We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Virginia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have eaten there 3 times over the last 6 months and each time the food has been excellent. Its high quality food at a reasonable price. All the staff are very welcoming and helpful and the service is very good. Would highly recommend it if you want to celebrate an event with a nice meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kb10102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
98
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great to see St Kyrans today. What a place the views looking over the lake are fantastic. Will have call again wont leave it so long next time. Good to see u today. Mum and myself thought the whole of St Kyrans one the best hotels round and the staff to go with it all of whom are so friendly just like the owners Take care bye for now

Room Tip: over looking the lake one of the best
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vincent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family group had two lake view rooms, one on the ground floor, one on the first floor for 4 nights. Each was beautifully appointed, very clean, large and extremely comfortable. Windows open on the lake with fresh air was heavenly. Patrick and Helena and family are such wonderful hosts, warm and welcoming. We are so glad that we picked St. Kyrans. The food there is unbelievably good...everything fresh for breakfast and our one dinner with them was the highlight of the trip. We traipsed around Counties Cavan and Meath for ancestor hunting and general touring. What a great headquarters for all of our activities and only 45 minutes drive from Dublin. First class. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stage3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed last night with a very close friend and my two children. We all had a fabulous time and felt one night just wasn't enough! From the warm friendly welcome on arrival, the beautiful comfortable rooms which are so spacious, tastefully decorated and all with dvd players not to mention a selection of dvd's to pick from in the main hall. This Hotel is first class!!! We had a beautiful dinner in the restaurant, fresh cooked breakfast and were looked after extremely well by Patrick & Helena their family and staff. We will certainly be back for a longer stay and would recommend St Kyrans for those visiting this part of Ireland.

Room Tip: A room with a lake view is spectacular but all the rooms are fantastic and you won't want to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFlynn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had yet another Wonderful stay at St Kyrans, Patrick and Helena are just the most welcoming owners. Stayed over the weekend and had one of our favourite rooms with the most spectacular view over the lake. Room,food, view, top notch , as always . The added bonus this time was as the weather was so amazing, you could also dine outside in the evening watching the sunset. Truly I have never seen the likes in Ireland and what a pleasure. Looking forward to being back again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeybourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts. The hotel room has everything you could want for a stay. Fantastic food on the restaurant's lakeside terrace after a hard day's work, coupled with an ice-cold Guinness in the sun - what more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlerowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbards, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in June as we were ending our month long trip to Ireland . This was certainly a great place to end our vacation . Warm welcome , large clean rooms , beautiful view & quiet . Would certainly recommend this accommodation to those visiting this part of Ireland .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foulis-fp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
9.3 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
10.5 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant

Property: St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Kyrans Country House and Restaurant is located in Virginia, Co Cavan, Ireland. Situated on the shore of Lough Ramor, at St Kyrans country house you can relax and enjoy your time with panoramic lakeside and woodland views. Lough Ramor in Virginia is one of Cavans most picturesque locations. Our luxury rooms are available for your business trip, weekend getaway or vacation. Only a short drive on the new M3 Cavan Motorway from Dublin City and Dublin International Airport, at St Kyrans you can immerse yourself in less than an hour in the heart of the charming Irish countryside, with rambling hills and lakeside views.Dine in wide screen at St Kyrans Restaurant, where we offer the finest food, hand crafted with love, in a warm atmosphere with cinematic lakeside views of Lough Ramor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing