We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking Hot”

Masaya Volcano National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Masaya Volcano from Managua
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Smoking Hot”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the best volcano I have ever experienced. And I have seen a few, Hawaii, Ecuador, and others in Nicaragua. There is a per person entrance fee. It was 100 cordoba for non residents. That works out to about $5 US. I felt that it was a fair fee.

First stop, the visitor center. Despite its tired interior appearance and most of the displays do not have english texts, it is a very informative site. Engage one of the staff in conversation. It doesn't really matter if you speak good spanish or if they speak good english, there is enough similarity in words that you will learn a lot. I really liked the art work (paintings) of the animals that live in the area of the volcano.

If you want to go on any of the tours, you have to book them and pay for them at the visitor center. We chose to go on the walking tour of the lava tubes/bat caves.

After the visitor center, head for the volcano.. It is smoking and hot. Signs encourage visitors to park so that you back in. This is so that if it is necessary to quickly evacuate the area, there is not a lot of backing up confusion. No joke, the last big eruption was April, 2012 and an upper parking lot was ruined by it. Bring water, wear a hat, sturdy shoes and sunglasses. You are out in the open and cooking. We were there during the day so we missed out on the return of the parrots that nest on the upper reaches of the volcano. The visitor center has an interesting display on the parrots.

The tour of the lava tubes/bat caves was so cool. It was just my husband, myself and our guide. Nothing like a personal tour. What did this cost - $2US each. I loved it. There was so much to learn and it was (temperature wise ) cooler than the parking lot. Our guide was so knowledgable and open to questions. I particularly liked the minute of silence and darkness where you could see nothing and hear only the bats flying about. If you like nature, want a break from the heat and don't mind flying mammals, this is the best tour.

There are lots of hiking trails and other tours. Next year we will go for an evening tour. Love those volcanoes. You could make a day of it here, but you almost need an umbrella, lunch, lots of water, and a vehicle.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosementko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    232
    49
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interesting, Educational and Fun”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

On our way to Masaya, we stopped at the Volcano and National Park. Be prepared to pay a per person entrance fee. First stop, the museum which was simple and educational. Next, a drive up the hill to the crater of the active volcano where one can stand at the edge and look down - something that would never be allowed in the states....HOWEVER, they do supply everyone with hard hats. It is suggested that one visits in the morning before the heat is unbearable, which we did. - it was very pleasant! It was somewhat smokey, so we couldn't see very well into the crater. If we had had more time, we would have done some hiking as there is a fantastic trail with amazing scenery. I think that a trip to Nicaragua wouldn't be complete without visiting this site. The kids in our group loved it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blnaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
231 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had our own rental car so we spent plenty of time here. We began with the museum, which was very nice and gave an interesting background on volcano formations. Then, of course, up to the crater - I don't know of many places that allow you to look down into the mouth of a volcano, certainly impressive. After we hiked up the trail for the views and then into the bat cave with a park ranger as our guide. A great time, however we went during the day but I think the night tour may be even more dramatic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank yogiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Masaya volcano national park”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I liked its nature because i was able to walk around it. i was able to see its trails that lead you to the inmense crater. The people who keep an eye on this beautiful spot were very friendly. I liked everything i do not have complains about it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caves give the inside story of the Volcano”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Granada Tours (on the Calzada in Granada) gave us a great tour of Masaya Volcano. As well as the museum (very basic), the active crater mouth (impressive and sulphurous) and panoramic views, our tour company got us a ranger-led tour into one of the lava-formed caves. The structure, minerals and bats were themselves extraordinary. Even more interesting to me (as a lover of history and indigenous peoples), was the ritual site where sacrifices to the power of the natural world in the form of the Masaya Volcano were hundreds of years ago.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelishToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Masaya, Masaya Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing