We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Thumbs Up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Bagenal Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighlinbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Lord Bagenal inn for two nights, whilst attending a wedding at the hotel. I was extremely impressed with the hotel. The room was lovely, the bathroom fantatstic and the staff really went out of their way to make us feel at home.
Best of all was the breakfast - all the usual fruit/cereal/pastries PLUS you can order excatly what you want from the friendly waitress, all arrived perfectly cooked.

I found the hotel very peaceful and quiet. I left the wedding early-ish and even though I knew the party was still in full maximum volume swing downstairs - I couldn't hear a peep.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2008

This is a very nice hotel. The views over the river were terrific. Unfortunately we were in room over the smoking terrace which meant we had a lot of noise until 3.30am. In fairness to the night porter he did his best and the owner/manager did apologise the next morning.
The breakfast was very good and the room was a nice size and very clean.
All the staff were friendly and the hotel itself was very welcoming

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband & I have just enjoyed a 3 night stay in this hotel.

We had a fantastic room in the hotel, quiet & so comfortable. We had the best bathroom with marble & a stand alone roll top bath which was so relaxing especially with the great toiletries provided. The bed was extremely comfortable.

while our room didn't have a fantastic view - we looked out over a flat roof top & towards the bridge near by we did have a patio door we could open (this did need to be looked at as it didn't close correctly but they noted that)

We got little shortbread chocolate chip cookies every day on the tea tray which were a nice treat.

The main down side i would say to the hotel is that while the lobby & riverside restaurant (only open for lunch & wed - sunday for dinner)& function room look out onto the river & patio area - the main restaurant & bar are darker & very old & feel a bit pokey especially the bar. This is because it is the old section of the Lord Bagenal & hasn't been renovated.

The staff are friendly & helpful if a little bit slow serving breakfast.

They also have a big family of ducks that are beside the carpark on the slipway to the river & they love any bread scraps that come
their way.

While the bar/restaurant do have their down side the food was good & the room was fantastic & they seemed to be doing a brisk trade in food. We would go back to stay there again but we didn't find a lot to do in Carlow.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maglinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed at the Lord Bagenal recently and had a most relaxing weekend break . The welcome at reception was warm and the rooms ,in the newer part of the building very spacious,comfortable and with a nice view of the Barrow. There are many dining options here with two restautants and an excellent bar menu. We ate in the bar on our first night and in the Lord Bagenal restaurant the second night -both were very good and we would return to try the Waterfront.Best of all however was the breakfast.I wrote ahead informing the hotel of special dietary needs and I was impressed at how well this request was meet, thank you Lisa and all the staff. This is a lovely location for a quiet weekend break.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank topcattEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at this inn during a recent family trip to Ireland. Our best hotel experience by far was with this awesome place. The hotel was ultra-luxurious and the rooms were very high-class and elegant.

The food at the restaurants was good and the hotel-staff very friendly and accomodating.

The waitresses at the two restaurants were a little surly and did not speak english. The waitresses that served us were Polish immigrants and were not very hospitable or friendly. I thought about speaking up at the front-desk but didn't want to ruin my evening with the negativity.

Would definitely stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Spent a weekend at the Lord Bagnal Inn. Rooms were large, well decorated, beautiful linens and everything looked brand new. The food at this hotel is amazing. We didn't get to vist the Waterfront Restaurant but the Lord Bagnal Restaurant and the bar menu were hard to beat. Food was delicious, high quality and reasonably priced. The breakfast was unbelievable. Staff are really nice and friendly, and service is super efficient. The place just has a really great feel to it, you can tell everyone works hard to make your stay enjoyable, and I am still amazed at the quality of the food for the price. Every hotel manager in Ireland should stay here for a weekend to learn how it SHOULD be done!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv2trvlDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We recently attended a wedding at the Lord Bagenal it was really plush, the ball room was really elegant with a great area overlooking the river for smokers with heat lamps. The food was fantastic and the rooms were even more impressive, really comfortable. We will definitely return as the room prices were very good and they have a lovely restaurant which we would love to come back and check out very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TrenchWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighlinbridge
5.5 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
7.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
608 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
9.6 mi away
Step House Hotel
Step House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Borris
443 reviews
16.9 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Bagenal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Bagenal Inn

Address: Main Street, Leighlinbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Leighlinbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighlinbridge
Price Range: $135 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Bagenal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lord Bagenal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Bagenal Inn Leighlinbridge, County Carlow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing