We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masaya volcano”

Masaya Volcano National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Masaya Volcano from Managua
More Info
$91.38*
and up
San Juan del Sur Shore Excursion: Private Masaya Volcano and Catarina Tour
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Masaya Volcano and Handicraft Market Day Trip from Managua
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Masaya
2 reviews
“Masaya volcano”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Must see. Very easy to get to by local bus. But unfortunately the rangers would not let you walk back to the entrance (5km)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Finchtail777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    238
    52
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view into a volcano and nightime tour available.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great view into a volcano. The smell (from the sulfur) is hard to take for too long.

There is a cross that was erected in the 1500s (if I remember correctly, double check the facts). You can walk up the steps and check out the views from the top of the cross.

Also there are caves full of bats which you can explore and night time tours are offered. Call ahead if possible. The tour was full when we tried to go the same day.

I believe that the park closes at 4pm if you don't have a tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olivera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic view into a volcano”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Masaya volcano national park is a beautiful, easy to explore day trip. The short hikes are well worth it, and the view into the caldera is amazing! The visitor's center is informative and well thought out. Highly reccomended trip to learn more about Masaya's history and natural beauty.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarrieV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Greatest volcano in Nicaragua”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The first National park in Nicaragua, it is situated around kilometer 26. Take any bus that goes south from Huembes and get off near the park. Need to pay to get in. Be sure to take the transport cause it's a distance from the top. The first transport will take you to the museum and can check out the history of it. Ask for another transport to take you to the top. There used to be 5 craters that is opened, but the volcano erupted in 4/30 of 2012 and they closed most of the craters. You can see the biggest one near it. Don't go there when it's foggy cause the Sulfur will smell very bad. They have night tours for bat caves.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KirbyPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Volcano and underground tunnel :)”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I visited the Volcano last year August 2011 and it was a very cool experience. I went during the day with my fiance and we drove ourselves. I'd suggest wearing shoes to walk up the steps to the cross. I didn't see red lava, maybe at night? You can drive up to the top and the road is fine to get to the steps to get a better view into the crater. The views are great.. the smell can be overwhelming but tolerable and worth it. I've never seen a volcano up-close and personal and this is an excellent place to do it. We paid to do the underground tour of the tunnel formed by lava streams. The guide did not speak English, (at the time my Spanish was just ok) but luckily there was an American family and the dad translated everything...it helped me with some of the vocabulary. :) Thanks to whomever you were! They provide you with a helmet and flashlight. Watch your step and head (hence the helmet) its not a smooth path thanks to mother nature, but fun. Kids can do it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Masaya, Masaya Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing