We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a bed and breakfast.”
Review of The Heron's Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goleen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Heron's Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Goleen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and can easily say it is probably the best Bed and Breakfast/ small guesthouse we have stayed in in Ireland. The room was very clean and comfortable, with lovely bed linen and towels. There was a good selection of tea and coffee and we were really impressed to see the efforts made to recycle waste.

The breakfast is really great and the restaurant serves really good locally sourced food. The view from the restaurant and rooms is of the harbor and it is so quiet and peaceful, a perfect place to unwind. With beautiful Barleycove beach and Mizen Head just a short drive this is a quaint and quiet area of West Cork off the beaten track and away from tourist gift shops!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We slept one night in this B&B, but it was a real treat. Beautiful view from our room over the harbour (we even saw a fox trying to catch his meal when the tide was out). The room itself was nice, but not really special. Good bathroom, although showering in a bathtub is not our favourite. Dinner was very good, but breakfast was really great!
The after-dinner stroll along the harbour was good advice by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for harbourview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We recently stayed a Saturday night at Heron's Cove. Dinner bed and breakfast was 55 euros a head their off season weekend bargain rate, but the quality of the food, great service warm welcome were worth much much more. The hotel is set in a beautiful harbour close to lots of natural beauty. We had come from a walk around Mizen Head. The weather was dull, but dry and free of any wind. The rooms were simple but functioned in an excellent way. Our dinner was superb. I ate smoked sprats, fillet of lamb, others ate hake or steak. Everyone really rated the grub. The wine list is extensive and the service was very attentive. We drank excellent Sancerre and South African Cabernet Sauvignon. After dinner we enjoyed late night live music and dancing in a local bar 5 minutes’ walk away. Be careful the live music is only on certain weekends. Breakfast the next day was a huge Irish fried blow out – two sorts of black pudding, 2 eggs, hash browns, mushrooms, fried tomatoes, sausages and I have forgotten something. It was served with fresh brewed coffee and Irish wheaten bread to die for. We left with a jute bag of local goodies. We will come back for a weekend of walking before summer comes

Room Tip: Ask for ones with a balcony, ours was the only one without
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beethoven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had often dined in this lovely restaurant but this was our first overnight stay and was a treat.
The ground floor is taken over by the dining room overlooking an inlet - best at full tide.
Each member of staff was courteous and friendly. When ordering do get the full detail of your dish as I was disappointed that my crab claws were cold and still fully encased in their shells. Hard work!
The bedrooms are adequate and the view varies with each room. I disliked the rubber backed mattress protecters and find all cotton more comfortable. Otherwise no complaints.
The Irish breakfasts were cheerfully served and set us up for the day to explore gorgeous Barleycove, Mizen Head and Crookhaven.
We hope to return. Many thanks to Sue for the goody bag as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had called to say we would be late and were asked if we wanted the kitchen to remain open ...they normally close at 9 I think but they said they would wait for us. We told them not to bother. When we did arrive we were shown to a lovely large room, number 4, and then invited down to the small lounge to join other guests if we wished. So we joined the others, ordered a glass of house red (yummy!) and enjoyed the fire and some interesting conversation.

Breakfast was the best.....and the brown bread ( one of my favorites anyway) was especially good. It is relaxing to sit over coffee and watch the heron in the cove hunt for his breakfast while the fishing boats bobble around on the tide.

Later after a long day out doing the touristy things we joined the "night before gang" for dinner. Hubby and I shared smoked salmon on brown bread as a starter, he had fish in cream and white wine as his entrée and I had baked salmon for mine and I ended my meal with Sticky Toffee pudding. Then all six of us sat around until midnight talking and laughing as if we had known one another for eons.

Breakfast again was very nice...I had a cheese and fruit plate and oatmeal just to be different.

All in all the place was first rate, from the room to the staff to the food to the views! And I asked hubby if we would like it as much if we had not met the other couples and hadn't had such a good time with them...and he though for a moment and said he certainly would come back! I would too...the place is enchanting!

Room Tip: ....ask for a room with a cove view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BagsRpacked4Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights n room3, the location is just fab looking over the harbour and great for trips to mizen head and crookhaven, the staff were so friendly and hannah was great advising us what to see in the area. We had dinner on both nights, we were planning to eat out on the second night but the food was just superb the first night we were not dissapointed. The home made desserts were mouth watering. I am a fussy veggie but irene the chef was very accomdating. The wine rack is a novelty idea and there was a great selection of wines, something to suit all budgets. After a great nites sleep the selection at breakfast was very impressive, thanks to all the team, will definately b back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara33Clara33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Based on others' reviews on Tripadvisor, we choose Heron's Cove in Goleen as the third stop on our trip around the coast of Ireland. First off, let me say, we are not difficult people. We have stayed in many B&B's and we realize they all have their little quirks and inconveniences. But this place was a real disappointment. When we arrived, the person there to greet us was not the host but a restaurant staff member who just opened the room door, pointed out the tea pot, and gave us a key. The room décor was worn and dated, the kind you'd find in a '70s motel back in the States. We'd asked for Room #3 which others has reviewed as the best and it did indeed have a view of the tiny harbor - which we saw through dingy windows. But we were tired after a long days' drive and decided to make the best of it. We never did get the television to work. That evening we went downstairs for dinner in the restaurant, reputed to be one of the best in the area. The food was okay, but the servers were not warm or friendly, just "doing their job." Once again, we are not people who expect a lot, but a smile would have been nice.
We had reserved two nights at the this place, but we left the next day, forfeiting our second-night voucher. It was worth leaving behind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron's Cove

Address: The Harbour | Goleen, West Cork, Goleen, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Goleen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goleen
Price Range: $145 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron's Cove B&B and Restaurant, Goleen, West Cork has been presented with the AA Hospitality Award Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012-13 for Ireland, AA1 Rosette for culinary excellence and AA Breakfast Award. Near Mizen Head, Ireland's most southwesterly point. 5 cosy comfortable en-suite bedrooms (4 sea view, 4 shower, 1 shower/bath) with DD TV, Tea/Coffee tray, Mini HiFi & Electric Blanket. Failte Ireland 4 stars, B&B Ireland, AA ****. Seaside Restaurant serving best local produce. Friendly local staff. Member: RAI, BIM Seafood Circle, Eurotoques, Slow Food. Recommended: AA, Lonely Planet, Lets Go, Frommers, Fodors, Alastair Sawday's, Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing