We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, food and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballymaloe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, food and experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the welcome with tea and fresh-baked scones, to the tour of the garden in which much of our food was grown - invited to pick apples which were juicier and crisper than any I have tasted - to our beautiful spacious room opening up on to the garden, every detail was a delight.

The meals were exceptional - fresh produce, eg local free range eggs, freshly squeezed grapefruit juice - and were well explained eg the difference between west Cork lamb and east Cork lamb, due to the terrain and diet. The seafood menu was extensive, and it was all fresh and delicious, like the mackerel caught this afternoon. On Friday night the entree is a very extensive buffet of seafood and salad - including tomatoes that tasted like tomatoes used to taste. On Sunday night the meal is a magnificent buffet of seafoods for starters, and roasts for main. All of it good, and very well-explained by the owners, and combined with locally made chutneys and sauces.

The walks are lovely, the shop interesting, the location beautiful. We stayed for three days, and loved it.

Room Tip: They are all lovely - I like the New West Room, because it opens on to the garden, has its own small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you, we enjoyed meeting you and comparing our East Cork Lamb with West Cork Lamb!
Looking forward to meeting you again

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    66
    41
    14
    14
See reviews for
85
218
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here in September, in a courtyard room. A courtyard room is incredible; it resembles a tiny cottage. Not only is the room itself pretty, with matching wallpaper and draperies (mine were done in the favorite Irish flower growing plentifully in the month of September in all the hedgerows, the fuchsia), with an enormous bath and shower in the bathroom, but it's also easy to get to (when you're carting your own luggage) as they're located on the ground floor. Courtyard rooms have attached glass sitting rooms (little conservatories, if you will) which are charming on their own, and let in a lot of light. The location is both good and a little "bad," in that my particular room had an extra (and very large) window that looks out onto the parking lot. This means that privacy whilst on the loo is a bit of an issue. Aside from this one issue, I absolutely loved this hotel. The hotel is glorious, and well run. The sitting room (with fireplace) where one takes one's pre-dinner drink, is delightful and comfortable. There's a large glass-enclosed room adjacent to the hotel's five-star restaurant. The restaurant was wonderful too, with food provided by excellent chefs. All in all, not only would I stay here again, I am devoutly hoping I can live here one day, though I suspect that's going to remain a fantasy.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the courtyard room, but others might prefer to be in the main hotel. I liked the space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments , so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Fuchsia Room. we suggest you book the Honeysuckle room next time, similar room but not so close to carpark.

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have been to Ballymaloe House twice - nearly 30 years ago and again more recently with our teenage sons. The first visit was only dinner -- our cousin from Cork took us there. The dinner was great and we met Mrs. Allen, our cousin's friend. When we recently returned to Ireland, we made sure to spend two nights at Ballymaloe to soak in the ambiance and enjoy the food. Our expectations were far exceeded. We woke up to roosters crowing, had invitations to go fishing, rode bikes, went swimming, and had a spectacular time. Mrs. Allen, now advanced in years but as lovely as ever, joined guests in the parlor for an impromptu singalong after dinner. And the food was spectacular. We live in Chicago and have access to the best the city offers, but the dinner at Ballymaloe stands with the best we've had here. My favorite part of the dinner -- our teenage boys were offered seconds of everything! They thoroughly enjoyed the special attention. I was simply amazed that this was happening at an acclaimed restaurant where prices were at the high end. Ever since then, my boys have loved salmon! Great food and a real country experience -- next time I go to Ireland, it will be straight to Ballymaloe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
thank you for your feed back , we are delighted you enjoyed our food and look forward to welcoming you back

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ballymaloe is a nice country house which lives on a reputation for food. At €230 a night bed & breakfast I expected a bit more. What would have been two wardrobes or closets were converted into our bathroom and shower. There are definitely much nicer 5 star hotels in Ireland at a similar price. It also is not suitable for kids as children under 7 are not allowed in the dining room in the evening time & there is no children's menu. Dinner is a 5 course meal at €70 per person. According to wikapedia it is a fine dining restaurant that was awarded one Michelin star in the period 1975-1980. The Michelin Guide awarded the restaurant the "Red M", indicating 'good food at a reasonable price', in the period 1981-1994!! Nice place for tourists to see a bit of the countryside. Can't comment on cookery school as wasn't there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5starDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your feed back , we are sorry you did not enjoy staying in the popular Top Room ,our newer rooms have more larger bathrooms which can be impossible to fit into an early house .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'll write this review regarding our first visit in 1995, 8 or 9 trips ago. We bought Mrs. Allen's cookbook the year before and said if we ever were to visit Ireland, this would be the place to start.

It was an absolute revelation, and lived up to everything in the "storytelling-cookbook" and more.
We had a delicious tea in the Grey Room and marveled at the grounds and landscape from our second story window overlooking the courtyard. So many places to explore and get a real taste of country house Ireland, resident peacock and all. Mr. Allen, no longer with us, took us on a spontaneous and hair-raising drive over to Shanagarry see his son and daughter-in-law's " little cookery school"..
we were disappointed to hear that Sunday was a cold brunch, but were awed when we walked into side dining room to view 2-3 different types of pate', cold lamb, beef, etc. and so many dishes we could hardly choose..plus heavenly desserts.

Our last visit this April was like coming home...having spent over 24 hours to arrive there from Vermont, we were told our room wasn't quite ready, but when we explained the situation, were immediately shown another bedroom to catch up on much needed rest, and on awakening, were given tea and cookies to revive us, all with no extra charge!
Enjoyable and relaxing as always, and were able to mail all of our gifts to the States from the gift shop free of charge.
Too many memories to comment on, but highly recommend a stay at Ballymaole House

Room Tip: Grey Room, Castle Room overlooking park, Patchwork Room, all in original house, and even the Gatekee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagerVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank for your review , we are delighted your return visit lived up to your memories - we are delighted you enjoyed our Traditional Sunday Buffet Dinner .
Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We took my Mum to Ballymaloe House for her 60th birthday and stayed one night. She absolutely loved it, which made it worth the price (€650 for 3 people in 2 rooms, with dinner, wine, bed and breakfast). The house itself is lovely and very well presented, with some modern comforts while maintaining old world charm. The lounge room is a lovely spot to relax and enjoy the views or the open fire, or chat to other guests. We were given rooms in the courtyard, and while our room was large with a lounge area and separate dressing room, my Mum was in the Honeysuckle room which was gorgeous and slightly more modern bathroom. These courtyard rooms each had their own conservatory, which was a lovely spot to relax as well. We also had a sticky beak at the rooms in the main house, which are a bit smaller and not all have great views, but all looked very comfortable and had the advantage of being in the main house. No wifi except for the main house, and no tea/coffee in the rooms (although I'm sure we could have called for some). The grounds and gardens are lovely and great fun to go walking and exploring, and there is lots to see and do in the local area. The food wasn't innovative or spectacular, but the home grown organic produce was lovely and so suited simple cooking. There was certainly a plentiful supply, with a five course dinner and a delicious breakfast buffet. We would certainly return to Ballymaloe house for future special occasions!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments we are so glad your mother enjoyed her birthday - we are alwys happy to put a tea tray in our rooms on request , we will make this information more available to our guests following your suggestion

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-wye
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I'll start by saying the two things that stop Ballymaloe absolutely perfect. We missed having tea/coffee facilities in the room as we both like a drink first thing in the morning, And, although the food was very good, we felt it was a little expensive.

That said we had a wonderful stay, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us; the service at both breakfast time (and oh how we miss those breakfasts - wonderful!) and dinner was excellent. Our room overlooked the gardens at the back and although our visit was in September we were still able to make use of the small patio on a number of occasions.

The Saturday night sing-song in the lounge coincided with a wedding party, and at first we felt a little as if we were intruding, until the bride's father got chatting to us and pointed out the bride and other members of his family to us; the following morning the bride's mother came and introduced herself - what a lovely family!

Going back to the sing-song, we couldn't believe what a wealth of talent there was in one room each time someone rose to the challenge: "Do we have a singer?" My husband and I agreed that it was one of the most entertaining evenings we'd had in a long while. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already talking about coming back to Ballymaloe next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard room for the first night and then moved to a garden room - both were very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks , so glad to hear you are coming back - please advise request a tea making facility in your room , we wil be glad to organise that.

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
721 reviews
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,421 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
405 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymaloe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Property: Ballymaloe House Hotel
Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Ballymaloe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing