We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service.”
Review of The Estoria - CLOSED

The Estoria
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
2 reviews
“Good food, poor service.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here on a regular basis up until I took ill. However I have since built myself back up and returned, only to find a complete different atmosphere compared to what it used to be when the previous owner was managing it. The food was top notch as I had expected especially the SFC Fillet Burger, juicy and tender chicken coated in a SF spicy crumb, however there is a lot to be said for some manners and personal effectiveness when it comes to managing a business such as this. The manageress was as fake and as sneery as they come, if she was to smile I'd safely say the drinks glasses would crack. Upon my opinion I will not be returning where I don't feel welcome and almost feel that she was looking down her nose on me .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great tasting food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

fantastic food at great prices £15.95 for a three course meal.
great tasting homemade vegetable soup

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurney, Co. Carlow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at the Estoria, Bagenalstown”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a good basic family restaurant with cheerful and friendly service and is also good value. As it is on a street corner you can watch the townsfolk go by as you eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friday afternoon Chicken vol-au-vent - we go nearly every Friday”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautiful sauce, excellent staff, I had the chicken vol-au-vent which was tasty in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank paidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch - we go often”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staff are fantastic, warm and friendly, food was lovely, I had the beef.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank paidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Estoria also viewed

Bagenalstown, County Carlow
Bagenalstown, County Carlow
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing