We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed for one night in this hotel on a City Deal. One night for 2 people, B&B and bottle of wine inc. Hotel is a really nice family run place. A lively bar, and good food in the restaurant for a low price. Super views from the rooms, over the lake. Would be fab in the summer! Some of the other reviews have mentioned it being old fashioned, but it's not old fashioned as such, that's the style of decor. Everything was very clean and tidy, room was nice and fresh and large, and carpets were spotless (usually the give away!) For the cost of a room per night, even at full price, this is a great deal. A great idea for a one/two night trip down from Dublin, only 1 hour away, and everything in the hotel. Family & staff were very nice too, and created a great atmosphere. Would definitely go back here, recommended!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room for extra €10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanillaicecream6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 582 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

I normally highlight the good stuff and mention the drawbacks briefly...unless a place is truly horrendous...so in this case I will highlight steak on stone...being a real steak fanatic and my man even more so :) we had been looking forward to tasting this (famous at this stage) dish :) We then had it again for dinner the following evening too. If you have it for the first time they will show u what to do :) they basically present u with a hot square stone 400*hot! and 10oz of raw fillet steak. Then u have to cut pieces and cook it to your liking- we both love medium to rare so we simply cut off bit by bit and turned it on the stone for a second and voila! soooooo good...not only is it very nice but also looks fantastic, just look at the pics on tripadvisor- so many pics of the steak there!
now...those flaws- to me the steak compensated the stay but:
far from the town, had to get a cab :/
breakfast was a bit of disaster especially on saturday when the hotel was quiet and it was served in the bar :/not fresh at all, bad variety, and the soda bread they served us could fit a nail in the wall!
uncomfortable beds, very dated decor, it all reeks with fags (thats probably it remembers the time when u could smoke indoors), the towels were clean but...ragged!!in general needs deep cleaning, painting and redecorring.
to sum up just as I said in the subject above- won't go back to the hotel but if I'm back in that part of Ireland, I will deffo go back for lunch :)

Room Tip: it is extra 10 or 20 Euro for a nice view and if u pay attention to such things as window view- do p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ewe1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner just returned today 17th nov. Firstly id like to say to anyone thinking of staying at lakeside manor ignore any of the bad reviews i personally think these people are just complainers who look for problems and make a mountain out of a mole hill , we both found this hotel to be the most relaxing that we have ever stayed at the owners and there family and staff can not do enough to make your stay any better its just simply amazing from start to finish , food was outstanding highly recommend steak on a stone Wow is only word i could use to describe it, breakfast was beautiful we would recommend this hotel to everyone and cnt wait to go back asap

Thank you all who made our 2day break amazing at lakeside manor

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelleys1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for a few days with my family and had the best time ever! The food was amazing and great value for money and the staff and owners can't do enuf to help you and make you feel welcome! I would highly recommend this to anyone as a couple or a family holiday and will defiantly be booking again for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Was there on a groupon deal, and very good value. The rooms were old, but clean. Bathroom was spotless. Decor is from the early 80s which is fine, and the outside could have done with a bit of updating. Staff were friendly and more than helpful. Had meal in bar, which cannot fault, very tasty. However, there was a smell when we arrived in the main reception and up to first floor level. That despite anything else, that is what I remember. It was a pity as that was the only fault.

Room Tip: ask for lake veiw on the first floor. it may be dearer, but is quieter, as hotel on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank gobalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

on a groupon deal for one night. hotel old in style, large rooms and clean. wehad room over looking the lake which was lovely. room had everything we needed. bathroom was spotless only downfall was we had to use shower to fill the bath as the part for bath was broken. hotel could have just been a wee bit warmer but its not a complaint. we will return again thats a cert!!!! oh and staff were very friendly and efficient. well done girls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackie452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel was only 2k from Virginia which was great. On the lake it has great views if you book on the lake side. The hotel was a bit dated but the beds were big and rooms pretty spacious.
Breakfast was a bit of a mess, both mornings it was a long time coming and parts were missing. It was a bit of a trial.

We ate dinner one night and the carvers as excellent value.

Overall the stay was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view..otherwise it's the yard or the road. We got the yard. Not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,404 reviews
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
17.1 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
16 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range: $119 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing