We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. From reviews we had expected a great experience. The staff were nice but otherwise it was awful. Burnt chicken at dinner, greasy fry at breakfast, dark water for coffee. Also there was a massive leak onto the bedroom carpet from the shower. Won't be visiting again!(I haven't ever submitted an online review before but I couldn't let this sit)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    150
    70
    41
    59
See reviews for
81
294
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boyle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here on a Group-on deal. There are wonderful views from the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. On arrival at 3.45pm we were given a welcome bottle of wine and shown to our room which we upgraded. It was the honeymoon suite, which was special...a four poster bed, Jacuzzi bath, china cups and saucers. Well worth paying the extra money for .. great breakfast. We would be happy to return to the Lakeside Manor Hotel in the future if another deal was offered.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steeplejack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome. The service was great and there was a happy,lively atmosphere. The food was nice and reasonably priced.The bar had live entertainment which was nice after dinner, with a few beverages. Overall it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and lake view are lovely. Other rooms also nice but its always nice to enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin_merrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My self and husband held our sons 21 birthday in the hotel we had a lot off people who needed to stay over as the had traveled from Dublin and every one off the guests were very happy as they arrived early and had a lovely lunch and a few drinks in the bar and could go for a walk along the peer even tough it was jan when they came back they could sit in front off a big fire or go for a nap in their room and later we had a ball as Farrell and his team made a very special effort for our son we had a ball and the food was outstanding as seconds for people if they wanted.I was so happy with the whole event as it was my first time to celebrate such a big occasion and the Lake Side Manor showed us how to do it in style and on a budget for all involved.

Room Tip: my group off people all had different rooms and no one seemed to complain about them. if you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyview4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent a lovely relaxing week end at this hotel. Right from checking in we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed lovely food and plenty of it! We had intended to try another restaurant on the Saturday night but after Friday's meal we knew that there were lots of other appealing dishes on the menu to try and with the staff being so helpful and friendly we opted to stay in and had another very good meal. As others have said the breakfasts were very generous and we didn't need any lunch! Saturday was so wet that we returned, after sight seeing in Cavan and Virginia, in the early afternoon and bought coffee to drink by the fire while reading the complimentary papers - a kind waitress unexpectedly brought a plate of biscuits!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lovely lakeside view and little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I just returned home today after a very pleasant weekend at the Lakeside Manor Hotel and to say the least I was very happy with my stay there.
It is advertised as a family run hotel and to be true, this is the case, as key members of staff are indeed the family that owns and runs the hotel.
We arrived at the hotel on Friday and, from the off, we were made extremely welcome from every member of staff we encountered.
The Hotel decor itself is old school with rich trappings of mahogany furniture,deep expensive carpeting and bronze statuettes abound throughout the whole Hotel,I was very surprised as It feels like walking through a hotel way above its rating yet at the same time feels homely and welcoming.The bedrooms are large and spotlessly clean and provided tea/coffee making facility and also an ironing board etc which we found useful.There is also a small balcony to step out onto(as far as I can make out)for every room.
The Staff are exceptional and very attentive without intruding.The bar staff seem to have a sixth sense when service is needed and are very pleasant and accommodating.The reception staff even telephoned the local attractions to see if they were open yesterday as it was a terrible day for sightseeing(due to heavy rain) as they did not want me to travel for no reason.

The food in the Hotel is very good and well priced and I would advise to order the" steak on a stone" and the chowder both of which were very tasty.The only fault I could mention is that the Chips were cooked from frozen but there were plenty of other side dishes like champ,lyonnaise potatoes,garlic potatoes,wedges etc available.I pointed that small flaw to the reception and they took it on board.Again the floor staff couldn't do enough for their guests and really pushed the boat out with their service.The breakfast meal is held in the bar/function room area and was,I have to say,one of the nicest breakfasts, I have ever had.It was cooked to perfection with no grease dripping off the food like the larger hotels which hold the food in bain maries as it was cooked to order. Plenty of coffee/tea refills provided again by the attentive and pleasant floor staff.

There is wi-fi available in the reception and in most parts of the bar and daily papers are available free to guests.


In summary I cannot fault the Lakeside Manor.If you want unwind and to be well looked after this is the place you need to go to..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a lovely view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBAOILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked this hotel with a Groupon voucher, paid a little extra to upgrade the room, it was well worth it, the room we had was beautiful. Also included with the voucher was a bottle of wine which we had with our meal in the restaurant/bar. Food was lovely. Staff excellent and genuinely friendly and chatty which is great to see as so many hotels these days employ staff that have no interest in the work they are doing. I would highly recommend the lakeside Manor hotel and we will definitely return soon. Special mention to breda who was working on reception when we were checking out and thanks to all the staff who made or stay a pleasure

Room Tip: Lake view is a must, lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
18.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
16.0 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
695 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,237 reviews
9.7 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Property: Lakeside Manor Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing