We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Hotel Hochschober

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turracher Hohe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hochschober
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Turracher Hohe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hochschober for a week over the Easter holidays in a group of 3 English families. There was just enough snow and wonderfully empty pistes. What struck us most was the friendly service in the hotel. They generally have local clients but went out of their way to welcome us only English speaking Brits and translated the menus and daily activity sheets especially for us. The little extras around the hotel really made it special. The biscuits, dried fruit, the extensively varied teas, the extraordinary juicing room at breakfast and the cheese room at dinner. The food was excellent - delicious, good choices and nicely presented. The spa was amazing and huge! We kept finding more areas throughout the week.The best boot room I have ever seen. When our son fractured his wrist the staff at the hotel were especially helpful and one of them drove us to the doctors. We loved the ski special offer with complimentary massages and ski school lessons included. The teenagers were able to have private snowboard lessons as part of the package. My only recommendations would be to refurbish the dining room, it is a little sterile, turn down the heat in the hotel, it was incredibly hot and also to have some sun loungers outside for those days when the sun shone and it was really warm. Us Brits rarely see the sun and we want to sit it when we can! Other than this, we had a absolutely wonderful time and would all love to return. Special thanks go to Sophie and Patricia on the desk and Sebastian and Fatmir our great waiters.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carajonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear "carajonard",

Thank you so much for your positive review on your Hochschober skiing holiday during Easter 2014!

We are very glad that you and your friends felt at ease at our place and that all staff members took good care of you.

We will definitely take into consideration your remarks on dining room (is on our list), heat (we know about it) and sun chairs even outside summer season (we can understand that you long for the sun!)

Looking forward to being again your hosts we send very kind regards to the U.K.

Karin Leeb and Martin Klein (owners) and Peter Tschuschnig (Managing Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have visited allready many hotels in our life and this is by far the best off them all!
Everything is always perfectly clean, delicious food, great service, an enormous spa and wellness,... Everything you can dream off!
We visited the hotel allready many times but this was the first time we traveled with our baby. I must admit before we leaved we were a bit nervous, but once we arrived we didn't worried about anything anymore. All the services and things we needed were right in our own room or was taken care of.
I would recommend this hotel to everybody and i'm pretty sure once you have been here you will return

greetings, Glenn

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Glenn,

We are very happy about your review on your winter holiday in March 2014 at our hotel.

Since we know from our own experience how important it is to have perfect facitlities and services when travelling with babies and kids, we put a big emphasis on all those things.

Thank you for the positive feedback on cuisine, spa and good service in general.

With very kind regards

Karin Leeb & Martin Klein with Managing Direktor Peter Tschuschnig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It is one of the most amazing hotels I' ve ever stayed in my life! The atmosphere, place, people, delicious meals, big spa area and rooms - everything was gorgeous!!! I can not wait to go back next year!!!
I can recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

Daria

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect! and quiet :)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DashaSWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Dasha,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hochschober-experience with others and giving us such excellent feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are also looking forward to welcoming you and your family again at our place.

With very kind regards

Karin Leeb with Martin Klein and Managing Director Peter Tschuschnig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been coming back here for years (must be over 15 now), and one of the most amazing things about the Hochschober is its capacity to continuously reinvent itself - changes (sometimes subtle, sometimes major) continue to surprise even the most regular visitors, thus making every journey a new, joyful experience.

Highlights include (in the summer) the many hikes around - try Mount Schoberriegel for sunrise! - and in winter the possibility of swimming in the heated lake. The ski resort is great - though probably more suited to beginners and intermediate skiers than those seeking serious alpine joys.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_c_f_21_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest from London,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay in December 2012!

Your praise is a benefit for all of us and encourages us to continue to take care of our guests with commitment and ingenuity in the future.

Of course we will also do our very best to keep on innovating instead of immitating :-)

With very kind regards

Karin Leeb and Martin Klein with Managing Director Peter Tschuschnig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent at Hotel Hochschober an amazing week full of extraordinary experiences - swimming in the heated lake, hamam, drinking tea in China tower, cuisine, mountain spring is available everywhere! High-quality services are accompanied by hospitability and friendly ambience of the hotel. Never forget, for sure return!
Family K. from Prague.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 252,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guests from Prague,

THANK YOU so much for sharing your first time Hochschober experience and giving us such a positive feed-back.

We also enjoyed having you stay at our hotel. You must know that during our founder's time (my grandparents startet in 1929 this hotel) many guest came from Czech Republic and Slowakia. So we hope to keep up this tradition with many guest to come from your country.

With very kind regards from the mountains to the city of Prague

Karin Leeb and Martin Klein with Managing Director Peter Tschuschnig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have been to this hotel twice now; once in summer and once in winter and my impressions was the same both times; perfection. They put such a high focus on the details, there is literally nothing to fault them on. The look, decoration, style, quantity and diversity of the common areas of the hotel ensure there is something to do at all times. This includes a magnificent library stocked with thousands of books in multiple languages, a reading room with comfortable reclining chairs, a games room with a multitude of board games and the spa. The spa alone is worth the trip, especially in winter.

The quality of the food is fantastic and what one might expect at a 5 star hotel. From every account that is how the owners of Hotel Hochschober view themselves, which was evident in every interaction I had with their many staff.

There aren't enough kind and complimentary words to describe the facilities and experience of staying there. I recommend it to discerning travelers who want to experience the very best of Austria.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allstaryvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest from UK!

Thank you so much for sharing your Hochschober experience and for giving us such a positive feedback!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the library, the public area and the games room as well as
the spa facilities.

And we are very proud that you recommend our hotel to other travelers!

With very kind regards

Karin Leeb with Martin Klein (owners) and Peter Tschuschnig (managing director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best thing is the pool set into the lake: warm in the top layer but out in the open. By contrast, the lake water outside the pool was very chilly when we dipped into it after coming down the steps from the sauna hut (drop-the-towel, down-the-ladder, count-to-five, out-again cold).
Walking options were plentiful. The day we arrived we just walked around the lake on which the hotel stands. Day two we took a guided group walk. Bad weather cut the plans short and the half dozen of us ended up sitting in the farm house that was meant to be a short break, drinking home-made schnapps and cordial, waiting for the hotel minibus to get us all.
Day three we headed on a delightful walk from the Turracher lake to two others, up across high moorland. Walkers are well catered for here, with a large room dedicated to storing boots, sticks available to borrow, and a map of the area laid out as flooring in a sunken seating area, which our guide used to talk us through the options. The same room would the heart of skiing activity in winter.
I started each day with the aqua fitness class in the main pool. Two steam bath rooms ran off it (which meant they weren’t unclad, which is unusual and not as comfortable) and there was a small children’s pool beside it. Just below was the swim-through entrance to one of three outdoor pools, designed for lazing in rather than swimming. After soaking in the warmest of these it was wonderful to drop into the ‘killer pool’, a bracing 14 degrees.
Because the hotel is based on local spring water, there were taps and cups spread around the hotel. One of the spa area relaxation areas also offered an extensive range of cordials to mix with the water, as well as milk-based drinks on tap.
All meals were catered for, and we understood why when we realised how few other options there were in the area. Lunch was surprisingly simple: a soup, a single option for a main course and loads of salads. But after the array on the breakfast buffets and with multiple courses for dinner, a plain lunch is the right thing.
If, like us, you enjoy snacking and relaxing with your own wine or beer on your terrace or verandah, then stock up before you get to Turrachhohe. Perhaps this was particular to mid-summer, but we couldn’t even find a shop open to buy a simple extra piece of outdoor clothing. The village is pretty quiet, with most people it seems staying within their hotel zones when not out hiking.
We had taken a large room with a terrace that faced the lake but also wrapped to the side, which turned out well since we could sit then in the sunshine but out of the wind when the weather had gone bad. The terraces on the smaller rooms really did look quite small.
The only negative I remember in the room was the bath gel – a nasty smelling one that brought reminders of public swimming pools as a child.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin L, Inhaber at Hotel Hochschober, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest called "MymAustralia"!

We are very pleased with your detailed and lively holiday report of May 2013.

Thank you for sharing your impressions and experiences.

It is really nice that you appreciate the unique attraction of our lake pool, praise the guided hiking tours and activities and that you like the spa facilities.

Concerning shopping opportunities, there is an Intersport store for sports apparel and a small food shop at the Turracher Höhe. Because our hotel has longer opening times than these stores, it is possible that they were not open in May.

We are sad a bit that our honey shower gel and soap does not meet your approval because it is loved by many guests and it is a high quality natural product.

Please let me know when you come back, then we will make sure that another neutral fragrance is waiting for you :-)

With kind regards

Karin Leeb and Martin Klein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turracher Hohe
8.3 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Seehotel Jaegerwirt
Romantik Seehotel Jaegerwirt
#3 of 6 in Turracher Hohe
57 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#1 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Das Almdorf - World Peace Eco Resort
7.9 mi away
Hotel Praegant
Hotel Praegant
#5 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
267 reviews
22.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hochschober? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hochschober

Address: Turracherhoehe 5, Turracher Hohe 9565, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Turracher Hohe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Turracher Hohe
Price Range: $169 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hochschober 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of the East and plenty of local hospitality: the Hotel Hochschober, on the Turracher Höhe, is the perfect hotel for winter-sports enthusiasts, wellness fans, bookworms, and every other guest who appreciates quiet luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hochschober Hotel Turracher Hohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing