We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Masaya Volcano National Park
from $16.75
More Info
from $47.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveler rating
602
189
48
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
189
48
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour masaya volcano visitor center bat cave per person molten lava costa rica parking lot walk up viewing area smoking crater once in a lifetime amazing experience wind was blowing closed due entrance fee volcanic activity
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 855 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

I can't believe that I have stood at the mouth of this incredible volcano. It was like peering down into the centre of the earth. Very humbling experience indeed. We stayed in Costa Rica and took advantage of the opportunity to travel to Nicaragua to see this site. I wouldn't hesitate to return. In fact, I will definitely return.

Thank rodgersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for an evening tour of the volcano. It's the best time to go, so you can see the red bubbling lava. Also good to go if it has been raining so you are not enveloped in the toxic gases and fumes. When it's quiet you can hear the volcano bubbling - that's what made it real to me.

Thank Jovinder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A live volcano! Look down and you can see the molten lava. Several of the viewpoints are closed including the one where they used to throw people off as human sacrifices. But it's amazing! A must.

Thank Ripwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Go for the evening tour if possible. You can see the lava bubbling and boiling at the bottom of the volcano. Super impressive. We went at about 430 or 5 o’clock you are able to see the lava fields on the way up in the daytime and spent time in the museum while waiting for it to get dark. We had a guide which was very helpful and would recommend that. Not very expensive and we enjoyed and we are happy that we hired someone.

Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m not sure what the huge price tag is about. It’s a volcano, it’s not as if it needs any maintenance?! BUT it is one of only a few places that you can experience this and it’s relatively easy to get to and as mentioned in the title... it’s pretty cool! You’re looking into a volcano!

Thank Mullen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the many wonders of Nicaragua, the Masaya volcano, highly recommended and excellent place to be among family and friends!!!!

Thank K3377GYfranciscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went during the night and and it was superb. During the day you can see the geological layers, which is fine, but you can hardly see the active volcano lava. Truly unique and worderful to see the force of nature!

Thank goscarrainiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Went here as part of a day tour from Costa Rica. Its very impressive being able to look into a volcano and see lava bubbling away below you. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank wotsoverthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Love standing at the edge of the volcano looking at sulfuric steams escaping upward to the sky. The drive up to the volcano is also quite nice. Highly recommended!

Thank dod2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Good evening, on September 16, 2018 I went to a nice Restaurant located in Masaya, Departamento de Masaya.

Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews