We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What all hotels should aspire to...”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I just stayed one quick night for a business trip, but honestly I would visit again on a personal trip just to stay here. It is small and cozy but nice sized rooms, one of the best hotel beds I've ever slept on, and in the cutest part of Knoxville. Just charming.

Plus... the valet/clerk/do it all guy who greeted our arrival at 11 pm, was super helpful. He tracked down restaurants that were still open for dinner and was just as friendly as can be.

You guys do it right!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skb533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for The Oliver Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 469 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like city getaways, or just the convenience of being in the middle of all the action, you will love the Oliver. It is my favorite hotel in Knoxville! Large rooms, attentive staff, comfortable beds, roomy seating, luxury from the blinds to the linens and everything in between and all with the charm of a well kept architectural gem. Personally I recommend 3 things 1 - Make sure to get stop by the speakeasy (the Peter Kern Library) for the best and brightest of local color. Now it is a little cozy, so feel free to expand your roaming to the bars and restaurants on the Square or further out and down Gay Street to catch a movie or a show. 2 - Get a nightcap at the Oliver's bar on your way back. I do so wish I could remember the barkeepers name, he was cool! And 3 - I highly recommend that you order breakfast up from Tupelo Honey Cafe to your room in the morning...Yes, Virginia, there is even room service from a great cafe! This is a wonderful hotel and I will be coming back as often as I can!

Room Tip: All the rooms exceed expectation and the suites are better still.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent location overlooking Market Square Mall. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were great. Nice bar downstairs with private entrance for hotel guests. We plan to be frequent guests at the Oliver. Wonderful weekend getaway right in the heart of downtown Knoxville!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgrubbtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here in January - a family of 4. The staff was extremely attentive. When we arrived, our toilet didn't flush. I called down to the front desk and it took at most a minute before someone was up in our room fixing it. During the night (midnight and then again at 3am), our neighbors were very rowdy and loud. When the guests wouldn't quiet down when we asked them to, we called downstairs. Once again, the staff came immediately upstairs and found a room for them to party in that was away from guests. They had to do this twice as our neighbors chose to return at 3am and party again in their room. My biggest complaint was that the walls are very thin.

The staff could not have been more accommodating. The location is great. Room was very large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This gem, located in downtown Knoxville just off of Market Square, is such a wonderful spot to stay. I had reserved a king suite and tweeted about it. Upon arrival I was told that I was upgraded to the Oliver suite. What a suite. I have stayed at many hotels around the world and this rates as one of the best, if not the best. The service was top notch and the suite was one of the most beautiful and comfortable suites I have ever stayed in. The speakeasy located behind the panel in the lobby was a nice treat. The Peter Kern Library speakeasy had great atmosphere and wonderful drinks. As a writer and book lover I enjoyed the literary theme. I order the Holden Caulfield and it was perfect. I also ordered a Moscow Mule and it was served in a 100% copper mule mug. Unlike other establishments which will serve it in a Collins glass or copper coated mug. In summation, the Oliver is the must stay hotel in Knoxville. I have already booked it for another stay.

Room Tip: I recommend the suites, and if you can book the Oliver Suite do so. It is worth every penny.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Location can't be beat, everything within our walking distance -- Staff very friendly, bedrooms niceeeeee - great Valentines experience -- several wonderful & unique resturants within a several block radius --

Room Tip: Front and Market Square rooms are away from the mechanical equipment --
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Oliver Hotel takes you back to an era when travel was fashionable. From the "speak easy" style library bar to the easy access to Tupelo Honey restaurant, not to mention the excellent service, this place is a treasure.

If you are accustomed to large, modern facilities, keep looking. However, if you find classy, older hotels charming, then this is your place. Reminds me of a hotel in the Knightsbridge district of London near Herrods.

I even noticed they had bicycles available.

If you have to go to Knoxville, you must stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiddenCoveBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#9 of 87 in Knoxville
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $186 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing