We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely fresh home baking”
Review of Mason's Apron

Mason's Apron
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Virginia
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh home baking”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Cakes, tea and coffee were good quality and nicely presented. The only thing that lost it one point is that I didn't feel that the staff were particularly friendly. Maybe just an off day for them. A smile from everyone goes a long way and makes for good tips!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    4
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice very nice”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

we called for a coffee going through Virginia and had coffee and homemade scones priced very nice and reasonably and bought a few homemade pastries well worth a call

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a nice place to sit in, and has the usual style of a cake and coffee place, with jams and the like for sale. It should be a great spot, but it was disappointing.
I went there recently for breakfast. Home-made brown bread was lovely, but the cooked breakfast was very poor. Rock hard inedible tomatoes, cold poached eggs with plenty of poaching water on the plate,dry slivers of mushrooms, cold beans. Service was curt and perfunctory.
The room itself was cold as well. Again, has all the makings of a good cafe, just needs a bit of focus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I want to let people know about the experience i had today in this cafe in Virginia, Co Cavan.

We had our food with soup and stated to the waitress that the soup had no flavour and that we were prepared to pay for it, and to my surprise the waitress that i said this to decided to charge me for one soup to take the bad luck of it. Well i can assure you that the bad luck they will encounter is that i will let everyone i know of the service that they provide and make sure that no one i know goes to it. Its places like these that in my opinion should not exist.

Its a shame that owners do not stay more in touch with their business and see what harm little actions like this can make big negative impacts to their future.

As stated, Never again will i stand in this location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Davejc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason's Apron also viewed

Virginia, County Cavan
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to Mason's Apron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing