We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large, active volcano”

Masaya Volcano National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Masaya Volcano from Managua
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
212 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A large, active volcano”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were able to drive up to the rim of the volcano. There was a lot of earth displaced by the last major eruption. The caldera is huge. There are active steam vents, which can make visibility an issue. We were able to see enough of the caldera to be very impressed. The surrounding park has several lava flows and large rocks that were part of the last major eruption.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelandGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    234
    51
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The museum isn't much but to be able drive up to the edge of the volcano and look down into it was something you don't get to do very often. $10 to get into the park. Small price to pay to see something so unique.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Masaya Volcano, you can drive right up to the rim of this active volcano. But when I was there the volcano was smoking and smelling a little bit of sulfur. Usually there is a night tour but not for the past few days because the smoke has been too thick and you cannot see down to the lava inside. Since I was the only one camping there after they closed for the day I did drive up to the rim and looked for myself. They were right just smoke, no glowing lava but a good sunset. I had the whole park to myself. It is undoubtedly worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good volcano experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

As others have said, it is extremely cool that you can go right to the edge of an active volcano. There is no way that would happen in the United States! If they have night tours (we heard they temporarily stopped them), I would recommend taking one of them in order to see the lava. However, the view into the crater is worth seeing regardless. The visitor center is well done and worth stopping at before moving on to the crater.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Volcano and hiking opportunity”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was part of a mission team and this was one of the places we visited on our off day. Very cool that you can go all the way to the edge of the crater and stand in the smoke. The trail that goes to the highest overlook was closed. We took the trail to look down into the dormant crater next to the active one and wished we had more time to hike around the perimeter of it. The museum at the visitor center was pretty good. We saw some folks walking up from there, but I would advise driving to the top.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Masaya, Masaya Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing