We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely like a fairy tale!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballymaloe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely like a fairy tale!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Its my favourite place in Ireland, near Ballycotton harbour, in serene countryside, very peaceful, yet splendid interiors with deluxe coulours schemes. The food is to die for, dinner is 60 Euros, and worth EVERY penny!
Try the merengue roulade with raspberries and you will return again and again to Ballymaloe.
The new Concert Hall The Grainstore at Ballymaloe has the most amazing acoustics and Rory Allen makes sure to invite the creme de la creme to entertain the guests!
The little Shop at Ballymaloe offers great Irish crafts, artisan CHOCOLATES and classy kitchen utensils.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAshleyVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    65
    40
    14
    14
See reviews for
84
215
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Ballymaloe House is a lovely old country house set amidst rural fields and gardens with a justified reputation as having one of the best restaurants in Ireland. The staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was nothing short of superb. Rooms were in keeping with a country house environment with glorious views to the gardens and woods. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed at Ballymaloe House while on a course at the amazing Ballymaloe Cookery School two miles away. This is a small country hotel / B&B in a quiet rural location. It has nice gardens and an outdoor swimming pool. It also boasts some shops a cafe and an entertainment venue. The rooms (ours was called Bamboo) were underwhelming the shower had a mind of its own with two settings off and skin removal, the sink area was very small. The room was a good size but option the of a TV would have been nice. The restaurant here has a world class reputation which it deserves. But the accommodation does not meet this standard and is way overpriced which overshadowed our stay. The bar area is tiny and not very comfortable. Stay at the nearby Bayview in Ballycotton as we did the previous night better value better view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kildareman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We first visited Ballymaloe in 1988 with a cousin from Cork. Locals really know the good places to go, and Ballymaloe has gotten even better over the 20 years since we first visited. The setting and house are beautiful and idyllic. Accommodations were very comfortable. I couldn't believe that my American teenage boys would want to stay at a place without TV in the room, but they wanted to extend our stay after two nights. There are lovely Bose radios in the room, and we enjoyed listening to the Irish talk shows and music (better than we get in suburban Chicago!). The boys could get their TV dose in a side room that has satellite TV -- just enough to prevent media withdrawal. We enjoyed swimming in the heated pool, and had some nice (but short) bike rides on the property. The dining is fabulous -- the food is natural, local, and "organic" when possible. My teenagers appreciated the waiters/waitresses asking them if they wanted more of their entre, and were given generous "seconds" at this gourmet restaurant -- something that astounded me. And the icing on the cake was to see Myrtle Allen, the founder of Ballymaloe, saying goodnight to guests, and then joining the music group in the parlor. She's a lovely legend, and I enjoyed watching her obvious enjoyment of the evening while she suggessted some of her favorite local songs for the musicians. It doesn't get any better than this. I can't imagine visiting Ireland without spending at least one night at Ballymaloe! I splurged this year and went to Charlie Trotter's in Chicago for our anniversary -- purportedly the best restaurant in Chicago, perhaps one of the best in the world. In my humble opinion, Ballymaloe was a far superior dining experience -- wonderful food, beautiful setting, Irish tradition, and no pretense.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We live in Cork and went to Ballymaloe to celebrate my wife's birthday - the meal was extremely good - simple food, but all cooked perfectly - the J Dory in beurre blanc with lobster was the best I have tasted and the porkbelly was very tasty. Add to that an extensive (and not too expensive by Irish standards) wine list, attentive friendly but not over-bearing waiting staff with an elegant dining room and you have close to my ideal dining experience - the tables are a little close to each other - but this applies to almost all Irish restaurants.
We stayed overnight and had a beautiful room - no TV, which was great - although I understand you can get one if you ask for it and most importantly no 5 star 'from a manual' decor, just individual rooms stylishly decorated. The farm yard and gardens are extensive, with lots of mature roses trailing along walls while still being a well ordered working area. We returned home, feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and very well fed.
Its not cheap, but its not expensive as some alternatives in this price bracket and they do have deals for accomodation and dining.
Ballymaloe has class in abundance, together with one of the best dining experiences I have have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroonedinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I booked at Ballymaloe House for one night at beginning our of trip in Ireland. Although our room was large and clean, it was disappointing in that there were no special touches other than a complimentary bottle of water for each of us. There was no place to lay a toiletry bag in the bathroom . . .had to place mine either on the floor or in the sink just to get at it. Difficult to get into the tub/shower. Absolute minimum number of handtowels/bathtowels. Hairdryer worked only in the bedroom as there was no outlet for it in the bathroom. Dinner was the best we had during our time in Ireland but, of course, that came at a hefty price. Additionally, the room was, my most standards, very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

It always meets the high expectations we have of it. This was a one night treat. The welcome as usual was warm and friendly. We were shown to a charming and spacious room and bathroom downstairs overlooking the garden. The dinner and service were superb (I have just made the spinach and rosemary soup) and so was breakfast. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymaloe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Property: Ballymaloe House Hotel
Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballymaloe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing