We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The BEST place to stay in Knoxville"”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Maryland, United States
1 review
“"The BEST place to stay in Knoxville"”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I loved staying at the Oliver. The building was charming, the location fantastic, the service top notch. Having Tupelo Honey restaurant downstairs was a wonderful added plus. Be sure to include the Oliver on your next trip to Knoxville!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    104
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
207
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Oliver is a great upscale boutique hotel. It's location is convenient to Market Square and everything in downtown Knoxville including a number of great restaurants. The hotel's library bar is a unique and popular spot and guests are given priority seating. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a king bed and queen pull out sofa which was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleTraveler148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed with my family of 4 for a weekend (including 2 kids 4 and under). Attended a wedding in Knoxville. The Oliver Hotel has a feeling of nostalgia from the moment you enter. We had a double queen room that was very large and had a big bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. Didn't hear a peep from the other patrons even though the hotel seemed close to sold out.

The location is excellent for visiting Market Street. Plenty of food, entertainment, shopping, relaxing in the park, etc.all around the hotel. Breakfast at the connect restaurant was great!

Several brides with their party were taking pictures in front of - or just inside - the hotel entrance - the space is that desirable/historic it seems. I would stay there again if visiting Knoxville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldudeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend in Knoxville from August 2 - 4 and stayed at The Oliver Hotel. It is an older hotel, however very clean and well kept. I believe it was recently remodeled. We were greeted as soon as we pulled up in front of the hotel. They have valet parking which was great, because I would not have wanted to find parking.

We were told if we "liked" the hotel on Facebook, that we would get an upgrade if there was one available. While we had a very nice room (suite), an upgrade probably would have meant a better location as we were kind of facing an alley. There wasn't one available, but we were given two drink tickets for the very classy "library" bar. That was fine with us. My favorite part about the hotel room was the large bathroom and shower. I loved the black and white theme.

Upon check in to our room, the radio was on with spa like music and the ice bucket was filled. This was a nice touch.

The bar was a great way to relax and unwind with a drink while waiting to go out for dinner. It is very cozy and the service is prompt. They also have some very creative drinks as well as a good beer selection.

The hotel adjoins the restaurant Tupelo Honey which is one of my favorite restaurants in Asheville, NC. We ate there for breakfast both mornings. The food is good and the service is very friendly and attentive.

The Hotel is located right downtown in a great shopping (boutique), restaurant and bar area. The nightlife is great! There is also a market on Saturdays until 2:00 pm. They had lots of fresh veggies and a big selection of other market type goods.

The only negative with the room was the noise level at night. I think the turn-down service may have turned music on for someone that didn't show up. We heard their music all night long the first night. There is also a good amount of light that comes through the shades. Not a biggie for us, but may be for someone else.

We loved the hotel so much, we are already planning another trip in a few weeks!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room on the main street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DvaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Really. Unless you're hooked on a view of parked cars in a cement sea, while looking out the window of your cookie cutter room, you MUST chose this hotel. Do not be concerned that it's in downtown, it's super easy and fast to reach from all the major highways, and just as fast and easy to get out. Like three or four blocks. In exchange for this minimal effort you get a fabulous hotel in an ideal location, with an outstanding restaurant in the lobby. Which is also room service. Really. Do you want to settle for blah at a chain? Be better to yourself than that. The Oliver is next to a park/mall with benches and art and an interactive fountain, and which hosts free open-air theatre performances in the summer. All this is surrounded by a variety of terrific boutique shops and great restaurants. Perfect walking, shopping, browsing, drinking, and dining opportunity. Bravo to Knoxville for providing such a welcoming attractive downtown area, filled with history in the former market. So- how could you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A lovely, small hotel smack central in a lovely, small city. The place itself wins high marks for a careful balance between smart and casual, easy and elegant, but it's the terrific staff who win the day. With only 28 rooms, staff are few but all are helpful and convey what seems a genuine pride and sense of investment in The Oliver.

Rooms in the historic building vary considerably in architecture and design, but with a common thread of good, solid design and well-considered details. Linens, toiletries, bath appointments, large TVs with 100+ channels, spare but well-selected furniture, and a small bar and sink for coffee and tea-making are nicely done. Safes and mini-bars are included in the kitchen bar cabinetry. Housekeeping is of a high standard. Off the small lobby is a handsome speakeasy-style bar, and the Tupelo Honey Cafe occupies a part of the same building to offer great breakfasts and food until around 10pm on week nights. Valet parking is reasonably priced and easy, and advice is readily offered for self-parking options as well.

Thanks to the great town, the thoughtful design, and thoughtful staff, The Oliver won new converts and we reworked our return plans to stay here again -- and look forward to doing yet again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms vary considerably, but staff are very helpful in helping guests choose a room that best suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here on our honey moon and it was beautiful. The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent to us. They were fast and very polite. The only complaint I would have is that they had better pillows. The bed was so comfy and overall it was a great stay. I would highly recommend it to those both coming into Knoxville and those who live in the area and need a get away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WcJM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#26 of 87 in Knoxville
47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing