We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow barleycove has got a huge makeover”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goleen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barleycove Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goleen
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Full credit to the staff at barleycove, hotel has been transformed, new decor and the food is fantastic, superbly presented, tasty and great value. All head to barleycove for a modern friendly experience with a loacation that cant be beaten.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank paulahynes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Came for dinner on bank holiday Sunday in June. The place was absolutely packed out the doors! Knowing that every place in the area would also be busy decided to wait.

The staff was running but still smiling! I had the fish and chips (Definately fresh, not frozen) and my friend had chicken gougons (also fresh!). Definately worth the wait.

Will be back many times this summer!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sherrigoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Have been visiting Barleycove for just over 23 years now, and I always wonder why there was never a proper job done of managing this hotel. Despite the good reviews of the place I think it is just so hit and miss.
We went for lunch last summer and it took nearly 2 hours for 5 lunches which were just not up to standard. Some of the food can be good but the place is not clean (I am not commenting on the kitchen because I don’t know what that is like, Im sure it’s fine, just the restaurant area). There is always a lingering smell of stale food. People say off to the hotel for dinner, and its such a shame the reviews are always the same ‘the jokey tone of…ah you know yourself it was grand’. With the amount of people in Crookhaven and holiday homes this place should be jointed every night, and I think that management need to take more seriously the fact it is not. The fish is frozen………………..ENOUGH SAID.
The staff are grossly untrained and seem to spend the nights having a good time, nothing wrong with that... it just doesn’t make for good service the next day! The possibilities with this hotel are just endless and I mean ENDLESS....The place has gone shabby including the bedrooms which are just not clean. All it needs is a spruce up, some good staff or strict rules! And to be run like a business as opposed to a holiday camp for the staff.

It really has the potential to be Irelands greatest gem and could become one of the most renowned hotels in the country solely down to its location and spectacular views.......It should be booked out for weddings and events 365 but sadly this is not the case and will never be unless it is looked after and run properly. I do believe the guys running it have the ability however it is just not being put into play.

Maybe this year will be different and it will be run like it should be. I live in hope.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katie8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thank you to hotel managers Mark Daunt and Sean Madden. We dreamed of a cherished, seaside, civil wedding surrounded by our family and friends, in a welcoming, beautifully located hotel and that's exactly what Mark and Sean provided us with, at the Barleycove Beach Hotel. Having previously stayed at the hotel from time to time, we trusted that we could invite our guests to a wedding here and know that they would be well looked after. As well as arranging the sun to shine for us all week long :) , they and their friendly, professional team of staff offered us and all our guests, a warm welcome, delicious meals along with luxuriant, clean and comfortable accommodation. There is something here for everyone. The hotel is nestled in spectacular landscape where the ocean meets the mountains, on Mizen Head. It's gorgeous location is matched in the hotel decor and the accommodation, hotel rooms and apartments, overlook this stunning vista. We said "I do" here and it was the greatest of all days.

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy because the accommodation is second to none for comfort and cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fidelma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have stayed here a few times over the last few years. It has always been a very welcoming and friendly place to stay. It is a small hotel(room wise) - no leisure facility or swimming pool but if you are not into that and prefere the outdoors it is a great place to explore the beautiful surrounding area. The restaurant seems to get better every year.(Eat early in the evening or after the family rush for a more relaxing meal without kids). We had beautiful a beautiful steak and Monks as a main and could not fault the meal. Service was especially good and even the new staff seemed to know us by name after the first day.

The rooms are nice and clean - with one of the best views you will get anywhere. Only downside is the bed is not a kingsize bed but I suppose for €35 per head per night this is still really good value for money. It is not a 5 star but I would prefere to stay here anyday just for the welcoming feeling we got from everyone. Thank you again Barleycove!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Why did I not take notice of the following review!!!! We can echo every single thing they said, from the corridors to the room and the bathroom tiles etc etc etc. We thought we could manage it for the 2 nights we booked in for but having had a meal in the 'Restaurant' and using the toilets at the reception, I could not stay another night. The place was "Very Dirty" such a pity as it is a lovely location. The staff were friendly especially the manager. We did not complain but just cancelled the second night. So if like us you are looking for a relaxing break away please take note and go somewhere else as it is not worth the drive and it spoiled our trip. We will never go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank katandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

On arrival the place looked lovely. But what a disapointment. The reception was closed so we entered the bar to check in. The manager was the first person we met, and he said we should check in with him. Then the man went away and we stood left waiting not knowing what he was up to. Another man from the staff asked if he could help us. We said we were waiting to check in - and he told us that he had our key. Then this feeling of "why did we book here" entered our minds. And it stayed that way!
We got our key and went to the room through dark dirty corridors were the mould make large black marks on the walls.
The room had an excellent view over the ocean - the only positive thing about it. Dead flies on the floor. Spider webs in windows, on walls and in the ceiling. The room was cold and damp. The bathroom was even colder and very damp with no option to heat it. On the bathroom floor there were those centipedes you find in damp rooms.
The room was supposed to be heated - and you should be able to regulate that your self. After asking the manager to turn on the heat, it came on for a little hour. But the heating did not work in the hotel - and with a cold damp and dirty room it was no pleasure staying there. The bead was small and not good to sleep in.
And worst of all: The room has not been properly cleaned for a long time. Dust and dirt was lying along every list in the room. As in the bathroom where the tiles were about to fall off the wall. We were afraid to touch them - what would we find behind?
The restaurant was the only place to eat. The dinner was good apart from some old carrots and string beans. But the tabels and chairs were dirty. So was the cutlery. The floor was so sticky and full of food leftovers that it really was unpleasent to even be there. The staff was very untrained.
We were supposed to stay there 2 nights, but left after 1 - of course. If you run a chabby hotel you should at least clean it and keep your service up to date.
Since the hotel has the best placement near the sea ever seen, it is so sad that it do not live up to even the lowest standard. Will never go there again.

Room Tip: Do not live up to the lowest standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank altopptatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleen
19.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,213 reviews
13.6 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
210 reviews
22.4 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
21.6 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
523 reviews
19.0 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barleycove Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barleycove Beach Hotel

Address: Co. Cork | near Mizen Head, Goleen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Goleen
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goleen
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barley Cove Beach Hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment along with new construction of our 120 seat function room.Nearby, there's pony trekking, bird watching and sea angling and the spectacular local scenery includes the 400-foot cliffs of Mizen Head, only 4 km from the hotel. Barleycove Beach Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore the dramatic coastline of West Cork. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barleycove Beach Goleen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing