We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hi all
Would like to throw my dime into the mix for reviewing the Lakeside. I can only compliment the staff, whom always go out of their way to make me feel at home. I really enjoy my stays here and if I have a problem or query I inquire for a solution to a staff member, who will always do everything in their power to resolve an issue. The food is fresh and wholesome and great variety. I had the "Stake on a stone", Great idea, you steak comes on a RED HOT stone (so don't touch) and you cook to your liking, a fun way to eat a meal. The views are incredible and if you are up to it a great walk around the lake after dinner will burn off a few unwanted calories.
What not give it a go and make up your own mind on the Lakeside, well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaphoidDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    152
    72
    45
    62
See reviews for
83
300
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Pleasant, spotlessly clean, spacious room with a lovely view over Lough Ramor - we noticed no noise from the nightclub. The staff were welcoming and hard-working.
Food is average fayre, but there are alternatives nearby if you want something more interesting. Good value, and a good choice if you're looking for a hotel around Virginia. There appeared to be plenty of boating activities and activities for children.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank duisdeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Thanks to everyone, we had a great bank holiday weekend at the Lakeside, we really enjoyed our trip to Cavan. We will definitely go back to the next time were are in the area. Only 50mins on the motorway from Castleknock and to be greeting by those Fantastic views of the lake, staff very friendly, very happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelP054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I travelled at short notice from England to Ireland to attend a family funeral. We did not have time to pre-book hotel accommodation, but found this hotel at 9.00pm, booked in for two nights, and felt it to be our home from home during our two days there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

They took our booking and deposit through Supervalue breaks,but on our arrival at thehotel informed us that we had no booking. The owner was so rude and could not have cared less that she was ruining our weekend.It turned out because they had a wedding in the hotel they bumped us off. Upon showing her thecopy of the booking she did eventually let us stay 1 night. but would not put us up the next day. would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to my worst enemy. FOOD AWFUL, DRY and TASTELESS. OWNER RUDE AND BAD MANNERED.ALL IN ALL A UNPLEASENT PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rulynro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I spent two weeks in Ireland and our four nights at Lakeside Manor were a highlight. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The pub/bar was our "base" for breakfast and a fine place to unwind after long days sightseeing in counties Cavan and Meath.
Bottom line: We spent MUCH more for five star rooms in Dublin and Limerick, but the best memories of the places we stayed are at Lakeside Manor -the service, views, and hospitality. Thanks, Breda!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sodell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Very helpful staff bent over backwards to let us have a room with front view over Lough Ramor - absolutely lovely! Hotel was clean and tidy, food in bar was good but just that - pub grub! Was disappointed that restaurant was only open for Sunday lunch. Certainly no real complaints and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loughfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
238 reviews
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
725 reviews
9.7 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Property: Lakeside Manor Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing