We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The weather helped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Termonbarry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The weather helped”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Me and the missus stayed for two nights on a Groupon deal end of April when the weather was super. The hotel is situated in a beatuiful spot right beside the lake and there are lovely views from the public areas. I found the furniture and decor quirky for a hotel but certainly to my liking. The food was great as were all the staff. No problems with anything and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fritey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    152
    72
    45
    62
See reviews for
83
300
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had a fabulous 2 nights here , staff are so friendly and welcoming, furniture in the rooms is beautiful and food is tasty and good value. Entertainment both nights which was great . Beautiful views too. Breakfast is from 7 till 11 which means you can have a lie in and everything is so laid back. Thanks a million

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maurethe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Booked on groupon deal... hotel was beautiful, food excellent, staff couldnt do enough for you, very polite, attentive, breakfast was excellent too, nothing was too much trouble for the staff,all staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The views were beautiful, cant fault this hotel in any way, will return for another stay, would recommend this for couples, or even a relaxing stay, for all ages, not far from cavan town, if you like shopping, cant wait to return, this was booked for a girls getaway all four of us loved it,,, thanks to all there especially farrell

Room Tip: There is a room with jazzccui, if you would like this would advise to see if its available, the upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stay here for 2 nights staff were lovely food was beautiful decor was beautiful I would go back 2 this hotel tomorrow Breda farrel Christine & the owner were just lovely couldn't of asked for better lake view from r room will b back Margaret & James from Belfast

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Great value for money from Groupon. Food was amazing and so reasonable. Manageress lacks a bit of customer service skills. When we asked if we could exchange some sterling for euros her blunt reply of "we're not a buero de change you know! " in an unpleasant sarcastic tone left us feeling like naughty school children!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here at the weekend and after reading the other reviews I couldn't wait to get here but... First of all the views are first class which was good but upon check in at the Hotel there was a guest infront of me talking to someone I can only assume who was a receptionist ( I think at this hotel everyone is a jack of all trades) when she had finished her conversation with the girl infront of me she grabbed her cigs and disappeared out a door marked private! I had to call 0 on the phone to get someone back to check me in!

The corridors to the rooms run along between the restaurant and toilets so between the smell of food and urine along with the darkness I was afraid to go any further... I upgraded to the Lakeview room which was nice (due to the views) to be fair and reasonably clean although what I thought was a kingsize bed turned out to be 2 singles pushed together.

We had dinner at the hotel and my partner had steak on the stone which was good value and he enjoyed and I had Lasagne which was just okay. The lady who served us never asked once was anything okay or can I get you anything else. I felt like I was troubling her asking for the likes of vinegar etc. Breakfast the next morning food wise was just ok but the young girl who served us was lovely.

Groupon advertised that an upgrade to a Lakeview room was an additional €10 but upon check out I was told €15?? All in all I am glad I only paid the £39 for B&B and a bottle of wine as I honestly don't think it was worth more than that. I was very disappointed that very few members of staff asked was our meal okay and our stay as I feel this should be a standard regardless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, Co Down
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The meal was wonderful. Excellent hotel if you want to relax and destress right on the waters edge. Lovely views from the restaurant and hotel rooms at the front you can upgrade to a room with a view if you want the bedrooms are spacious and well equipped the beds are big and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
238 reviews
9.7 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
605 reviews
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Property: Lakeside Manor Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing