We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Virginia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

"Stayed here with my family last weekend & honestly can't speak highly enough of the country house and in particular the staff. From the friendly welcome upon checking-in, the lounge area, to the fabulous bedrooms & a breakfast feast fit for a queen the following morning. While the house itself is beautiful, the staff really are so friendly and helpful Would highly recommend a stay here and will definitely be going back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann111186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    17
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
1 review
“Be sure to stay as well as eat here”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Everything about St. Kyran's is wonderful. You will have a truly satisfying experience here. The lovely lakeside setting, beautifully decorated rooms, delicious food and the warm and welcoming staff, all make for a perfect stay... you will never want to go home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Top class food again”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Another visit to our friends in St. Kyran's meant the same warm welcome; this time greeted by Patrick with a drink "on the house". Service was excellent; the food was superb, though putting on a €7.50 supplement onto the sirloin of beef, was a bit steep as is charging €7.90 for a glass of red wine. This is my only complaint - a constant one with most places we dine in! However, we enjoyed our visit; we had an Australian visitor with us who thought the "tucker" was "top notch" - he still managed a desert, unlike ourselves. We will be back but will be careful of our wine choices. Thank you, particularly, Patricia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had spotted this restaurant on route from Dublin a number of times. Travelling with friends mid week we stopped off. First impressions were excellent - the decor is beautiful and the staff welcoming and down to earth. The food was absolutely fabulous - from presentation to flavours you simply could not fault any course. The food may be a little more expensive than the norm but in my opinion worth it.

On reading the website it mentioned early bird menu which we were not offered - Wednesday at approx 6.30 ... Just interested if this is still on offer? Will certainly be returning .. Maybe for Sunday lunch very soon!!!

Pity there are not more restaurants of this calibre in Longford/cavan!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great start to an Ireland holiday.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Flew into Dublin, rented a car and drove directly to St. Kyrans where we stayed for two days. It is only about an hour drive from the Dublin airport and to the northwest, so you do not have to get into the heavy Dublin traffic. The rooms are very modern and clean with the best bathrooms and showers of our whole trip. The setting does not look like much from the front but the back of the hotel/restaurant looks out on a large lake with beautiful scenery. The food, both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant are first class and Patrick who is one of the owners could not be nicer. He has a great, friendly personality and is full of good tips on things to see in the area. I had done a lot of research before our trip and thought I had it all planned out, but he gave us great suggestions on other things to see that we would have otherwise missed. It was a great, relaxing start to a two week stay in Ireland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia, County Cavan
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing