We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Masaya Volcano National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Masaya Volcano from Managua
More Info
$91.38*
and up
San Juan del Sur Shore Excursion: Private Masaya Volcano and Catarina Tour
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Masaya Volcano and Handicraft Market Day Trip from Managua
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

i thought is was the best view in the area! I did not pay for a guild
i just hopped on a mini van in Granada (I paid 26 cords) a buck!
packed a lunch and saw the sight very inexpensively ( WAY TO GO!!)
You can pAY $20 DOLLARS OR SO for a guild but WHY!
If your really not sure sand at the bus stop and wait for a guided group to show
up and follow them (PIGGIE BACK) MATE!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    238
    52
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do not Miss...simply awe inspiring”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had never seen an active volcano and it was on my bucket list. It turns out for good reason. You could feel the energy from this volcano complex. On the day we visited there was a fair amount of smoke spewing from one crater, but without too much sulfur. The views, with just a little hiking, were spectacular, although good treads on your shoes are a must since the volcanic rock is loose. Definitely brink a bandanna to cover your mouth and nose in case the sulfur content on the day you are there is higher.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is one for the bucket list! Peering into a massive active volcano left us awestruck. My 4 year old (who loves volcanos) had a great educational experience which he enjoyed sharing with his whole preschool class. We went first thing in the morning to avoid a bit of the day time heat. Just took a cab from our hotel and he waited while we hiked around. Wouldn't advise getting dropped off there by cab because you likely would need to hike down the road back to the main road to catch another.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmb327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Active Volcano, May be Nicer Ones to See”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We visited this volcano as part of our Monkey Tours Costa Rica & Nicaragua tour. The time here felt rushed - we did minimal hiking and were able to see both volcanoes at this site, but it would have been nice to have more time here. The active volcano was a fun experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joyfultraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I used Erick's tours from Granada and took a sunset tour. It was amazing being up here at sunset and just seeing how the sun looked like it was from another planet through the smoke coming out of the volcano. The views of the surrounding area were also gorgeous and the park ranger was very informative. I recommend this highly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank madtaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Masaya, Masaya Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing