We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballymaloe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballymaloe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in Ballymaloe for the weekend over Easter. The house is very nice, but could do with a bit of maintenance. We had 'The Rose Room' and it was really pretty! The atmosphere was lovely and the staff were all very pleasant. The dinner was excellent, and our waitress was lovely! The breakfast was nice, but some fruit would have been nice as it was really only bread, cereal, full Irish breakfast and fish. The cafe at the end of the shop is nice, but it is really only for very light lunches and sweet things (which were lovely!). I would definitely go back to Ballymaloe House, and it was a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the feed back especially on breakfast - we assume you mean fresh fruit not our fruit compotes and fruit salad ,

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    64
    40
    14
    14
See reviews for
83
213
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just back from a super 2 night break in Ballymaloe. It is everything that one could expect from a country house and working farm - comfortable, well furnished and a little quirky in a nice way. We had a garden level room with plenty of space and a little terrace. Didn't miss the lack of TV in the slightest but you can ask for one if you wish. The staff are a delight and go out of their way to look after their guests very well indeed. The food is the highlight of any stay. Breakfast is top notch with plenty of choice and dinner a relaxed affair served over the course of the evening - no rush, no need to book a particular time, just turn up and enjoy. The food is fresh, local, top quality and full of flavor - the only difficulty is choosing from the many delicious choices on the menu. There are a number of rooms to enjoy a drink or read a paper. The only slight quibble was that a lunch party commandeered a large part of the main lounge for practically the whole afternoon one day (including whilst dining) by putting clothes, kids toys and baby equipment across sofas which we found a little off-putting. However, it was just one of those things I suspect and we retreated to our own comfortable room with its own squishy sofa with a drink instead. Would certainly recommend this lovely hotel and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a lovely little terrace and bird feeder and attracted some lovely little birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalshDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you , so sorry to hear you were pushed out of Drawing Room - we do our best to avoid that situation .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at Ballymaloe. Had the most relaxing 24 hours, just wish it had been longer. Lovely old-world surroundings, beautiful food, really friendly staff. Our room was on the ground floor, facing the gardens at the back of the house, complete with bird feeders on our little patio. Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you , we love the photo taken on the Ballycotton Cliff Walk

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Courtyard room with our 2 dogs (they sleep in the small conservatory attached to the room) and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom with powerful shower and separate bath. We didn't miss not having a TV! The only thing we found was that early morning deliveries disturbed us (the kitchen is just across the courtyard) but we're early risers anyway - something you might want to consider if you're not.
The food is incredible, SO fresh and simply but beautifully prepared, and always plenty of it. If you require "seconds" of anything, it magically appears - you will not go hungry! Breakfasts were delicious and included homemade butter and yoghurt. The whole emphasis is on using the freshest food available and it IS simply prepared mostly, but all the better for it in our opinion. If you want "titivated" Michelin star pretty food, this probably isn't the place for you.
The grounds are lovely, plenty of places to walk. The pool is only solar heated I believe - I did try it but it was pretty chilly!
If you get the chance, one of the evening talks at the cookery school is well worth attending, very interesting and informative.
There was a corporate group staying one evening and they rather took over the drawing room after dinner.
Overall, a great stay and we'd love to visit again when we're in Ireland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you - we love feed back from pet lovers !

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

No TV in the room, just a library of beautiful books scattered around the house. As expected the food was just glorious, home made bread, butter, yogurt. Locally produced eggs and meat Friendly service, including the founder who was doing a bit of tidying late at night. We had dinner and breakfast and could not fault any element of either meal. Who needs a spa when there are hundreds of acres to walk and kitchen gardens to explore? Just Olde Worlde Style and elegance that is missing from so many other places

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and myself have just spent two very relaxing days in Ballymaloe. The house is beautifully maintained and elegantly decorated. We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile and a few pleasantries.
The house itself is more like an upmarket B & B rather than a hotel and as such some facilities one would normally find in a hotel are missing, however that is a plus especially if one is trying to get away for a few days peace and quiet from the mad world.
Ballymaloe deserves great credit for the support, when possible, of local suppliers and praise is due to their commitment to the environment. Speaking to one member of staff, we were informed that she had worked for the Allen family in Ballymaloe for 45 years and she also said that (from memory) another 15 members of the original staff were still employed.
Our room was comfortable and adequate for our needs, the bathroom was also sufficient. None of the rooms have a TV but I understand there are a number that can be supplied if requested. The public rooms are also very comfortable and relaxing is not a problem in any of them. Books, newspapers and CDs are plentiful and there are also a number of board games to pass away the time.
Although children are welcome I find it hard to believe that Ballymaloe would excite them, to me it is more of a place for adults to have a quiet time to themselves.
On the down side the food was disappointing, while much of the produce was fresh, attractive and tasty it was nothing out of the ordinary, we were expecting something special having heard so much about Ballymaloe, unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations. Breakfast in particular was a let-down as it was basically a typical Irish “cooked” breakfast with very little added apart from some fresh fruit and juices, although the fresh bread was delicious.
Overall my assessment would be that Ballymaloe is a great place to relax but if you are looking for something very special on the food front, perhaps it would be safer to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAELIRELAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blessington, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at Ballymaloe over the last 25 years and have seen this wonderful place develop with style. We had not been able to return for the last three years until last weekend to experience the welcome and wonderful food again. Congrats to Hazel and her team and Rachael on reception who all contributed to make this another memorable visit. The food was excellent, the fish stunning. If you have never visited this place you must once in your lifetime.

Room Tip: The main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymaloe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Property: Ballymaloe House Hotel
Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ballymaloe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing