We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mariposa Spanish School and Eco Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Apoyo Resort(La Laguna de Apoyo)
$95
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Selva Azul(La Laguna de Apoyo)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Apoyo Lodge(La Laguna de Apoyo)(Great Value!)
$70
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Marimba(La Laguna de Apoyo)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yayabo(Masaya)
$25
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradiso Hostel(La Laguna de Apoyo)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Posada Ecologica la Abuela(La Laguna de Apoyo)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Madera's Inn(Masaya)
$7
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
466
26
4
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
26
4
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslearn spanishlocal communitytwo weekshome stayhost familyall agesafternoon activitiessan juanhorseback ridinglearning experiencevery special placecentral americanicaraguan historyother guestsfour hourspaulette goudgefellow students
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 502 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I loved La Mariposa Spanish School. Teachers were all highly qualified. The 1 on 1 instruction could be had in the classroom, or walking around the streets of the village. I was able to make friends with a number of teachers, I could socialize with them and their families. The Ecohotel serves exclusively organic food. Each day was an outting where we could practice our spanish. Sat. was a full day activity.
.

Room Tip: Homestays are a good way to learn more about the community and people.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muffincat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Of the 3 different spanish schools I've attended in Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua, La Mariposa is my favourite. I stayed in the hotel this time (I have done homestays at my previous schools) and really enjoyed the personal space and tranquility (and hot showers).

Pros:

- I like to get off the tourist trail and I don't particularly like cities - so La Mariposa (which is situated on the outskirts of a small town but only 20 minutes from several larger towns) ticked both boxes.

- Spanish tuition is excellent. My spanish was advanced when I arrived so I wasn't sure how much I would learn in a month at the school. Turns out - a lot! The teachers are very open to discussing the realities of life in Nicaragua, its politics and its history, which I also found fascinating.

- It has the strongest sense of community I've experienced in any spanish school. The fact that every student (homestay or hotel) eats lunch together Mon-Fri really does allow you to get to know each other well and make new friends.

- The food is amazing. Quite heavily vegetarian but I didn't miss meat (too much). And the ladies in the kitchen (in fact everyone who works there) are amazing, generous and super-friendly.

- It is surrounded by trees and walking trails - great for butterfly and bird stalking, or simply for a stroll between lunch and the afternoon activities

- it has activities every afternoon - many of which are to local artesans so you get to meet more of the community


Cons:
- the birds do wake up very early.... ;)

My next trip to Central America will be back to La Mariposa and Nicaragua. I absolutely fell in love with the people, the school and the country and will be back (hopefully within 2 years).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The ideal starting point for any Latin American adventure.

Pro:
- High caliber one on one Spanish classes
- Ecological setting is outstanding and gardens are beautiful
- Best birding in the region birding, in big part thanks to fruit feeders, bird baths, and good plants
- Socially and economically sustainable/beneficial to local community
- Afternoon and weekend day trips to cultural and nature sites add to learning
- Optional volunteer work and home-stays optional and rewarding
- Filling and diverse food... including desert for dinner.
- On the outskirts of a small town if amenities are needed.
- Great views of Volcan Masaya
- Teachers are well trained, skilled and dedicated.
- Hotel room are simple, clean and comfortable... with hot water showers and mosquito nets
- Very safe and well respected by community.
- Easy to access by public or arranged transport.
- Has Wifi
- Incredibly good price considering the services rendered.

Cons?
- Many dogs and farm animals about (all healthy)... a Pro, for those who like animals
- Meals often have meat but not meat heavy... a Pro for vegetarians.
- No AC... but rooms have fans which are perfect for the climate
- No swim-up-bar... but fridge is always full of cold beer and you can put our feet in a bucket of water:)

The language and cultural skills you quickly develop at La Mariposa will serve you well on all future journeys through the the Spanish speaking world. An as one of the few Spanish schools in a natural setting, it is ideal for nature lovers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our second planned vacation to La Mariposa because it's such a deep and meaningful experience. Built with compassion and TLC it's hard to know where to begin, but La Mariposa will surely enrich your experience and build lasting memories of Nicaragua. The Spanish classes are well designed, accommodated to suit anyone at any level, and held in private open-plan classrooms indoors or outside surrounded by the beautiful gardens. Simple, fresh, and tasty local food is prepared daily by the kitchen staff, and the relaxed dining area is a comfortable and inviting space to eat, study, meet other like-minded guests, and share some great conversation into the evening. We LOVE it here! It feels like a home away from home and can't wait to go back next year to reunite with the wonderful teachers, warm staff, and amazing interns. You will cherish these memories!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent a week in February 2014 and nine days in January 2013 and we are sure we will be back in the future because we love everything about La Mariposa. This is above and beyond a Spanish School. Paulette, the interns and staff are continually expanding the worthwhile local projects they support. The skilled teachers (and the rest of the staff) are people from the nearby community who are all warm and friendly. The hotel is in a beautiful environment, and true to the "eco" part of its name in trying to preserve our planet. The meals are mostly vegetarian and delicious. The school provides daily extra-curricular activities at little or no charge which enable students to see and learn about the wider Nicaraguan community and way of life. The communal meals provide an opportunity to interact with fascinating travelers of all ages from many countries.
We can't say enough good things about La Mariposa!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews