We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food prepared with TLC”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanagarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballymaloe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited Ballymaloe House recently for my birthday, and the entire experience was faultless. The food is so fresh and so delicious, definitely not to be rushed. There is an excellent choice on the menu, and numerous courses, I particularly enjoyed the dessert trolley, which guests can choose as many yummy desserts as they wish. The cheese course with excellent homemade cheese biscuits is also included. We were offered additional helpings of our main course, and the service was also excellent. Definitely a treat to savour.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mairmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you , we hope you have the opportunity to return during the Summer

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 449 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are just back from a memorable night in Ballymaloe, for our wedding anniversary, and although we have been eaten in some amazing restaurants over the years, our evening at Ballymaloe was like modern day Downton abbey, genuine welcome, comfort from even how perfect the pillows were, to the well appointed bathroom and perfect lighting, colour scheme and gentle elegant touches, in a modern world of fast pace and bigger and shinier hotels, this wonderful setting created a romantic gentle evening and somehow we feel we've been away for days...

Slowing down and appreciating each other's company with excellently prepared cuisine is what life should be every now and again amidst the hustle and cacophony of the everyday

Well done to all in Ballymaloe house, they remember to treat you as a human and not a room number and really care that you enjoy your time with them, ....a pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed ringing in the New Year with us and hoping everything works out well for you in 2014

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay - lovely warm atmosphere . Booked for one night , initial room was unsuitable although beautifully decorated - a room in the courtyard was suggested - and we accepted this much larger room a short distance from the main house. Magnificent newly decorated room with excellent bathroom and very spacious .

Dinner was excellent as expected - a lovely variety - portions seemed small to my husband but i found them to be perfectly adequate.
Waiting staff were very pleasant and well experienced.

Desserts were a lovely mixture of Christmas favourites - perhaps with just a little too much festive alcohol soaked into the trifle and the roulade .

After dinner entertainment was a pleasant surprise and very good indeed - traditional music and singing , very enjoyable.

Breakfast was delightful - everything homemade and tasty.

I also enjoyed the shop on site - so close to Christmas very handy for last minute gifts .

Would love to repeat the experience in mid-summer - hopefully !

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the courtyard accommodation rather than the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 718Maxruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your comments , now that Christmas is over our deserts will be less boozy !

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had lunch here while travelling through Cork with my husband. We only had sandwiches and tea but it was delicious. definitely not your normal café sandwhiches but all the same a little pricey! Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EmilyC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your comments and wishing you a Very Happy New Year

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spend 12 days in Ireland eating in some very, very nice restaurants from Adare to Kenmare to Shanagarry to Dublin. The dinner we had at Ballymaloe house was dreadful and not close to any of the other places. Very, very surprising, especially after reading other Trip Advisor reviews.
Boring, tasteless and way overpriced. To put things in perspective, our average meal for two during the trip was about 120 to140 Euro for excellent dinners and wine.

Ballymaloe House is very pleasant, the staff were great and the grounds beautiful.

Room Tip: Don't know if there was a spa or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

thank you for your comments , we are delighted you enjoyed you food as you travelled around Ireland but so sorry your visit to Ballymaloe did not live up to your expectations.

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to Ballymaloe as part of a group booking for 60 people. We arrived a little early and we're told that they weren't ready for us which was fine, we could have a drink at the bar. Food was the set lunch menu for €28 per head. Food was good but lukewarm, surprising as we were the first table to be served. Staff very pleasant. Desert trolley was great. Wine was excellent. Beautiful surroundings but was the food better than I cook at home? Sadly no. Surroundings are beautiful but it's not an out of this world dining experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Ker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your feed back , we are sorry you were disappointed

Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night in Ballymaloe this year for a special occasion.
It was absolutely wonderful from the minute we arrived to our reluctant departure.
Our suite was superb, the food even more so, and the working garden a delight.
Mrs Hazel Allen made us feel very welcome, and personally visited every table with anecdotes about that day's menu choice.
Breakfast was a revelation, the sausages were homemade, and the waitress was eccentric and great fun.
Will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments , we are delighted you enjoyed you visit
Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,769 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
740 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymaloe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range: $100 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing