We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a gem!”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Oliver with my girlfriends for my 30 year high school reunion. We had an amazing time at the Oliver. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. The staff was a delight and the location was amazing right on Market square. The hotel has a speak easy and adjoins one of the best breakfast/lunch spots I have been to. Saturday morning was the Farmer's Market on the square which was wonderful. I have not had such an enjoyable stay at such a quaint hotel in years. You guys have gotten it right!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reunion83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 479 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I came here for our anniversary trip. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel lobby is steps away from several restaurants and shops on Market Square. The room was clean and much larger than we thought it would be because we got an upgrade. Bathrooms were updated and very nice. The view from our window was the air conditioning unit on the roof which was not great to look at but I can't really complain because it is a smaller hotel in the middle of a city. The "speakeasy" bar downstairs was very unique and fun too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed in Knoxville several times over the years, but clearly missed everything the downtown offers. Great location on Market Square - I walked to dinner, shopping, got a run in the morning and stopped for fresh muffin and chai tea on my way out.

Hotel was stylish, clean and room was well appointed. Rooms were smaller, but updated modern, bathrooms made it well worth it. The views are depressing since you are downtown, primarily roof tops and ac units. Hotel was close to campus, on a nice day I'm sure you could walk to games, etc. Great access also to theatre.

Beds were VERY FIRM, not what I am typically used to, but was able to cool the room off enough to get some decent sleep. I did have a fridge and safe in my room.

PARKING TIP: Valet was $15/night, but I chose to self park in garage on same block and it was $4 for overnight parking. (Hotel told me $7) You can unload in front of hotel if you can find a spot then move your car. Street parking is free after 6pm during the week downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Drove into the city for an unplanned stop and was so glad we did the search for highly rated hotels. What this place has going for it is location. That and a clean, nicely appointed room and friendly staff. Is right off a city center courtyard plaza area complete with pop fountains for kids, restaurants for everyone (with outdoor seating), trees, and benches.

And for the record I am not an employee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMR-Pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall, my wife and I loved the Oliver experience.

My only complaint is the choice of music, selected by the young lady tending the bar in the Library. It was blaring in the Library. It was a very poor selection for the guests that were trying to enjoy the atmosphere. It was loud and obscene with a large dose of profanities. That certainly destroyed the dignity that the Library deserves. I realize that Knoxville is a college town and that the music listened to today is preferred by the younger generation, but there is a time and place to respect the environment that is being shared with others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engineer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a find--this is one of the nicest hotels anywhere, not just in TN. The rooms are beautiful, we walked in and there was ice in the ice bucket and music playing on the in-room stereo. Do not miss the Library, a great spot for a drink. Jessica's cocktails are amazing! It is close to some great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: no breakfast, but there are a few small coffee/breakfast places within one block, and Tupelo Honey h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim and Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Superior hotel: First class rooms-excellent bar/lounge-topped off by
an exceptional restaurant "Tupelo
Honey". Would highly recommend
the Oliver Hotel to anyone truly looking
for an enjoyable and relaxing time.

John Kroyer
Bonita Springs, Fl.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkr7309511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#3 of 87 in Knoxville
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
1,276 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $188 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing