We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Guest House - Could not recommend more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilmahon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmahon House
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Guest House - Could not recommend more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed one night at the lovely Kilmahon House with Jeremy and Mary after a wedding in Ballymaloe. I arrived in a tizz with only 40 minutes to shower and change and Jeremy very kindly showed me to my room and drove me to the church in Ballycotton. Breakfast the next morning was amazing: fresh orange juice in a little bottle, lovely homemade brown bread, good coffee, newspapers, good fruit and cereals, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon! Delicious! This is a very very nice place to stay and I will definitely be back for a non-wedding visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
64
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I am so glad to see so many excellent reviews about Kilmahon House. We stayed there last Sunday night and I was embarrassed at the service and the amount of gorgous food ! On arrrival we were served Coffee and cakes (x 4 types !) in the drawing room. Jeremy drove us to our Restaurant later (Pier 26 - fab) and Mary collected us. When we got home there was port and chocolate in the drawing room. Jeremy lit the fire for us. Mary had turned down our room. The breakfast the next day was HUGE and gorgous, I can't name everything but there was way too much and everything was lovely and homemade. Mary and Jeremy are lovely and so deserve to do well. VISIT them if you want to relax and be pampered !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Probably one of the best short stays I have ever had. I am not sure why anyone would go to Ballymaloe when they can stay here and enjoy Mary's cooking and Jeremy's hospitality. I hope others manage to do better justice to tea and breakfast than we did but everything was just right: food, service, the room, the welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I would say Kilmahon house is still a work in progress, do not let that put you off at all! It's a wonderful house Mary & Jeremy make you feel very welcome, you can see their passion for the house is transforming it into a beautiful Georgian home. Mary is the most fab host, from the first phone call to seeing us off, her baking & breakfast outrageously good. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We recently stayed at Kilmahon House for one night and will most definitely be back! When we arrived we were shown to our beautiful room overlooking the garden and then made our way down to the drawing room where we served freshly baked cakes and tea in front of the coal fire. Breakfast was beautiful and again Mary &Jeremy went above and beyond as hosts serving freshly made smoothies, freshly pressed fruit juice, selection of freshly baked breads and pastries, all served in the lovely dining room.
We will definitely return and will definitely be recommending Kilmahon House to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Kilmahon House and we will definitely be back again! We took the whole house for a family gathering to celebrate my mums birthday - 10 adults, 2 teenagers and 4 children. From the very moment we arrived Mary and Jeremy made us all feel so welcome and at home. The house is absolutely fantastic all the rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean with fresh flowers and amazing views of the lovely gardens.

What makes this house perfect is its wonderful owners. I cannot say enough about Mary and Jeremy's hospitality - within minutes of us arriving they knew all our names and were so welcoming to every member of the group. We were given afternoon tea on arrival in the drawing room upstairs with a warm open fire - freshly baked cakes, buns, scones and cookies.
After pre dinner drinks in the drawing room dinner was served in the dining room which was absolutely lovely and so relaxing. Breakfast was outstanding freshly baked breads, muffins, fruit, cooked breakfast and the children got to explore and play in the garden.

A huge thank you to Mary, Jeremy and Tess (the dog) for making this a very memorable and happy family gathering. We will be recommending Kilmahon House to our family and friends. xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our first B&B stop in Ireland and all I can say is - it set a pretty high bar!! The coziness and warmth were a wonderful break from our comfortable, but stale hotel stays in Dublin and Kilkenny earlier in the week. Kilmahon House is a fully restored Georgian Country House on beautiful well-appointed grounds. We were welcomed by the sweetest dog and we could've all used some canine companionship at that point, as a couple of us were missing our own pups. Once we were settled, we had afternoon tea with home baked treats. We stayed in the Ballycotton room and Ardnahinch rooms...both of which were incredible, as were the adjoining bathrooms - especially the latter, which was incredibly spacious with a beautiful claw foot tub. We walked along the beach of Ballycotton bay and then grabbed dinner at a local pub...both were within a quick drive of the house. We came back to Kilmahon and had homemade gin, followed by a restful night in our super comfy beds. Morning was a delish breakfast with lots of additional homemade goodies. The hosts (Mary & Jeremy) are beyond fantastic and Mary went the extra mile...hopping in her car and having us follow behind to ensure we made it to our bespoke cookery course (at Rory O'Connell's 18th century farmhouse - Snugborough).

The property around Kilmahon House is stunning, so please do set aside a few minutes to browse around the gardens and do a little birding. If you're into pottery, Mary has quite the collection of Stephen Pearce. Ballymaloe Cookery School is close by, as are the beaches of Ballycotton Bay. While my mother and I were cooking away at Snugborough - others in our party took a side trip to the Jameson Experience at the Midleton whiskey distillery, which was relatively near and apparently a good time ;-)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but Ardnahinch (King) has a beautiful bathroom!! Both Ballycotton (2 Twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADayontheLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmahon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmahon House

Property: Kilmahon House
Address: Kilmahon, Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Georgian house offering elegant and luxurious guest accommodation. Just 30 minutes from Cork City and airport the house is situated in Shanagarry, and just a few minutes walk to the Ballymaloe Cookery School and the blue flag beaches along Ballycotton Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilmahon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing