilmahon House for one night and will most definitely be back! When we arrived we were shown to our beautiful room overlooking the garden and then made our way down to the drawing room where we served freshly baked cakes and tea in front of the coal fire. Breakfast was beautiful and again Mary &Jeremy went above and beyond as hosts serving freshly made smoothies, freshly pressed fruit juice, selection of freshly baked breads and pastries, all served in the lovely dining room.
We will definitely return and will definitely be recommending Kilmahon House to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
1.0 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
758 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
426 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
719 reviews
11.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
11.9 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmahon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmahon House

Address: Kilmahon, Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range: $188 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Georgian house offering elegant and luxurious guest accommodation. Just 30 minutes from Cork City and airport the house is situated in Shanagarry, and just a few minutes walk to the Ballymaloe Cookery School and the blue flag beaches along Ballycotton Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilmahon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing