We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Management!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Management!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

stayed for 2 nights, October 4 & 5. The view was incredible and the manager is like Wonder Woman! She was everywhere at once taking care of all the guests. I don't know what she makes but it couldn't be enough! If you are looking for a place to relax with excellent customer service, an incredible view and a beautiful walk, this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisvillelocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    150
    70
    44
    62
See reviews for
81
297
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We found this hotel to be a nice hidden gem. We drove from Dublin and when we arrived we we pleased with what we found. It is a well established and clean hotel. Our first impressions of the staff were very good. They are very helpful and pleasnt to deal with. They are knowledgeable too about their local area.

We asked them what was good in Virginia, and they recommended a good forest walk in Virginia forest and a night out at the Ramor Theatre in town. It so happened that a London performing arts company we on tour, and we went to see their play ''The Importance of being Earnest''. It was as good as a play on the West End!

When we got back to the hotel, we had a good night in the Bar. There was live music, and a great buzz among the audience - we couldnt stop singing and dancing!

Overall, we couldnt have been happier with the nice weekend we had - there was the option to take a boat trip on Lough Ramor (the hotel has it's own jetty, and local angling boats pull up at the jetty upon arrangement).

Would we stay here again?

Definitely, recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake side view room. Worth waking up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had booked an internet offer for two nights and on arrival were offered a free upgrade with 4 poster and whirlpool bath! Had a lovely stay with very obliging and friendly staff. Unbelievable value for money!!

Room Tip: Lovely views from uostairs front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riversiderIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Groupon deal. Really great over nite deal with free bottle of wine. Had read other reviews &they were very true. Great little hotel, very friendly & helpfull. Rooms were nice, overlooking lake with little balcony. Only down side was house keeping.... Our room was fine but other parts of hotel were lacking & not a clean window to look out of which was a shame because the view is fab. Best feature is their fillet streak on a stone!!!!! Omg... To die for. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldieLocks138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hotel is a bit dated but once you get past all that and see whats behind it, there in nothing but Good and Excellant. The Staff were fantastic and made several recommendations... the food was excellant.. especially the Steak on a Stone. Views over the lake were fantastic especially if you can get an upstairs room (numbers 219-231). I would gladly go back again... its about 1hr 40mins from Belfast and about 35 mins from Dublin.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs lakeview.... rooms 219-231
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayboyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently stayed at the Lakeside Manor hotel for 1 night. Room 105 had a nice view, but sheets were a bit itchy and the air conditioning was abit heavy , gave me abit of a headache.
Rooms were dated but adequate.

The carpet in the hotel was abit smelly and needs to be replaced.

Food in the restaurant was nice but given the wrong dinner i ordered so just stuck with it for convience. Staff were abit chaotic at times.

Breakfast was slow and had to be ordered. No menus to choose what you want to eat so disappointing.

Overall was disappointed but it is a 3 star hotel so adequate if you need somewhere to sleep, but not very relaxing and no facilities for hotel users

Toilets in room didnt work properly either

Room Tip: room 105 has a nice view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and myself have just returned from a 2 night stay which we purchased through groupon.
On arrival we were inpressed by the stunning location right on the lough.
Check in was quick and staff were very pleasant. We had been kept a nice 2nd floor room with balcony overlooking the lough. Bathroom was very clean, room was ok. Rooms are very old style which doesnt annoy us at all but on further inspection there were parts of the room that needed attention, bedside lamp didnt work correctly and actually seemed to be 'fizzling' everytime u attempted to turn it on. main light only 4 bulbs worked which meant not much light. cigarette burns on the throw.
On the friday night we ate in the bar, cleanliness was not great, our cutlery had to be changed because of not being washed properly. Meal was just ok. Frozen chips and fish that seemed to be cooked too long. And the cup thart my tea was in was filthy.
Rooms were very noisey, as you could hear every door close all night. People talking etc
Breakfast was ok although nothing really to brag about.
Went a drive to Navan on Sat which has great shops and then we went into Virginia on Sat night for dinner. We ate in the Riverside Steak house which was lovely.
Very little sleep on Sat night and breakfast very average Sun.
The views of the lough are amazing from this hotel, def a good point.
I know that this hotel was 'cheap' through Groupon but we have purchased many deals and none have ever been below standard.
All in all my husband and myself would not be fussy too much but I doubt we would ever return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam28Nireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
16.0 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
9.7 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Property: Lakeside Manor Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing