We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch used to be GREAT there” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Bagenal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lord Bagenal Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighlinbridge
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch used to be GREAT there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

As a tourist coming to Ireland on a regular basis, The Lord Bagenal used to be GREAT in 2003 but another visit in 2009 has proved it to be very expensive in every way. We went for
evening Dinner there in May 2009 and had to walk out. Gone was the smorgasboard. It had been replaced by a very expensive A La Carte. At the time the Euro was high and it was
unbelievable in price. Seems like the same story all over Ireland ..doesent it?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank cyrilstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    62
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
87
75
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbeyleix, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We have stayed in many hotels, both in Ireland and abroad. But the Lord Bagenal beat them all hands down.
We stayed for 2 nights attending our daughters wedding. It was fantastic!!!! I did not hear a single complaint from any of the guests. In fact everyone was full of praise for the hotel and staff.
The hotel is a gem, but what makes it really special is James and his staff, I cannot praise them enough.
If you like an hotel with the personal touch, where you feel like one of the family, the Lord Bagenal is the place for you.
Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kavpj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkehoe, Owner at The Lord Bagenal Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Dear kavpj2
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm very pleased you and all the guests had a great experience with us here at The Lord Bagenal at your daughters Wedding Reception. It's great to hear such good feedback as we try to make the whole Wedding experience a fantastic day to remember not only for the bride and groom but also for those attending. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lord Bagenal in the future.
Kind Regards
James Kehoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We had our wedding reception at the Lord Bangenal, and all I can say is that it was absolutely perfect. From organisation to food, service and accommodation, we found the staff, facilities and location amazing.

The hotel itself is set right on the river, with a huge decked balcony overlooking the tiny marina and old stone bridge. So picturesque. The hotel is very modern, a very grand marble lobby area and huge chandeliers perfectly suited our champagne and canapés. The original old pub and restaurant is joined directly to the hotel, giving it a real traditional feel too, and easy escape for a quick drink.
There is also an indoor padded jungle gym/play area for kids. With our wedding running over the full weekend, everyone was always entertained, its a great little village, good local pubs, beautiful walking tracks along the river, even though the kids spent all their time in the Lord Bagenals play area.

While planning the day, we had considered other venues, but all were remote estates, away from everything. The last thing we wanted was late night transport issues or our guests to feel isolated or trapped with nothing really to do.

The Lord Bagenal is family run, both James and Paddy were really accommodating and flexible with all our requirements. We had around 150 people and the service was flawless. The food came very efficiently, the mains were piping hot and the portions were enough to fill our hungriest guests (and waiters came around tables with seconds). Everyone remarked on the high quality of food, which to us is the make or break of a successful wedding. We stayed two nights in the honeymoon suite, and although we spent very little time in the room, we loved it. We had a lot of guests (many international) staying in the hotel and many commented on the hotel and perfect setting. We highly recommend this hotel for a wedding reception.

We look back on that weekend so fondly because it really was flawless and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone, and that is thanks to the Lord Bagenal

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bc121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkehoe, Owner at The Lord Bagenal Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear bc121
Thank you for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your wedding reception held here at The Lord Bagenal Hotel. It's great to get such positive feedback as both myself and all the staff understand how important your wedding day is and make it our priority to ensure you have a relaxed, exciting and sucessful day to remember.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lord Bagenal in the near future.
With Best Wishes
James Kehoe
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My friend and I arrived at the hotel at 11 am on a Saturday; we just wanted coffee.
We went into the bar/restaurant and sat down. Our order of coffee for two and a scone was taken and after a twenty-minute wait, was finally served up.
The coffee was disappointing and the scone was stuck to a paper serviette, having been overheated in a microwave oven, thus making it inedible.
We did not stay long.
Having paid for the coffee only; there was no apology for the paper-lined scone, we both headed for the loos.
My friend found the Ladies strewn with paper and generally untidy, while the Gents was filthy and had obviously not been either inspected or cleaned since the day before. Like the Ladies, it was littered with tioilet paper. There was a half-full glass on one of the basins and one of the two WCs was covered with vomit. Again it was obvious that nobody had bothered to check or clean up since the day before.
My friend complained to the receptionist, who told her that they were short of a cleaner that day.
Dave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkehoe, Owner at The Lord Bagenal Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Dear Dave186605

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to the Lord Bagenal.
We pride ourselves on being the #1 Hotel in the area so were very concerned about your complaint.
I have checked with the staff on the day in question and although we were indeed down a member of staff in the morning the night staff have a responsibility to ensure the public areas are cleaned before they go off duty. I have addressed this issue with them.
We apologise for your unsatisfactory visit to the Lord Bagenal and hope that you return and experience all The Lord Bagenal is renowned for.
Thank you again for your comments and if you wish to discuss this matter with me further you can call the Hotel and leave your number at reception and I will return your call immediately.
Kind Regards
James Kehoe
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Although we had been driving from Waterford to Dublin for the last number of years we had not heard of this hotel. Along with 4 friends the 6 of us decided on a quick break not far from Waterford. Our friends booked this hotel and it was just a fabulous find.
This hotel has very modern and well furnished bedrooms. The best bit is that it adjoins a traditional Pub that serves delicious food.
The staff were really nice and could not have been more relaxed.
We enjoyed our visit very much and are now considering this as our daughters wedding hotel for next summer.
The only reservation we had is that there is no leisure centre but it certainly is the perfect spot for a breakaway in peace and quiet.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liamdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband took me on a mystery trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. I had no idea where I was going. On a beautiful summers day we arrived at the Lord Bagenal Hotel near Carlow.
The hotel sits right on the river with a marina choc a bloc full of boats and the setting was perfect for a summer evening.
Our bedroom was absolutely fabulous with a big 4 poster bed which seemed to overhang the river. Downstairs we saw the art room which was full of what looked like very expensive paintings. To celebrate our anniversary we ate in the hotel restaurant and it could not have been better. The staff and (we presume) the owner James could not have done more to welcome us. To cap it all, when someone told them it was a special treat we were surprised by a big bottle of champagne with our meal.
We meant to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying 3.
This is a real hidden gem and they really made my very special occasion a memorable visit. Thank you so much Susannah McMahon

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susannahmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed in the Lord Bagenal Inn recently with a very large group of extended family and was very disappointed with both the room I was allocated and the quality of food we received for our breakfast. Everyone wAs extremely disappointed with there breakfast, alot of people couldn't eat it and that is very unusual in my family.
As I was attending a wedding there I saw the rooms in both the new and old part of the hotel and there is a world of difference in the quality, although the price is the same. I would also say €110 for a double room in any hotel in Ireland would need to be extremely luxurious and the Lord Bagenal most certainly is not. Its over priced and if your room is in the old part , I would recommend ringing ahead and asking for a room in the new part, if one is not available, insist on a price reduction. Definite ripe off Ireland mentalitly still at work at this hotel.
The wedding reception itself was excellent and the quality of the wedding meal was very good.
The staff who are overworked were extremely efficent and very friendly.
I have stayed at lots of hotels in Ireland and this one is not really up to standard - very disappointed indeed

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shopping-spraoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkehoe, Owner at The Lord Bagenal Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
Dear ‘Shopping –Spraoi’
Thank you sincerely for your feedback on Trip Advisor

As the No.1 hotel in our area as rated by Trip Advisor, we are always eager to do better, eager to improve and, most of all, keen to keep our guests happy.

Naturally, your complaint, though rare at The lord Bagenal, is of deep concern to us and again our thanks for taking the time to report your concerns.
Since you posted your note on Trip Advisor we have gone to great lengths to review all our daily log and notes to trace your complaint.
We have also interviewed all of our staff who were on duty that day and night in an effort to trace your complaint and concerns.
Unfortunately we cannot find any complaint, either verbal or written, and we really would like the opportunity to rectify and address your concerns.

Again, your Trip Advisor tag of ‘Shopping-Spraoi’ unfortunately does not allow us to know who you are so we can only respond to you through Trip Advisor.

We would very much like to have connected with you directly to discuss your concerns and to remedy your experience.

Whilst we appreciate your desire to make an anonymous post on Trip Advisor you might feel more comfortable discussing the matter directly with me which will allow us the opportunity to resolve your unease.

Perhaps you would be kind enough to call me direct at your convenience? Or, leave a number where we can reach you?

I have instructed all of my staff to make sure I am immediately contacted in the event of your call.
Also, if you wish to remain anonymous then please feel free to call and say that you are calling in connection with Trip Advisor. Again, I have informed all my staff to expect your call.

Finally, we are sincerely sorry for any upset that you may have endured and we would really welcome the opportunity to address your concerns .

We do hope you will call us so that we can alleviate your unease and rectify the situation which we would be delighted to do.

With Best Wishes,

James Keogh
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighlinbridge
5.5 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.6 mi away
Step House Hotel
Step House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Borris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
7.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
11.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
11.5 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Bagenal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Bagenal Inn

Property: The Lord Bagenal Inn
Address: Main Street, Leighlinbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Leighlinbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighlinbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Bagenal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lord Bagenal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Bagenal Inn Leighlinbridge, County Carlow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing