We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in this great hotel last week. The view from our room of the lake, the great food and the great service from staff who took the time to make you feel at ease and relaxed made our stay one of the most enjoyable hotel breaks ever. We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoncore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 577 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed her for two nights with a friend this weekend and it was an average but boder-line poor experience. The hotel has a very old feel to it, all of the furniture is either extremely old and musty, or completely broken. We stayed in a twin room with a view of the adjoining dual carriage way so the lakeside view was non-existent. The bed that I stayed in was broken so it was sunken in the middle and I am now taking pain medication for my back. (See pictures below). At first we thought the room was very clean but upon further inspection we realised that this was not the case. The glass doors for the shower were so dirty you couldn't see through them, the mirror had not been cleaned from the previous tennants and the classes had also not been cleaned.

Walking through the halls towards our room we were overwhelmed by the strong smell of stale smoke. Thankfully this didn't continue into the rooms. We decided to use the tea making facilities in the room but again we found ourselves having to wash everything before we used it. The towels in the rooms were stained also.

On the first night we went to the bar and had a great laugh, the people were great and the one man band wasn't too bad either. On the second night we just had dinner and, with the exception of the main course, it was very poor quality for money. We paid almost €5 for a Brie starter, it was practically thrown at us by our server Anna May and it was greasy. The cheesecake dessert was clearly pulled from a freezer and wasn't even defrosted by the time we got it. The steak on a stone was amazing but whilst we were eating we had (what I assume to be the manager/owner) leaning over our food pressuring us to give the hotel a good review.

Later that night (around 9pm) we tried to order some room service but we were rudley told that "room service is not served at this ungodly hour"....9pm??? Really??

We went to bed hungry!!

At breakfast this morning we couldn't find a clean table to sit at so we cleaned one ourselves. The waitress acted like she could care less about what we wanted. The dishes and the culinary we were expected to use were very grubby and stained. (See images below)

All in all I would not be rushing back to this hotel anytime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aisling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We just love this hotel. Staff r fab. Food is 2 die 4. Thank u 4 our lovely stay. C yous soon . Thank u 2 all staff they could not do enough. Thank u 2 the chef food is the nicest ever tasted. The hotel atmosphere is so friendly.love the lake and lookin at it from our room.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edwina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

On arrival we were given a room (lake view) that clearly had a very strong smell of stale cigarette smoke & they kindly changed the room. The rooms are big as are the beds but the attention to detail is lacking. Faulty lights, ironing board & TV remote not working etc. Bathroom is clean and newly refurbished. The restaurant upstairs where breakfast is served has a great view. The cooked breakfast is not the best and it was noticeable that a lot of people over the two days left most of their cooked meal. Dried food scraps on the floor also was an indication of a lack of cleaning. Although WiFi is a must for a lot of people these days I can live without it but my partner needed it to check on work emails and could only use the front reception area.
I didn't feel comfortable in the hotel! it could have been the decor which was large old style furniture I can't put my finger on it.
We ate our evening meal in the restaurant 1km up the road which was special!
In the hotels favour the bar (although I didn't go in) seemed to have a good atmosphere and lively conversation. In summer the lake is available for families etc
I did mention the smoke issue on checking out and was given the excuse that "it's difficult to stop people smoking in their rooms" I didn't challenge that except to say that I have not experienced cigarette smoke in hotel rooms for many years so if other hotels can prevent it then I think the management there need to resolve the issue as most people these days don't smoke.
You could also smell cigarette smoke in the entrance lobby and reception
Would I stay there again? given the choice? No.

Room Tip: specify non-smoking room, lake side room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely hotel, had a fantastic view of the lake from our room. We had dinner in the bar and really enjoyed it. We were served at the bar by johnjoe. Hes a credit to the hotel so hard working and attentive! Cannot praise him enough! Thankyou for a great night hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisacoyle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived for a party and didnt get our room until 7.30pm...then about 9.30 we had a look at the room it handnt been cleaned.
The lady at the desk was so rude about and unhelpful.

Its a pity its such a nice location. Food is basic.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just back from a wee groupon deal, Saturday nite, b&b at the Lakeside Manor Hotel.

Very nice location by the lake, staff very friendly, excellent service, food reasonably priced and very good all round value, good 'one man band' in the evening.

Room was spacious, bed comfortable and enjoyable breakfast whilst taking in a nice view of the lake.

Have already arranged my next visit !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheRanger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,374 reviews
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
16.0 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
265 reviews
17.1 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range: $116 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing