We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Great Caution”

Powell Valley Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Follette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powell Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Follette
Reviewed October 20, 2010

So we rented a houseboat for a long weekend. The boat was OK, but not great. We ran out of water on the boat, not sure what would have happened if we had it for more than three days. Somehow we expended 100 gallons of gasoline when the boat was parked at our dock and traveled less that a 1/4 of a mile total. I understand it takes gas to run the generator, but 100 gallons? So we needed to put a deposit down on our credit card and pay by check. The check cleared but the deposit was not refunded. We had to call and complain in order to be credited. Of course, there was an excuse. Good, honest businesses do not do this. Maybe this is why they do not accept credit cards. If we do it again, we will have rent from someone else, even though it was very convenient having this marina so close. Flat Hollow Marina would probably have been a better choice for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmdsheadmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

First of all my family and I used to travel to this marina as a child and it was very nice and clean 20 YEARS AGO!! My family and I previously spend Labor Day weekend there and it was HORRIBLE! The bath house is discusting! It wasn't cleaned he entire time we were there, it smelled of sewer, no toilette paper soap or paper towels, no water pressure...etc. The campground had old boats and campers shoved everywhere just letting the weeds take over. The owner doesn't have a set price list for anything. She just charges you whatever she likes. The marina is nasty and falling in. The power boxes for the "floating houses" are half way under water. There are stray dogs everywhere who carry off shoes and destroy trash. There are drunks who stay up all night thinking they can sing and keeping the rest of the campground awake all night! The owner is the rudest woman i have ever met. I would like to know what she does with all of the money that she over-charges all her campers, because she obviously doesn't put any of it back into her business!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovinTheOutdoors_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My family stayed for a week on the houseboat. It was a wonderful experience we can not wait to do again. The boat was clean and updated we had one small issue with the toliet and the mechanic from the marina came straight out and fixed it. Everyone was so accomidating and nice. Again we can not wait to do this again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Me & my family jus came back from powell valley and it was great the kids had a blast we were never looking for something to do we stayed on houseboat for the first week it was wonderful everybody enjoyed it everything worked to our satisfaction the staff and owner were very friendly and mad sure we had everything we askd for the second week our kids stayed in the campground while we stayed in the motel we also enjoyed staying there the view was great nothing loud and annoying we defentiley reccomend this place to any family that likes the outdoors and is looking to have fun! we will defentiley will be back for many years to come!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenessee_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I were immediately taken by the beauty found in a little Tennessee town of La Follette. The sunrises over the lake were breathtaking as viewed from the hilltop hotel at Powell Valley Resort. No other shoreline in North America compares. A must for everyone!

Our initial experience in 1996 has led us to vacation here every other year. The friendly staff had no issues with our three dogs, and since then we've had three children as well. Powell Valley is definitely family oriented, and the hospitality shown unsurpassed anywhere!

Cozy hotel rooms with kitchens, nice campground with big shade trees, and aplayground for the kids. That is if you can get them away from the lake. The houseboats offer a "one-of-a-kind" escape. And there's hundreds of coves to fish in. We spent a couple of days just skiing and pulling the kids in a tube behind the ski boat we rented (tube & skis provided free!). The restaurant at the marina offers good home-style cooking and a relaxed atmosphere. There is a menu-or just tell'em what you want, they fried up our kid's catch of the day along with all the fixins :-)

Next time we look forward to staying in the new two story, five bedroom chalet with a wall of glass offering vistas of the lake. After eight wonderful weeklong vacations, I can't imagine going anywhere else. We have and will absolutely continue to recommend Powell Valley Resort to anyone who enjoys the outdoors, and needs a quiet getaway where you are treated like family!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5outdoorsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I've been on 5 house boat trips. I would have to say, the one at Lake Powell in Utah was breath taking! This last trip to Norris Lake with Powell Valley, had ups and downs just like any other vacation. The pump didn't work on the slide, so we put a bucket of water up top. The propane tank leaked, so we turned it on only when needed. The radio didn't work, so I sang (that didn'n go over well). We used alot of gas, well, if we didn't want to see the lake we would of rented a car. The air conditioner did keep us cool on them 95* days and the hot tub (to hot) was used once. I would do it again but the next time I'll be a little better prepared for the stripe bass!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkinson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stay away they are unsfafe and very dirty , we wished we would have checked the reveiews dump on our part as the reviews are what we experienced we dont know how they stay open. when we called the better business bureau the had several compliants against them and the owner. the houseboat was filthy and it broke down on us. On a positve note the lake is great and all the other marinas our clean and professional . just stay away from this one!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chazman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Follette
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Caryville
24.7 mi away
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Woodlake Lodge
Woodlake Lodge
#2 of 4 in Tazewell
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Powell Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powell Valley Resort

Address: 600 Powell Valley Marine Rd, La Follette, TN 37766-5665
Location: United States > Tennessee > La Follette
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Follette
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Powell Valley Hotel La Follette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing