We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Wildflower Hike”

Norris Dam State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rocky Top
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Norris dam was the first built by the TVA in the late 1930s.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
269 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Spring Wildflower Hike”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The park is close to Knoxville and has good trails and wildflower viewing in the spring. It is on Norris Lake, which is one of the cleanest lakes in the country. Good for fishing, swimming and boating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank micarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
855 reviews
552 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“Great place to camp”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Another of the many great Tennessee state parks. Many level sites with 20/30/50 amp service and water at all sites. No sewer but a convenient dump site. We camped here in our motorhome. Camped in the west campground which is very wooded and quiet. The east campground is a little harder to get to and is mostly out in the open. If you are using a satellite dish, camp here to get reception. The two are on opposite sides of the dam and lake. The dam has a nice little visitors center and nearby is an old grist mill, barn and a nice free museum. There are numerous hiking trails, bike routes and plenty of places for fishing and boating. There is an excellent large swimming pool at the ranger office. The pool is free for campers. There are numerous restaurants 2 miles away at the I-75 exit to the campground and one at the marina on the lake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Place to Get Away”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We towed our RV to this State Park and camped in the west campground 3 nights. It is a nice campground, quiet, shaded with good space between campsites. Several of the campsites are quite small for an RV, so you need to choose a space that is large enough for your rig. The previous campers had left trash thrown around our site, which had not been cleaned by park personnel. We cleaned it up, but since they have a 4 hour period between check-out time (12:00 noon) and check-in time (4:00 PM), we would have expected them to have cleaned it.

The road to the campground is very steep and winding. The dump station is steeply sloped the wrong way so had to "level" the trailer before I could dump. The campground restroom and shower facilities are nice, but could have been kept cleaner.

We drove to the headquarters area and they have a fantastic swimming pool, it's huge and very well maintained, so bring your swimsuit! This summer the pool is closed to the public, open to campers and people renting the cabins only, so you are guaranteed that it will not be crowded. There is also a large recreation hall there.

The overlook above the dam is a very scenic and pleasant place. We sat on some of the benches there for a while and enjoyed the view and the breeze. We hiked a short (0.4 mile) trail. Had nice views, but the trail was not well maintained, overgrown to the point of being almost closed in a couple places. Also picked up a couple ticks there, so bring insect repellant if you plan to hike.

Overall this is a nice park and a pleasant place to get away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
399 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A great place to camp.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to camp, (the west side that is) very clean quiet and peaceful, the Park Rangers are friendly and helpful. Love going to the Dam to just relax, I love walking the trails, especially the one on the low side of the dam, lots of deer and wildlife, lots of shade and your walking by the river. In addition, You are minutes from restaurants and shopping if you should need something. We go there all the time and I can't wait till our next visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not worth your time”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Unless you have never seen a dam I would not waste my time stopping by here. The park is starting to really age out and the state has done a poor job maintaining the area. The main park area is mostly rustic trails that do not even get you close to the lake, the parts of the trails that do reach the lake are restricted to no swimming. The aaa cabins are ok at best and the rustic cabins are falling apart. For the price they are not worth it. The campground is average for the area. I'd rather go to GSMP.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sq4willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norris Dam State Park also viewed

 

Been to Norris Dam State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing