We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leo's Tours”

Masaya Volcano National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Masaya Volcano from Managua
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leo's Tours”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just check them out. Good folks who are honest and enthused. Well worth the time and it was fun. Great views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BanKKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    233
    51
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While staying in Granada, I visited this volcano by a local tour agency (organised by Oasis hostel where I stayed). By the way to Volcano we had visited Masaya market (nothing special and quite high prices) - you can skip this. Masaya national park is really beautiful place, you may walk there by more walking routes with amazing views around, really spectacular. Just in the parking place, there is the wall behind which you may look directly into the active crater with fog and fire deeply down. Impressive !!
I decided to visit the volcano in the late afternnon, so after getting dark we were able to go to the volcano caves and to spot the bats. They were many, just navigating around us, very good experience!!! At the entrance to the park we got the helmets and lamps, so the walk was pretty safe. Just don t forget good shoes (there are shart volcano rocks ).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Just an ordinary place”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Masaya Volcano National Park was part of my Nicaraguan tour from Guanacaste, Costa Rica. From Costa Rica, or other country, it was a requirement that one should have a valid passport ATLEAST 6 MONTHS BEFORE THE EXPIRATION DATE before entering Nicaragua or else they would send you back at the border. This place was just an ordinary place. The view on the lake was nothing outstanding. We stopped here only to see the lake and take pictures. When we were here, there were several buses of students that arrived. Probably, they would have a picnic or something. We spent only less than 30 minutes then proceeded to the Masaya market. The one that was interesting was at the border between Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Our tour bus from Costa Rica was fumigated then our tour guide paid something at the border. Also, our passports were given to our guide and went to the immigration. Then we got our passport back and individually went back to the immigration to have our passports stamped. On our way to Masaya and Granada, our tour guide paid several times to let us pass. I do not know if this was a standard practice in Nicaragua since it is one of the poorest country in Central America. Nicaraguans pay $300 to cross the border to Costa Rica to work since Costa Rican's economy is a lot better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views in to the volcano”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

You can drive right up to the rim of the Masaya volcano. It has a strong sulfur smell, but it was very cool to look down in to the crater.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A must see in Nicaragua!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were in Nicaragua last summer in a Missionary Trip and one day the took us to Masaya. This is a beautiful place, so peaceful that you dont want to leave. There are some places were you can buy souvenirs with good prices, but if you have spare time is better to buy those things in El Guengue. We ate there and the food was good and cheap. I do not recommend that you drink tap water because there are high possibilities that you will be sick next day. The view in here is unbelievable and the huge crater unbelievable.

Visitamos el volcan como resultado de un viaje misionero que hicimos y la experiencia fue extraordinaria. Comimos en el lugar, disfrutamos de la vista y pasamos un rato agradable. La verdad es wue no hay palabras que describam lo hermoso del lugar. Si comes alli o en otro lugar de Nicaragua mi recomendacion es que solo tomes agua embotellada. En el area del volcan venden souvenirs a precios razonables pero si tienes tiempo puedes ir a El Guengue y encomtraras mas variedad y cosas mas baratas.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Masaya, Masaya Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing