We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Masaya Crafts Market
from $175.00
More Info
from $118.80
More Info
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
63
82
49
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
82
49
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leather goods one stop shop juice bar american dollars nice things huge selection handmade crafts interesting things great quality other countries similar items bring home tourist shops good deal for sale day tour hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went there while on a day trip with our guide. While many of the shops were not opened over 50% were in they had a good selection of souvenirs, cigars trinkets etc. tourism is down somewhat because of the recent demonstrations however if you’ll avoid any political issues and just be a tourist you will be fine.
Because tourism is down they said just be a little more cautious with your belongings as people don’t have as many jobs as they did before. Use common sense.
Nothing was too expensive and compare to places in the US very reasonable so we didn’t Bargain very hard.

Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The crafts market in Masaya is a nice place to get your Nicaraguan souvenirs. A friendly setting and lots of small stands with souvenirs that are not very different but that do offer enough variety to find something for everybody back home

Thank Arán S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We did this as part of the one Day Nicaragua tour. Most of the shop owners are nice, however if you do not know the current exchange rate, some may try to take advantage of you so like anywhere else, use caution.

Thank TiffanyHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

I suppose I am spoiled by indigenous markets such as the fabulous ones at Chichicastenango, Guatemala and in Mexico City. This one is quite small, and the same merchandise seems to repeat every three booths or so. It is amazing that I didn't find anything I could not live without. Lots of tee shirts and typical touristy items that I don't want can be found here. I did get a leather-bound journal that was pretty nice, and there is a booth where you can get fresh fruit drinks, with or without alcohol.

Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Looking at the guide books and reviews, we decided we better go to the Masaya Market. It seemed to be highly recommended.

It ended up being okay. They had much the same as anywhere else, which would be fine if it was a bargain, but it actually wasn’t. The prices seemed to be a little higher than the various street vendors we came across on our travels around Nicaragua. It was nice seeing everything all in one place, and we ended up having lunch at a restaurant in the market and enjoyed the food. But if you are expecting hard to find items at a discount price, this is not your stop. If you want a convenient place to shop for all your touristy purchases, then this would be pretty good.

A bit of advice. We used street parking for the market. Some locals came up and asked if we wanted our car washed. We told them very clearly, “No.” As we walked around the market, we could see them trailing us. After a couple hours, when we returned to our car, alas there they were again, and our car was spotless (it remains a mystery how they accomplished this without an available water source). They then demanded money for their services. After much back and forth, we finally paid them off and went on our way. This undoubtedly added to the poor time we had at the market.

Thank K1946EFjacobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

If you have never been to a handicrafts market, or if you have serious love of shopping for this type of stuff, then by all means go. However, if you've been to markets, I'd say this is not the best one I've seen. I managed to buy a couple things that were up my alley (handmade greeting cards and a small ceramic cross) but after a few minutes you'll see many of the shops carry the same stuff and it's not the best quality.

1  Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

Enormous market that probably has everything you could ever want if only you knew where to find it. We spent hours there, ducking in and out, to the frustration of our mid-20s daughter (no option to categorize us as family other than young children or teens, teens seemed most appropriate). We found many items of interest, food, everyday basics, and some pottery, art, leather items, etc.,, generally well priced, and would no doubt have found more if we'd known where to look. Much was probably made in China but there were also some beautiful items that were probably local.

Thank Trav512015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by here when passing through with a mission trip team. It was super unique to see all the different things this market had to offer. Truly amazing.

Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

This a must, Masaya it’s not that far from Managua and the prices in this market are better that the Craft market in Managua, in both of them you need to bargain. Show no obvious interest in something that you know you are going to keep looking for best price coz if you come back to buy it they are not going to give you a good price coz they know they are your last choice. Enjoy and good luck!

Thank Rebecamarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

I am not keen on hand craft things.. I don't have a good hands LOL
They are selling items so called a hand craft but they had coffee beans, magnet as souvenir but those are you can find them at the Central Parque with the same or cheaper price.. I was there for about half an hour then most of the time out side of the market to see what's around.Made a friend with homeless. LOL
But again if you love hand craft then you might enjoy it. Unfortunately It was not for my kind of things..

Thank Annabelle_8314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews