We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Robleto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masaya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Robleto
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Even though we only spent one night at Robleto it was an inforgettable experience. The lovely house, friendly owner who shared the history of the house and his grandfather, the original owner. Siiting in the veranda, reading, seeing the hummingbirds in the garden, breakfast at the tabel with reali linen and good food. Home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosinevdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The house is full of stories and history, and you will find the best bed in Nicaragua for sure. They serve really good breakfast in large quatities! But the most important reason for going to this special and nice place is the host and the staff. We were met with warmth and hospitality to such an extent that we felt part of the family. With this atmosphere we almost didn't want to go out of the house, we'd rather stay in the rocking chairs and enjoy the freshness in the patio. We look forward to visiting Casa Robleto again. Masay is far too underrated - it turned out to be one of our favorite places in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

There is nothing negative I can say about Casa Robleto I trully love the property a beautiful fully restore colonial house in the heart of the city of Masaya. Frank is a great host and very friendly down earth. The staff is just as friendly and welcoming to its guest. Sra Francisca is the cook and does the best Nicaraguan Breakfast. You will love this Hotel <3!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoS_MIami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Wa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Colonial house just converted to b&b. This is a great place.it may not be your favorite but I loved it. .Blocks from central park. Clean, safe neighborhood. The owner Frank, gives great personal attention making sure all of your needs are met. The staff is just as accommodating. Breakfast is worth the price of your stay and it is included. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaked-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Frank Irschitz, who runs Casa Robleto, was very amiable and great to visit with. We spent part of the evening talking about commonalities in Nicaraguan and Costa Rican history. This is one of his favorite subjects, as well as my partner's specialty. The two ladies who maintain the house and do the cooking were very nice and made us a wonderful breakfast.

The house, which was built in 1895, has a high ceiling typical of colonial architecture, original paintings, an open courtyard with a fountain, a pool table, a large room at the entrance, seating in the area around the courtyard and a kitchen which can be used if you wish for making other meals.

We rented a room for one night that was air-conditioned. The bed was king-sized and firm and very comfortable. We slept very soundly after a day of walking to the two different markets that are in Masaya. You don't need a taxi if you are able to walk, unless you plan to see other things outside of central Masaya. The hotel is about 3 blocks away from the central church and the furthest Old Market is about 6 blocks from there.

We will be happy to return to Casa Robleto in the future. Frank is also working on developing a place for visitors on the family farm nearby, where there are Pre-Columbian petroglyphs. I look forward to visiting Casa Robleto and the finca (farm) in the near future.

Room Tip: You can choose a room without air conditioning, sometimes it isn't necessary and you can save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked Casa Robleto without the benefit of any prior reviews. We couldn't be more pleased with what we found! What a gem!

Casa Robelto is an historic home right in the center of Masaya. Our taxi driver kept saying, "Buen lugar, buen lugar." It was built as a vacation home for the Robleto family, who did well in the coffee business. It's still owned and operated by the Robleto family.

Each room features air conditioning (if you even need it), firm, comfortable beds, lots of storage for your things, and bathrooms with hot water showers remodeled in modern style. They also provided very fluffy towels, hand towels, hair dryer and daily soap/shampoo/conditioner.

In addition to the rooms there are several grand living areas, including a grand front sala with exquisite wood detailing on the ceiling, antiques abounding, incredible tile work, etc. There is also a very spacious courtyard with fountain and outdoor living spaces on every side of it.

Breakfast (best gallo pinto I've ever had!) is served in a lovely outdoor dining room, with antique wood furniture, china, linen tablecloths, etc. You could choose to have other meals prepared (and I would recommend it, they are great cooks!) There was also space in the fridge for a few things we brought for our kids.

The hotel has two caretakers, Marbele (sp) and Francisca. They were gracious, kind and also the incredible cooks I already mentioned. No need was too small—Francisca walked me to a quesillo stand, but then came home and finished off the quesillos fresh right in their kitchen. They are incredible people we were so glad to meet. They even got up at 4am to see us off to the airport.

Frank, of the Robleto family whose name is on the hotel, manages the property. He was an extremely gracious host who spoke great English (he lived in the U.S. for several years). He also was ready to help us with anything we needed, including securing drivers, bananas and peanut butter.

Have you ever peered in an old colonial-style home in Granada or Masaya and wondered what they are like inside? Not just a renovated hotel but a true home?

We got to experience one up close. The benefits of a hotel with the charm and comfort of a family home.

One small tip--If you don't speak any Spanish, let Frank know when you are coming so that he can meet you at the hotel upon arrival and show you around. After that, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masaya
0.0 mi away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Masaya
Hotel Central Masaya
#10 of 18 in Masaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Marimba
Casa Marimba
#2 of 5 in La Laguna de Apoyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradiso Hostel
Paradiso Hostel
#1 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Masaya
Hotel Masaya
#13 of 18 in Masaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Robleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Robleto

Property: Hotel Casa Robleto
Address: Av. San Jeronimo, Parque San Jeronimo 1 1/2 C. al Sur., Masaya Masaya, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Masaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Robleto Nicaragua/Masaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing