We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best B and B stay in Ireland”
Review of Fergus View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corofin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fergus View
Ranked #1 of 6 Corofin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a stroke of luck we had last September when, traveling with another couple, we called Fergus View with 24 hours' notice and found two vacant rooms. The rooms were small but immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast was gourmet-level with rare cheeses and homemade jams. The peat fire crackling in the living room fireplace was warm and and welcoming. Best of all was the proximity to the Burran and our hosts' eagerness to help us enjoy this location which they so love. The Burran turned out to be our favorite place in Ireland. (Rick Steves is way too focused on Dingle!) It is topographically and geologically striking, and our host Declan equipped us with maps and other material to help us enjoy the archaeological and historical sites to be found there. If we're lucky enough to return to Ireland, we'll be back at Fergus View!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariocaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Three of us stayed here (1 double, 1 single) for 4 nights in late June, 2013. The B&B is extremely comfortable and cozy. If you are a large person, the bathrooms may be a bit of a squeeze. Other than that, there is nothing bad and much good to say about Fergus View. It is an older house and so some of the clearances are a little tight, but that is part of the interest and ambience of the house. The rooms are also a little small but very comfortable and spotless, with wonderful beds and great little touches without being cluttered. Tea by the fire in the parlor with conversation or their great selection of books was a highlight. The setting is great—close to lots of places of interest (the wonderful Burren, Dysert o’Dea, Corofin) but more or less out in the country, quiet with beautiful views and close-in vegetable and flower gardens, and right near the moody old ruin of the Kilnaboy church. It was beautiful weather the day we arrived (late in the day), and Mary immediately directed us to a great walk nearby—good thing, because the rest of the time was more or less rainy. But the suggestions that Mary and Declan made for those days were wonderful—places that were perhaps even better when visited in rain and mist but where you could get out of the rain as needed. They really, really know and love the area, and it shows. Mary and Declan are truly wonderful hosts.
And then there are the breakfasts. Varied, elegant, using ingredients right from their garden as much as possible, and so, so tasty—the fry is there, to be sure (and very good), but also crepes and lighter fare, all outstanding and beautifully presented. Just the breakfasts alone would make Fergus View the place to stay.
We only hope that we have a chance to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Mary and Declan were very gracious to open their property for us (we stayed off season). The area was lovely and provided so many photo opportunities. This is a fantastic location for visiting the Cliffs of Moher, Poulnabrone, and Ennis. Our room had more beds than we needed, could hold 2 adults and 2 children easily. A very comfortable bed and plenty of space. There is wifi available in the sitting room downstairs. In the evening, our hosts spent time in the sitting room sharing stories by the fire. Such an unexpected memorable part of our visit.

The breakfast menu selection was fabulous, and very delicious. You will be very satisfied staying here for your County Clare adventures.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Mary's food was the freshest and best we had the three weeks we were in Ireland! She and Declan were some of the best hosts. Just ask what to see in the area and you will discover much in what seems like a "between" place. Cool graves, perfume factory and an unexpected beauty of the Burren...

Their place was a wonderful oasis between more well known locations and well worth the stay. We wish we had stayed days longer to just soak in their hospitality and the area.

Room Tip: Doubt there is a worse or better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewLife38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staying at Fergus View with the Kellehers was a true highlight of the trip that my mother and I took this summer. We were greeted warmly and given wonderful tips about what to do and see in the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with attention to detail. The food, as every reviewer mentions, is fabulous - freshly made, much of it from the garden on the grounds. The location is beautiful and convenient. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKeenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

When I arrived, Mary was out in her beautiful garden among the towering sunflowers, pruning back marigolds among bunches of lavender, rosemary and all kinds of late summer flowers and herbs. The hothouse was full of thriving, fruiting cherry tomato plants which you'll find on your 5 star, world class breakfast in the morning! The breakfast menu is just marvelous - some of the offerings are: homemade yogurt and muesli, fresh squeezed juice, fruit salad, home baked scones and bread, porridge, crepes, Irish breakfast,with plates often garnished with a sprig of herb or a dash of chive. And of course, piping hot tea and french press coffee.
My single room was impeccably clean and fresh, pleasant and comfortable. Great shower - hot water on demand. A wonderful location for exploring the western Burren, loaded with excellent trails and hikes.
Best to have a car to get around as it is a bit remote but that is a great part of the charm, being out in the country. Oh and it's right across the road from the old Kilnaboy church ruin.
Fabulous value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfreeland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Mary and Declan are great hosts who genuinely make you feel very welcome. The accommodation is great as are the breakfasts. We would highly recommend Fergus View to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fergus View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fergus View

Address: Kilnaboy, Corofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Corofin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Corofin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing